[SOLVED] Creating stand alone values CPU,packetloss,latency?

Support questions about the Network Weather Map plugin

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
User avatar
Howie
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 5333
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:53 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Creating stand alone values CPU,packetloss,late

#61 Post by Howie » Mon Apr 27, 2015 2:00 am

I would change the LABEL back - your new LABEL will only work for < 100 sessions.
Weathermap 0.98 is out! & QuickTree 1.0. Superlinks is over there now (and built-in to Cacti 1.x).
Some Other Cacti tweaks, including strip-graphs, icons and snmp/netflow stuff.
(Let me know if you have UK DevOps or Network Ops opportunities, too!)

mrh09
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 1:37 am

Re: [SOLVED] Creating stand alone values CPU,packetloss,late

#62 Post by mrh09 » Mon Apr 27, 2015 4:27 am

Howie wrote:I would change the LABEL back - your new LABEL will only work for < 100 sessions.
yes but it's priew incorrect

my log

Code: Select all

04/27/2015 04:23:17 PM - WEATHERMAP: Poller[0] WARNING: [Map 6] OFFICE: NewColourFromPercent: Clipped 13868.4% to 100% for item node00065 [WMWARN33]
04/27/2015 04:23:17 PM - WEATHERMAP: Poller[0] WARNING: [Map 6] OFFICE: NewColourFromPercent: Clipped 7941.85540984% to 100% for item node00183 [WMWARN33]

User avatar
Howie
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 5333
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:53 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Creating stand alone values CPU,packetloss,late

#63 Post by Howie » Mon Apr 27, 2015 6:21 am

That is for the scale (fill colour), not the LABEL text. To get the text you expect, you should use bandwidth_in, and also your TARGET should begin with gauge: so that weathermap doesn't multiply the value by 8.

A node has a MAXVALUE of 100 (used for calculating percentage) by default. It also uses percentage to decide the colour by default. So you have 7000 sessions, which is > 100, therefore it will use the 100% colour from the SCALE.

To stop those log warnings, you could:

1) add 'SET nowarn_clipping 1' at the top of the map file, to just ignore them.

OR

2) change the MAXVALUE for your node to something larger than your expected session count.

OR

3) use a scale that goes from 0 to {larger than your expected session count} and then 'USESCALE newscale in absolute'.
Weathermap 0.98 is out! & QuickTree 1.0. Superlinks is over there now (and built-in to Cacti 1.x).
Some Other Cacti tweaks, including strip-graphs, icons and snmp/netflow stuff.
(Let me know if you have UK DevOps or Network Ops opportunities, too!)

dogs1005
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:39 am

Re: [SOLVED] Creating stand alone values CPU,packetloss,late

#64 Post by dogs1005 » Fri Dec 16, 2016 9:45 am

I thought I would post in here to keep all similar issues all in one place.

I wonder if you could point me in the right direction please?
I'm trying to add latency to my maps and have shown the code below and attached pics.

As can be seen in the router pic, there is no number there just inms.

My code is as below:

Code: Select all

NODE temp
	LABEL temp
	ICON images/Router.png
	POSITION 628 267
	
NODE temp-Add-Info
	LABEL latency: {node:this:bandwidth:in}ms
	TARGET gauge:/var/www/html/rra/47/579.rrd:avg:avg
	POSITION temp 0 35
Doing a DS debug on the rrd in question above, I got the below which is where I got the 'avg' for my DS in the config above:

Code: Select all

Data Source Debug

/usr/bin/rrdtool create \
/var/www/html/rra/47/579.rrd \
--step 60  \
DS:loss:GAUGE:120:0:100 \
DS:avg:GAUGE:120:0:500 \
DS:max:GAUGE:120:0:500 \
DS:dev:GAUGE:120:0:500 \
DS:min:GAUGE:120:0:500 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:288:797 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:288:797 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:288:797 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:288:797 \
There is nothing being shown in the cacti log as shown in the attachments.

I'm stumped so any help will be greatly appreciated.
Attachments
cactilog.png
Cacti log showing no errors from weathermap
cactilog.png (60.16 KiB) Viewed 1248 times
advanced-ping.png
The advanced Ping template RRD used for avg latency in weathermap
advanced-ping.png (3.15 KiB) Viewed 1248 times
wnlb-cpegeam-01.png
The router showing no latency numbers in the label
wnlb-cpegeam-01.png (2.42 KiB) Viewed 1248 times

dogs1005
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:39 am

Re: [SOLVED] Creating stand alone values CPU,packetloss,late

#65 Post by dogs1005 » Fri Dec 16, 2016 9:57 am

Nevermind I figured it out.
I made a typo.
I typed {node:this:bandwidth:in} instead of {node:this:bandwidth_in}

lecb
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:15 am

Re: [SOLVED] Creating stand alone values CPU,packetloss,late

#66 Post by lecb » Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:42 am

Howie, give me a clue, on how could I get the value from cpu usage, set the node like this:

NODE node07834
LABEL {node:this:inpercent:%k}%
TARGET gauge:/var/lib/cacti/rra/core-val_slotcpuratio_1420.rrd:-
POSITION node09486 0 40

Is there any wrong?
Attachments
NodeCpuUsage.png
Keeps showing 0%
NodeCpuUsage.png (25.12 KiB) Viewed 1092 times

User avatar
Howie
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 5333
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:53 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Creating stand alone values CPU,packetloss,late

#67 Post by Howie » Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:56 pm

lecb wrote:Howie, give me a clue, on how could I get the value from cpu usage, set the node like this:

NODE node07834
LABEL {node:this:inpercent:%k}%
TARGET gauge:/var/lib/cacti/rra/core-val_slotcpuratio_1420.rrd:-
POSITION node09486 0 40

Is there any wrong?
If you want it exactly like the picture (with the node name), then that is actually two nodes - one with the icon and label (hostname), and a second one to show the CPU. I think you have that part right, and node09846 is the one with the icon, right?

Also your TARGET needs to have either 0 or 2 DS names on the end, and at least one should not be "-". Take the :- of the end, wait for one poller cycle, and look in the logs. You will see an error message with the correct names to use. These names are defined in the Cacti data template, so I can't tell you what they should be.

Finally, you probably want %f instead of %k in the label. %k will try to make milli, mega, kilo values, which doesn't make sense for a percentage. %f (or nothing - that's the default) will just show the actual value.
Weathermap 0.98 is out! & QuickTree 1.0. Superlinks is over there now (and built-in to Cacti 1.x).
Some Other Cacti tweaks, including strip-graphs, icons and snmp/netflow stuff.
(Let me know if you have UK DevOps or Network Ops opportunities, too!)

Post Reply