Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:06 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 233 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 16  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:42 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:45 am
Posts: 55
Location: Paris suburbs, France
My home network : a pfSense firewall, a LAN with a WLAN, a DMZ, two remote sites connected via OpenVPN

(There is a little problem with the bandwidth usage on the WLAN link)


Attachments:
File comment: My home network
glr-weathermap-pub.png
glr-weathermap-pub.png [ 36.59 KiB | Viewed 33061 times ]

_________________
Cacti 0.8.8b + spine 0.8.8b
on Debian / Apache 2.2 / PHP 5.2 / MySQL 5.0
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 26
How did you get pfsense to break out the traffic between the 2 vpn tunnels? On mine, I only see enc0, that only gives me the total for my 3 tunnels.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:15 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:45 am
Posts: 55
Location: Paris suburbs, France
dave99 wrote:
How did you get pfsense to break out the traffic between the 2 vpn tunnels? On mine, I only see enc0, that only gives me the total for my 3 tunnels.

No, the VPN traffic values are provided by the other end equipments, which are SNMP enabled wireless routers running OpenWrt...

_________________
Cacti 0.8.8b + spine 0.8.8b
on Debian / Apache 2.2 / PHP 5.2 / MySQL 5.0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 4:12 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 5:30 pm
Posts: 59
Simple network map. I'd like to make one to show the flow of email, but I'm not sure how. :(

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Sample for us
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 10:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 1:02 pm
Posts: 16
we use this for our network


Attachments:
gallery.png
gallery.png [ 85.02 KiB | Viewed 32568 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 10:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:39 pm
Posts: 10
This is the map I've been working on for our company.


Attachments:
weathermap.PNG
weathermap.PNG [ 174.79 KiB | Viewed 32396 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 6:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 8:35 am
Posts: 11
Here is one of mine. I use this to monitor temperature, humidity and power consumption on a per rack basis in one of our comms room.


Attachments:
Weathermap.jpg
Weathermap.jpg [ 131.62 KiB | Viewed 31945 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 7:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 4:57 am
Posts: 6
wwwdrich wrote:
I did spend quite a bit of time on this one tweaking the positions of things, especially the link comment positions


how did you put link comments inside the link rather than above?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:00 am
Posts: 24
Location: Bristol, UK
So been using cacti for a few weeks now, this is the result so far. Going to be expanding in the future to cover more data.

Feel free to use as an example.


Attachments:
File comment: Main Network View
weathermaphhs.png
weathermaphhs.png [ 160.56 KiB | Viewed 31262 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Cisco SAN weathermaps
PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 8:46 pm
Posts: 11
I have created two levels of Weathermaps for our Cisco MDS SAN infrastructure.

The higher level view shows the SAN topology and the throughput in MB/sec to each of our storage/backup devices.

For each MDS switch, you can click on it and it drops you into another weathermap which shows the port status (Green for Up and Red for Down) along with the throughput as indicated by the label background.

Fantastic product...keep up the good work :-)

Cheers,

Chris


Attachments:
File comment: High-level Cisco SAN View
wmap2.jpg
wmap2.jpg [ 222.52 KiB | Viewed 30625 times ]
File comment: Individual Cisco MDS Switch View
wmap1.jpg
wmap1.jpg [ 138.28 KiB | Viewed 30625 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 9:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 6:44 am
Posts: 23
Wilth thanks to howie, here's my first attempt, locations of temperature probes and humidity sensors round our datacentre

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 8:32 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:02 am
Posts: 55
hi there,
a bit away from the network-savvy-world we use weathermap for some server farms as well. Don´t mind the german legend :).


Attachments:
server.jpg
server.jpg [ 256.66 KiB | Viewed 29207 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:31 pm 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 711
Location: Psychic Amish Network Administrator
I did these after I was kind of inspired by cjlove72's maps. They each show port status, Green is up, grey is down, as well as hover overs for traffic on each port. For the "Control Switches" I'll be adding some indicators for their Ring Status and Ring Forward/Block Status.


Attachments:
SP32-20090714-212233.gif
SP32-20090714-212233.gif [ 74.66 KiB | Viewed 28399 times ]
SP32-20090714-212742.gif
SP32-20090714-212742.gif [ 134.82 KiB | Viewed 28399 times ]

_________________
Cacti Version - 0.8.7d
Plugin Architecture - 2.4
Poller Type - Cactid v
Server Info - Linux 2.6.18-128.1.6.el5
Web Server - Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS)
PHP - 5.2.9
MySQL - 5.0.45-log
RRDTool - 1.3.0
SNMP - 5.3.2.2
PluginsPHP Network Managing v0.6.1, Global Plugin Settings v0.6,thold v0.4.1,XMLPort v0.3.5,CactiCam v0.1.5,NetTools v0.1.5,pollperf v0.32,RRD Cleaner v1.1,sqlqueries v0.2,superlinks v0.8,syslog v0.5.2,update v0.4,discovery v0.9,zond v0.34a,hostinfo v0.2,Bloom v0.6.5,mactrack v1.1,weathermap v0.96a,mobile v0.1
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 7:26 am 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 711
Location: Psychic Amish Network Administrator
This is a PM that I received from another member. I'm only posting it here so that others may learn from the response as well.

Quote:
Subject: question about weathemap

Hi. i have question about your map switch. how you make a map with indicate port status?
i know IF-mib but i don't know how i use it for weathemap switch. can you tell me about it?


If you do a search in the Weathermap area of this forum for 'ifOperStatus' you'll find a couple of threads that discuss the matter as well as a link to some templates that you can import into your cacti.

The basic way to do the switch port status is you'd need to create a graph that looks at the 'ifOperStatus' OID which is already in the interface.xml file, but isn't used normally. Once you have it graphing the status then you can create your maps.

The way I did it, I took the Visio objects for each of my switches and made them the background of the map. Then I placed a NODE on each switch port and labeled them accordingly. The internal name was A1,A2,A3 etc, and the actual label name was 01,02,03 etc. I then changed the default scale to only have the green and grey colors.

Here's a snippet from one of the configs which shows the scale, my default NODE settings an example of the port. That should be enough to get you going.

Code:
SCALE DEFAULT 0 1.5   0 255 0
SCALE DEFAULT 1.5 2.5   127 127 127

SET key_hidezero_DEFAULT 1

# End of global section


# TEMPLATE-only NODEs:
NODE DEFAULT
        LABELOUTLINECOLOR none
        LABELBGCOLOR none
        LABELFONTCOLOR 0 0 0
        MAXVALUE 100


# TEMPLATE-only LINKs:
LINK DEFAULT
        BANDWIDTH 100M


# regular NODEs:
NODE BL1
        LABEL 01
        INFOURL /graph.php?rra_id=all&local_graph_id=301
        OVERLIBGRAPH /graph_image.php?rra_id=0&graph_nolegend=true&graph_height$
        TARGET gauge:/var/www/html/rra/{your own filename}.rrd:int_status:-
        POSITION 111 289

_________________
Cacti Version - 0.8.7d
Plugin Architecture - 2.4
Poller Type - Cactid v
Server Info - Linux 2.6.18-128.1.6.el5
Web Server - Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS)
PHP - 5.2.9
MySQL - 5.0.45-log
RRDTool - 1.3.0
SNMP - 5.3.2.2
PluginsPHP Network Managing v0.6.1, Global Plugin Settings v0.6,thold v0.4.1,XMLPort v0.3.5,CactiCam v0.1.5,NetTools v0.1.5,pollperf v0.32,RRD Cleaner v1.1,sqlqueries v0.2,superlinks v0.8,syslog v0.5.2,update v0.4,discovery v0.9,zond v0.34a,hostinfo v0.2,Bloom v0.6.5,mactrack v1.1,weathermap v0.96a,mobile v0.1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:38 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:53 am
Posts: 5318
Location: United Kingdom
You could also avoid making a special background by using a node for each switch, and then using the ZORDER command (in 0.96) to push it below the other nodes. You could then also use relative positioning of the port nodes, so that the whole lot is easily moveable).

ZORDER would also allow you to have a link that goes from a port-node, but above the switch image, without needing a special background.

_________________
Weathermap 0.98 is out! & QuickTree 1.0. Superlinks is over there now (and built-in to Cacti 1.x).
Some Other Cacti tweaks, including strip-graphs, icons and snmp/netflow stuff.
(Let me know if you have UK DevOps or Network Ops opportunities, too!)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 233 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 16  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group