[INFO] Show off your Weathermaps.

Support questions about the Network Weather Map plugin

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
User avatar
GLR
Cacti User
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:45 am
Location: Paris suburbs, France
Contact:

#31 Post by GLR » Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:42 am

My home network : a pfSense firewall, a LAN with a WLAN, a DMZ, two remote sites connected via OpenVPN

(There is a little problem with the bandwidth usage on the WLAN link)
Attachments
glr-weathermap-pub.png
My home network
glr-weathermap-pub.png (36.59 KiB) Viewed 33470 times
Cacti 0.8.8b + spine 0.8.8b
on Debian / Apache 2.2 / PHP 5.2 / MySQL 5.0

dave99
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 11:12 pm

#32 Post by dave99 » Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:20 pm

How did you get pfsense to break out the traffic between the 2 vpn tunnels? On mine, I only see enc0, that only gives me the total for my 3 tunnels.

User avatar
GLR
Cacti User
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:45 am
Location: Paris suburbs, France
Contact:

#33 Post by GLR » Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:15 am

dave99 wrote:How did you get pfsense to break out the traffic between the 2 vpn tunnels? On mine, I only see enc0, that only gives me the total for my 3 tunnels.
No, the VPN traffic values are provided by the other end equipments, which are SNMP enabled wireless routers running OpenWrt...
Cacti 0.8.8b + spine 0.8.8b
on Debian / Apache 2.2 / PHP 5.2 / MySQL 5.0

pheezy
Cacti User
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 5:30 pm

#34 Post by pheezy » Fri Sep 26, 2008 4:12 pm

Simple network map. I'd like to make one to show the flow of email, but I'm not sure how. :(

Image

minmei
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 1:02 pm

Sample for us

#35 Post by minmei » Mon Oct 20, 2008 10:01 am

we use this for our network
Attachments
gallery.png
gallery.png (85.02 KiB) Viewed 32977 times

jadus
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:39 pm

#36 Post by jadus » Fri Oct 31, 2008 10:14 am

This is the map I've been working on for our company.
Attachments
weathermap.PNG
weathermap.PNG (174.79 KiB) Viewed 32805 times

sjw7
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 8:35 am

#37 Post by sjw7 » Wed Dec 03, 2008 6:28 am

Here is one of mine. I use this to monitor temperature, humidity and power consumption on a per rack basis in one of our comms room.
Attachments
Weathermap.jpg
Weathermap.jpg (131.62 KiB) Viewed 32354 times

MSBS
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 4:57 am

#38 Post by MSBS » Wed Dec 17, 2008 7:21 am

wwwdrich wrote:I did spend quite a bit of time on this one tweaking the positions of things, especially the link comment positions
how did you put link comments inside the link rather than above?

dankingdon
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:00 am
Location: Bristol, UK

#39 Post by dankingdon » Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:55 am

So been using cacti for a few weeks now, this is the result so far. Going to be expanding in the future to cover more data.

Feel free to use as an example.
Attachments
weathermaphhs.png
Main Network View
weathermaphhs.png (160.56 KiB) Viewed 31671 times

cjlove72
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 8:46 pm

Cisco SAN weathermaps

#40 Post by cjlove72 » Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:45 am

I have created two levels of Weathermaps for our Cisco MDS SAN infrastructure.

The higher level view shows the SAN topology and the throughput in MB/sec to each of our storage/backup devices.

For each MDS switch, you can click on it and it drops you into another weathermap which shows the port status (Green for Up and Red for Down) along with the throughput as indicated by the label background.

Fantastic product...keep up the good work :-)

Cheers,

Chris
Attachments
wmap1.jpg
Individual Cisco MDS Switch View
wmap1.jpg (138.28 KiB) Viewed 31034 times
wmap2.jpg
High-level Cisco SAN View
wmap2.jpg (222.52 KiB) Viewed 31034 times

chummers
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 6:44 am

#41 Post by chummers » Mon Mar 09, 2009 9:45 am

Wilth thanks to howie, here's my first attempt, locations of temperature probes and humidity sensors round our datacentre

Image

jerrison
Cacti User
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:02 am

#42 Post by jerrison » Tue Jun 02, 2009 8:32 am

hi there,
a bit away from the network-savvy-world we use weathermap for some server farms as well. Don´t mind the german legend :).
Attachments
server.jpg
server.jpg (256.66 KiB) Viewed 29616 times

User avatar
streaker69
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:35 am
Location: Psychic Amish Network Administrator

#43 Post by streaker69 » Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:31 pm

I did these after I was kind of inspired by cjlove72's maps. They each show port status, Green is up, grey is down, as well as hover overs for traffic on each port. For the "Control Switches" I'll be adding some indicators for their Ring Status and Ring Forward/Block Status.
Attachments
SP32-20090714-212742.gif
SP32-20090714-212742.gif (134.82 KiB) Viewed 28808 times
SP32-20090714-212233.gif
SP32-20090714-212233.gif (74.66 KiB) Viewed 28808 times
[b]Cacti Version[/b] - 0.8.7d
[b]Plugin Architecture[/b] - 2.4
[b]Poller Type[/b] - Cactid v
[b]Server Info[/b] - Linux 2.6.18-128.1.6.el5
[b]Web Server[/b] - Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS)
[b]PHP[/b] - 5.2.9
[b]MySQL[/b] - 5.0.45-log
[b]RRDTool[/b] - 1.3.0
[b]SNMP[/b] - 5.3.2.2
[b]Plugins[/b]PHP Network Managing v0.6.1, Global Plugin Settings v0.6,thold v0.4.1,XMLPort v0.3.5,CactiCam v0.1.5,NetTools v0.1.5,pollperf v0.32,RRD Cleaner v1.1,sqlqueries v0.2,superlinks v0.8,syslog v0.5.2,update v0.4,discovery v0.9,zond v0.34a,hostinfo v0.2,Bloom v0.6.5,mactrack v1.1,weathermap v0.96a,mobile v0.1

User avatar
streaker69
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:35 am
Location: Psychic Amish Network Administrator

#44 Post by streaker69 » Wed Jul 15, 2009 7:26 am

This is a PM that I received from another member. I'm only posting it here so that others may learn from the response as well.
Subject: question about weathemap

Hi. i have question about your map switch. how you make a map with indicate port status?
i know IF-mib but i don't know how i use it for weathemap switch. can you tell me about it?
If you do a search in the Weathermap area of this forum for 'ifOperStatus' you'll find a couple of threads that discuss the matter as well as a link to some templates that you can import into your cacti.

The basic way to do the switch port status is you'd need to create a graph that looks at the 'ifOperStatus' OID which is already in the interface.xml file, but isn't used normally. Once you have it graphing the status then you can create your maps.

The way I did it, I took the Visio objects for each of my switches and made them the background of the map. Then I placed a NODE on each switch port and labeled them accordingly. The internal name was A1,A2,A3 etc, and the actual label name was 01,02,03 etc. I then changed the default scale to only have the green and grey colors.

Here's a snippet from one of the configs which shows the scale, my default NODE settings an example of the port. That should be enough to get you going.

Code: Select all

SCALE DEFAULT 0 1.5   0 255 0
SCALE DEFAULT 1.5 2.5   127 127 127

SET key_hidezero_DEFAULT 1

# End of global section


# TEMPLATE-only NODEs:
NODE DEFAULT
        LABELOUTLINECOLOR none
        LABELBGCOLOR none
        LABELFONTCOLOR 0 0 0
        MAXVALUE 100


# TEMPLATE-only LINKs:
LINK DEFAULT
        BANDWIDTH 100M


# regular NODEs:
NODE BL1
        LABEL 01
        INFOURL /graph.php?rra_id=all&local_graph_id=301
        OVERLIBGRAPH /graph_image.php?rra_id=0&graph_nolegend=true&graph_height$
        TARGET gauge:/var/www/html/rra/{your own filename}.rrd:int_status:-
        POSITION 111 289
[b]Cacti Version[/b] - 0.8.7d
[b]Plugin Architecture[/b] - 2.4
[b]Poller Type[/b] - Cactid v
[b]Server Info[/b] - Linux 2.6.18-128.1.6.el5
[b]Web Server[/b] - Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS)
[b]PHP[/b] - 5.2.9
[b]MySQL[/b] - 5.0.45-log
[b]RRDTool[/b] - 1.3.0
[b]SNMP[/b] - 5.3.2.2
[b]Plugins[/b]PHP Network Managing v0.6.1, Global Plugin Settings v0.6,thold v0.4.1,XMLPort v0.3.5,CactiCam v0.1.5,NetTools v0.1.5,pollperf v0.32,RRD Cleaner v1.1,sqlqueries v0.2,superlinks v0.8,syslog v0.5.2,update v0.4,discovery v0.9,zond v0.34a,hostinfo v0.2,Bloom v0.6.5,mactrack v1.1,weathermap v0.96a,mobile v0.1

User avatar
Howie
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 5333
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:53 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

#45 Post by Howie » Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:38 am

You could also avoid making a special background by using a node for each switch, and then using the ZORDER command (in 0.96) to push it below the other nodes. You could then also use relative positioning of the port nodes, so that the whole lot is easily moveable).

ZORDER would also allow you to have a link that goes from a port-node, but above the switch image, without needing a special background.
Weathermap 0.98 is out! & QuickTree 1.0. Superlinks is over there now (and built-in to Cacti 1.x).
Some Other Cacti tweaks, including strip-graphs, icons and snmp/netflow stuff.
(Let me know if you have UK DevOps or Network Ops opportunities, too!)

Post Reply