Using Aggregate Graphs on Weathermaps

Support questions about the Network Weather Map plugin

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
cksrealm
Cacti User
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 5:45 pm
Location: Sydney,Australia
Contact:

Using Aggregate Graphs on Weathermaps

#1 Post by cksrealm » Thu Feb 14, 2008 5:58 am

Guys

I am in the process of creating some weathermaps, we have multiple links between routers and I would like to if possible create the link on the weathermap using this aggregate graph, I am not sure if this is possible however.
I am aware that I could do it by displaying 2 links however do to the fact that we have over 400 routers it would make the graph look rather messy.

Anyone able to provide any information on this at all?

User avatar
Howie
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 5362
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:53 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

#2 Post by Howie » Thu Feb 14, 2008 6:37 am

Yep, in fact it's in the FAQ, and I wrote an article about it too :-)

http://www.network-weathermap.com/articles/parallel

Short answer: you can aggregate multiple targets in one link by listing the rrds one after another.
Weathermap 0.98a is out! & QuickTree 1.0. Superlinks is over there now (and built-in to Cacti 1.x).
Some Other Cacti tweaks, including strip-graphs, icons and snmp/netflow stuff.
(Let me know if you have UK DevOps or Network Ops opportunities, too!)

Tybio
Cacti User
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 8:14 am

#3 Post by Tybio » Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:39 am

Heh, about two years ago Howie and I had exactly this conversation :).

On a similar note Howie, is there any way to set a "Default RRD Directory".

I have a ton of RRD files (over 10k) which all reside in one directory. Currently I use two formats to set the target:

LINK cr1.ex1-cr2.ex1
NODES cr1.ex1 cr2.ex1
SET GID 1
SET RRD some_rrdfile.rrd

LINK cr1.ex1-cr1.ex2
NODES cr1.ex1 cr1.ex2
SET GID 2
TARGET /var/www/cacti/rra/some_rrdfile-2.rrd /var/www/cacti/rra/some_rrdfile-3.rrd

Is there any way to set a default rrd directory in the global options, so if there are no "/"'s in the TARGET it looks in N Directory? That would clean my target lines up and make all my scripts more easy to read (this is clearly not a functionality request)

Thanks for the fantastic tool Howie :)

User avatar
Howie
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 5362
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:53 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

#4 Post by Howie » Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:48 am

You can use {} variables in target lines, so you could do

Code: Select all

SET rra_path /usr/local/cacti/rra/

LINK blah
   TARGET {map:rra_path}blah.rrd
The default default path is the current working directory (the weathermap directory), you should also be able to do TARGET ../../rra/blah.rrd

Maybe there should be something else, but it's slightly complicated because other things make assumptions about the current working directory.
Weathermap 0.98a is out! & QuickTree 1.0. Superlinks is over there now (and built-in to Cacti 1.x).
Some Other Cacti tweaks, including strip-graphs, icons and snmp/netflow stuff.
(Let me know if you have UK DevOps or Network Ops opportunities, too!)

Tybio
Cacti User
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 8:14 am

#5 Post by Tybio » Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:51 am

Yea, that's just as complex (not that it is complex mind you, just a lot of text that 'could' be assumed by a variable at the top).

I was sort of thinking like:

RRADIR /var/cacti/rra/

as a top level config option, then if the TARGET didn't have a '/' it would prepend the RRADIR to it. I admit, I'm not that deep in the php to know if that idea would work :).

Post Reply