% of Baseline Alternative? Cisco CMTS (Cable Router)

Support questions about the Threshold plugin

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
User avatar
willieb
Cacti User
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:09 am
Location: South GA

% of Baseline Alternative? Cisco CMTS (Cable Router)

#1 Post by willieb » Thu Feb 05, 2009 3:45 pm

Hello,

I can't get baseline to work correctly. The high is tripping without even being set. And I keep getting un-expected results.

Is it a bug or do I just not understand it? I've researched it but can't find that much info on it.

I'm monitoring cable modems online on a CMTS (Cisco Cable Router) and I want to set a threshhold of 30%. For example, modems on one port may be 200. So I want it to alert me if it drops by 30%. So when 60 modems drop offline, I want to be notified. Or if it was 100 modems on a port, I want to be notified at 30 modems offline. I have 38 ports I need to monitor.

Any ideas? Thanks.

User avatar
willieb
Cacti User
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:09 am
Location: South GA

#2 Post by willieb » Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:11 pm

Just for the heck of it, here's my cacti:

http://netmon.wayxcable.com/cacti

User: test
Pass: test

Click "Modems per Upstream"

If I can't monitor % threshholds accurately with thold, and other possibilities with cacti? Thanks.

aris77
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:41 am

#3 Post by aris77 » Thu Feb 12, 2009 5:01 am

Hi Willieb

Your CPU usage graphs are very nice. Could you please share the graph template?


Thank you

Hitch
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 8:17 am

#4 Post by Hitch » Thu Feb 12, 2009 3:32 pm

Hi Willieb.
I've been using baseline monitoring on my upstreams for over a year and it working very well for me.
I don't remember the default values anymore, but I'm using these #'s in the Threshold templates:
Reference in the past: 86400
Time Range: 10800
Deviation up: 100
Deviation down: 20 (for 20% drop in modems)
Trigger Count: 10

These numbers work well for me.

Roger

cigamit
Developer
Posts: 2833
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: B/CS Texas
Contact:

#5 Post by cigamit » Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:33 pm

Which reminds me, I really need to change those to drop downs with times and values so they are easier to use.

User avatar
willieb
Cacti User
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:09 am
Location: South GA

#6 Post by willieb » Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:49 am

aris77 wrote:Hi Willieb

Your CPU usage graphs are very nice. Could you please share the graph template?


Thank you
Sorry it took me so long to reply, but the CPU graph is the built-in fire graph.

User avatar
willieb
Cacti User
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:09 am
Location: South GA

#7 Post by willieb » Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:50 am

Hitch wrote:Hi Willieb.
I've been using baseline monitoring on my upstreams for over a year and it working very well for me.
I don't remember the default values anymore, but I'm using these #'s in the Threshold templates:
Reference in the past: 86400
Time Range: 10800
Deviation up: 100
Deviation down: 20 (for 20% drop in modems)
Trigger Count: 10

These numbers work well for me.

Roger
Thanks Roger, I am trying your settings now.

User avatar
willieb
Cacti User
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:09 am
Location: South GA

#8 Post by willieb » Tue Apr 28, 2009 2:37 pm

Hitch wrote:Hi Willieb.
I've been using baseline monitoring on my upstreams for over a year and it working very well for me.
I don't remember the default values anymore, but I'm using these #'s in the Threshold templates:
Reference in the past: 86400
Time Range: 10800
Deviation up: 100
Deviation down: 20 (for 20% drop in modems)
Trigger Count: 10

These numbers work well for me.

Roger
Thank you Roger! From your settings, I now understand what they mean. I think the key piece here is setting the dev up to 100.

It's working just as we need. Thanks again!

Hitch
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 8:17 am

#9 Post by Hitch » Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:34 am

Hi WilleB,
I'm glad they worked for you. I've had some personal issues to deal with and haven't been online much lately.

My company, in their ultimate wizdom purchased 2 Arris C4 cmts units instead of Cisco 10k's. Does anyone have any template similar to the Cisco templates, like modems per upstream, snr, bandwidth per upstream, etc? I really don't have time to try to figure out the strangely different mib settings in the C4 right now.

Post Reply