Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:31 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: WM peaks - only half of link shown
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:39 am
Posts: 3
Hi,

for start, we are not using cacti, just pure weathermap, but i believe this is same for both option :)


We got WM of our network with current traffic and i am trying to make WM with peaks.

I copied map and added only this to map:

SET rrd_start now-1week
SET rrd_period 604800
SET rrd_aggregate_function MAXIMUM

its working fine except i can see peak of only one link - please see attached pic


This is how config of links generally looks:


LINK AMS[Po10]---FRB
INFOURL https://XXX/ams-ar-core-1.txt
OVERLIBGRAPH https://XXX/ams-ar-core-1.png
TARGET /var/home/portax/var/rrd/192_168_200_201_1000010_1min.rrd:ds0:ds1
NODES AMSs:60:0 FRBs:-60:0
BANDWIDTH 100G
WIDTH 8


Any ideas how to show peaks from both direction? Thanks! :)


Attachments:
wm.PNG
wm.PNG [ 70.36 KiB | Viewed 189 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WM peaks - only half of link shown
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:07 pm 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:53 am
Posts: 5167
Location: United Kingdom
What version of rrdtool & weathermap?

What do you see if you use --debug? (look for the ReadData lines - they'll show you what data is being returned)

Also, did you e-mail me about this? I have a half-finished reply to someone asking about similar stuff...

_________________
Weathermap 0.98 is out! & QuickTree 0.2. Superlinks is over there now.
Some Other Cacti tweaks, including strip-graphs, icons and snmp/netflow stuff.
(Let me know if you have UK DevOps or Network Ops opportunities, too!)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WM peaks - only half of link shown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:39 am
Posts: 3
Hello,

weathermap 0.97b
RRDtool 1.6.0

in debug mode i found out that rrdtool is returning only OUT, but dont know why...

Code:
DEBUG: [[email protected]_rrd.php:211] /home/portax/weathermap/configs/cdn77_locations_peaks.conf: RRD ReadData: VDEF style, for LINK LON[Po9]---AMS
DEBUG: [[email protected]_rrd.php:267] /home/portax/weathermap/configs/cdn77_locations_peaks.conf: RRD ReadData: Running: /usr/bin/rrdtool graph /dev/null -f '' --start now-1week --end start+604800 DEF:in=/var/home/portax/var/rrd/185_59_221_254_1000009_1min.rrd:ds0:AVERAGE VDEF:agg_in=in,MAXIMUM "PRINT:agg_in:'IN %lf'" DEF:out=/var/home/portax/var/rrd/185_59_221_254_1000009_1min.rrd:ds1:AVERAGE VDEF:agg_out=out,MAXIMUM "PRINT:agg_out:'OUT %lf'"
DEBUG: [[email protected]_rrd.php:283] /home/portax/weathermap/configs/cdn77_locations_peaks.conf: > 'OUT 3898077209.642488'
DEBUG: [[email protected]_rrd.php:283] /home/portax/weathermap/configs/cdn77_locations_peaks.conf: > DEBUG: [[email protected]_rrd.php:295] /home/portax/weathermap/configs/cdn77_locations_peaks.conf: MATCHED: OUT 3898077209.642488
DEBUG: [[email protected]_rrd.php:316] /home/portax/weathermap/configs/cdn77_locations_peaks.conf: RRD ReadDataFromRealRRDAggregate: Returning (0,3898077209.6425,0)



And yes, i wrote you an email about this, but then thought it would be good to post it on forum also, at least others can benefit from solution :)


I did little more digging and i think that this site - http://network-weathermap.com/articles/096-rrdtool would answer most of my questions, but its not working anymore :(

I also tried to run mup with following options instead:
Code:
php weathermap --config=/home/portax/weathermap/configs/cdn77_locations_peaks.conf --define rrd_aggregate_function=MAXIMUM --define rrd_period= 604800 --define rrd_start=now-1week

but everytime it returned average instead of MAX


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WM peaks - only half of link shown
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:39 am
Posts: 3
about rrdtool command, i would like to add that if i run exact same command from server itself, its working ok:

Code:
/var/home/kafooo# /usr/bin/rrdtool graph /dev/null -f '' --start now-1week --end start+604800 DEF:in=/var/home/portax/var/rrd/185_59_221_254_1000009_1min.rrd:ds0:AVERAGE VDEF:agg_in=in,MAXIMUM "PRINT:agg_in:'IN %lf'" DEF:out=/var/home/portax/var/rrd/185_59_221_254_1000009_1min.rrd:ds1:AVERAGE VDEF:agg_out=out,MAXIMUM "PRINT:agg_out:'OUT %lf'"
'IN 1901770119.962286'
'OUT 3898077209.642488'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WM peaks - only half of link shown
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:52 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:53 am
Posts: 5167
Location: United Kingdom
Yes, I think this is an issue with rrdtool 1.5 and 1.6 where the output format changed slightly.

Here's the github issue for it. It's fixed in the dev version. The fix is a one-liner if you want to change your own copy though.

https://github.com/howardjones/network- ... /issues/39

On line 276 of weathermap/lib/datasources/WeatherMapDataSource_rrd.php, just add a # to the beginning of the line to comment it out. It's the line that says "skip the blank line"

_________________
Weathermap 0.98 is out! & QuickTree 0.2. Superlinks is over there now.
Some Other Cacti tweaks, including strip-graphs, icons and snmp/netflow stuff.
(Let me know if you have UK DevOps or Network Ops opportunities, too!)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group