Procurve Error: Device Type Not Found in Device Type Table

Support questions about the MAC Track plugin

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
Slagerij
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:47 pm

Procurve Error: Device Type Not Found in Device Type Table

#1 Post by Slagerij » Tue Jan 06, 2015 5:02 pm

Hi,

At some company I'm working at, I'm trying to get the MacTrack plugin to work. The company has a bunch of Pro-Curve switches of two types: 2510G and 2530
Monitoring those switches goes without problems. Graphs are made an inbound/ Outbound traffic is shown.
The problem is, I can't get MacTrack working. It gives me an error:

MACTRACK: Poller[0] WARNING: SITE: SomeName, IP: 10.10.123.123, TYPE: HP J9775A 2530-48G Switch, revision YA.1, ERROR: Device Type Not Found in Device Type Table.

I did a lot of searching on the internet but could not find a solution.
These are the settings I've made:

Devices:
Device Name: SomeSwitch01
Hostname: 10.10.123.123
Related Cacti Host: Name of management server Cacti is installed
Scan Type: Switch/Hub
Site Name: SomeName

SNMP Options
SNMP Options: None

Specific SNMP Settings
SNMP Version: Version 2
SNMP Community String: SomeString
Ports, Time-Outs, Retries and Maximum OID's : Default settings

These settings must be correct, at the top of the config page, it gives me some information about the switch:

SNMP Information
System: HP J9775A 2530-48G Switch, revision YA.15.13.0005, ROM YA.15.12 (/ws/swbuildm/YA_rel_laredo_qaoff/code/build/lakes(swbuildm_YA_rel_laredo_qaoff_rel_laredo)) (Formerly ProCurve)
Uptime: 1679229101
Hostname: SomeSwitch01
ObjectID: .1.3.6.1.4.1.11.2.3.7.11.139

Under Device Types, I've created this device:

Device Scanning Function Options
Description: HP J9775A 2530-48G Switch
Vendor: HP
Device Type: Switch/Hub
System Description Match: HP J9775A 2530-48G S
Vendor snmp Object ID Match: .1.3.6.1.4.1.11.2.3.7.11.139
Mac Adress Scanning Function: get_procurve_ng_switch_ports
IP Address Scanning Function: Not Applicable - Switch/Hub

When I perform a SNMP walk, using Paessler SNMP Tester, I get this:

Paessler SNMP Tester 5.1.3
6-1-2015 12:44:05 (2 ms) : Device: 10.10.123.123
6-1-2015 12:44:05 (3 ms) : SNMP V2c
6-1-2015 12:44:05 (4 ms) : Walk 1.3.6.1
6-1-2015 12:44:05 (12 ms) : 1.3.6.1.2.1.1.1.0 = "HP J9775A 2530-48G Switch, revision YA.15.13.0005, ROM YA.15.12 (/ws/swbuildm/YA_rel_laredo_qaoff/code/build/lakes
(swbuildm_YA_rel_laredo_qaoff_rel_laredo)) (Formerly ProCurve)"
6-1-2015 12:44:05 (17 ms) : 1.3.6.1.2.1.1.2.0 = "1.3.6.1.4.1.11.2.3.7.11.139"
6-1-2015 12:44:05 (21 ms) : 1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0 = "1686281062"
6-1-2015 12:44:05 (26 ms) : 1.3.6.1.2.1.1.4.0 = "Contact"
6-1-2015 12:44:05 (30 ms) : 1.3.6.1.2.1.1.5.0 = "Hostname"
6-1-2015 12:44:05 (35 ms) : 1.3.6.1.2.1.1.6.0 = "SomeSwitch-Switch01"
6-1-2015 12:44:05 (39 ms) : 1.3.6.1.2.1.1.7.0 = "74"
6-1-2015 12:44:05 (44 ms) : 1.3.6.1.2.1.2.1.0 = "56"
6-1-2015 12:44:05 (49 ms) : 1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.1.1 = "1"
6-1-2015 12:44:05 (54 ms) : 1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.1.2 = "2"
6-1-2015 12:44:05 (65 ms) : 1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.1.3 = "3"
6-1-2015 12:44:05 (70 ms) : 1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.1.4 = "4" - and so on.

Is there anyone who can tell me the missing link ?
It would be much appreciated !

Slagerij
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:47 pm

Re: Procurve Error: Device Type Not Found in Device Type Tab

#2 Post by Slagerij » Wed Jan 07, 2015 4:00 pm

I got a bit further. I think... :-?
When I walk OID 1.3.6.1.2.1.17.4.3.1.2 it returns portnumbers and decimal data like:

1.3.6.1.2.1.17.4.3.1.2.0.30.11.172.16.151 = "4"

If I run sh mac in a telnet session on the switch, it returns for port 4 this MAC Address:
001E0BAC1097

When I convert the "17.4.3.1.2.0.30.11.172.16.151" to HEX, I get:
11431201EBAC1097

Still, when using this OID in MacTrack, it returns the "ERROR: Device Type Not Found in Device Type Table." :-?

Slagerij
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:47 pm

Re: Procurve Error: Device Type Not Found in Device Type Tab

#3 Post by Slagerij » Tue Jan 13, 2015 1:45 am

Anyone ?

Slagerij
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:47 pm

Re: Procurve Error: Device Type Not Found in Device Type Tab

#4 Post by Slagerij » Tue Jan 13, 2015 12:11 pm

Well, I guess this is some kind of read-only forum.
Why bother to keep a forum on-line if no one gives support in any way.
For now I tossed this unconfigurable peace of junk from my Cacti installation.
Anyone with Porcurve equipment who's looking for some sort of portmapping tooling: don't use MacTrack.
It maybe works on your old switches, but definitely not on your newer ones.
Asking a question on this forum surely will not help you.

cigamit
Developer
Posts: 2771
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: B/CS Texas
Contact:

Re: Procurve Error: Device Type Not Found in Device Type Tab

#5 Post by cigamit » Tue Jan 13, 2015 3:44 pm

Welcome to Open Source software. Not everyone's environment is exactly the same as yours, so most people aren't going to be able to help you with your setup. I personally have only used it against Cisco devices, and it works fairly well against them. Its honestly your job to try to figure out how to get it working in your environment. This isn't a paid support forum for a product that you are paying money for, its a free open source software with limited support driven mostly by the user community. You have a pretty poor attitude for wanting people to take time out of their own busy day to help you.

ERROR: Device Type Not Found in Device Type Table.
That error generally means that your device is not being matched to a Device Type. It looks like you didn't use wildcards in your System Description Match
You might change it to %2530-48G%

Slagerij
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:47 pm

Re: Procurve Error: Device Type Not Found in Device Type Tab

#6 Post by Slagerij » Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:33 am

Hi Cigamit,

I'm sorry to inform you, but that also did not work.
I decided to give another tool a shot and went for Observium.
That was a pleasant surprise. All switches recognized at first try.
All connected mac-adresses as well.
So, no more Cacti for me.

Good Luck,
Slagerij

tommyj
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 5:16 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Procurve Error: Device Type Not Found in Device Type Tab

#7 Post by tommyj » Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:17 am

Did you try the "get_procurve_ngi_switch_ports" scanning functions instead of the ng? That one works for me as I think the ng only works on really old procurves.
Also, try change the system description match to something shorter, E.G J9775A

draconis
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 7:29 am

Re: Procurve Error: Device Type Not Found in Device Type Tab

#8 Post by draconis » Tue Jan 12, 2016 3:28 pm

I've got all my HP & Cisco switches working beautifully with Mactrack

just takes a bit of working out log reading and patience that's all

I wouldn't get too excited about Observium I tried it after I broke my cacti installation, under-impressed is an over statement
also openNMS ....


came back to Cacti .....it takes work but its worth it
Attachments
Screenshot from 2016-01-12 20-23-06.png
Correct OID is the key
Screenshot from 2016-01-12 20-23-06.png (62.85 KiB) Viewed 3501 times

Post Reply