Moving Thold Data To New Server

Support questions about the Threshold plugin

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
wpenner
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 3:22 pm

Moving Thold Data To New Server

#1 Post by wpenner » Wed Apr 04, 2018 3:47 pm

I've setup a new cacti server and manged to move the mysql database and .rra files.

Is there anyway to move my thold settings from my old cacti server? I have over 400 of them setup and can't figure out how to get them to show up on the new server.

Thanks for any help.

Old Server:
Widows Server 2008
Cacti 0.8.8c
Thold 0.6

New Server:
Windows Server 2012 R2
Cacti 1.1.36
Thold 1.0.5

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2691
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Moving Thold Data To New Server

#2 Post by netniV » Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:37 am

If you have moved the database and enabled the plugin, they should be there. If you uninstalled/reinstalled the plugin, they will be removed as the tables are removed.

wpenner
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 3:22 pm

Re: Moving Thold Data To New Server

#3 Post by wpenner » Thu Apr 05, 2018 10:36 am

Thank you for the reply.

I've tried many times but can not get it to work. Anyone have any other suggestions. Please see attached screenshots.

1. New cacti, with old plug enabled
2. New cacti, can kind of show some data with old plugin.
3. New cacti, with new plugin enabled.
4. New cacti, does not show any tholds.
5. Countless errors, trying to add new thold.
Attachments
5.png
Errors
5.png (197.44 KiB) Viewed 493 times
4.png
4. New cacti, does not show any tholds.
4.png (19.79 KiB) Viewed 493 times
3.png
3. New cacti, with new plugin enabled.
3.png (28.58 KiB) Viewed 493 times
2.png
2. New cacti, can kind of show some data with old plugin
2.png (28.53 KiB) Viewed 493 times
1.png
1. New cacti, with old plug enabled
1.png (28.64 KiB) Viewed 493 times

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2691
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Moving Thold Data To New Server

#4 Post by netniV » Thu Apr 05, 2018 7:03 pm

OK so your last image really gives the clue. You have attempted to have two versions of THold installed. You will need to remove one and rename the .new to just thold.

Once you have done that, the upgrade process for the plugin should kick in and update the db.

User avatar
camerabob
Cacti User
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Contact:

Re: Moving Thold Data To New Server

#5 Post by camerabob » Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:34 pm

Make sure to disable [then uninstall]* first. Not sure it's necessary, but better safe than sorry. I just renamed the directory and made sure the new version did what I wanted before whacking the old, but how you proceed is up to you.

* See netniV's post below BEFORE uninstalling.
Last edited by camerabob on Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
See the Cacti 1.x templates I use at: http://www.camerabob.com/cacti

Live: Cacti 1.2.3 @ CentOS 7-6.1810.2.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Flowview @ 2.1
Mactrack @ 4.2
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4

Test: Cacti 1.2.4 @ CentOS 7-6.1810.2.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2691
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Moving Thold Data To New Server

#6 Post by netniV » Fri Apr 06, 2018 9:08 am

If you uninstall, all data will be lost in the tables that a plugin wishes to remove. You should only uninstall if you do not want to keep that data.

Post Reply