thold not honour high/low and InProcess showing in logs

Support questions about the Threshold plugin

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
decoherence
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2019 9:36 am

thold not honour high/low and InProcess showing in logs

#1 Post by decoherence » Fri Apr 05, 2019 9:59 am

Hi all,

I have a high/low threshold that isn't entering in to an alarm or warning state, even when the current value is above the threshold for the specified amount of time. With a high alarm of 80 and a current value of 110, the threshold remains in the green 'Ok' state.

I see this in the logs

# grep -i THOLD /var/log/cacti/cacti.log | tail
2019/04/05 09:58:52 - SYSTEM THOLD DAEMON STATS: TotalTime:0.000 MaxRuntime:0.000 Processed:0 InProcess:52 TotalDevices:347 DownDevices:5 NewDownDevices:0 MaxProcesses:1 Completed:0 Running:0 Broken:0
2019/04/05 10:03:54 - SYSTEM THOLD DAEMON STATS: TotalTime:0.000 MaxRuntime:0.000 Processed:0 InProcess:52 TotalDevices:347 DownDevices:5 NewDownDevices:0 MaxProcesses:1 Completed:0 Running:0 Broken:0
2019/04/05 10:08:56 - SYSTEM THOLD DAEMON STATS: TotalTime:0.000 MaxRuntime:0.000 Processed:0 InProcess:52 TotalDevices:347 DownDevices:5 NewDownDevices:0 MaxProcesses:1 Completed:0 Running:0 Broken:0
2019/04/05 10:13:58 - SYSTEM THOLD DAEMON STATS: TotalTime:0.000 MaxRuntime:0.000 Processed:0 InProcess:52 TotalDevices:347 DownDevices:5 NewDownDevices:0 MaxProcesses:1 Completed:0 Running:0 Broken:0
2019/04/05 10:18:52 - SYSTEM THOLD DAEMON STATS: TotalTime:0.000 MaxRuntime:0.000 Processed:0 InProcess:52 TotalDevices:347 DownDevices:5 NewDownDevices:0 MaxProcesses:1 Completed:0 Running:0 Broken:0

'InProcess' never changes and 'Processed' is always 0. Do you think this might be related? Does anyone have any insight in to what InProcess means and why it might get 'stuck'? Or is this a red herring?

Thanks for your time!

Versions:
Cacti 1.1.37
thold 1.0.6
SPINE 1.1.35
PHP 5.6.31
MySQL 5.6.34

Beast
Cacti User
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:55 pm
Location: Venezuela

Re: thold not honour high/low and InProcess showing in logs

#2 Post by Beast » Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:53 am

it´s only that specific threshold or none is working?

upload a capture of the config for this threshold to see if there is something wrong
Beast
GitHub: DoubleBeast

decoherence
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2019 9:36 am

Re: thold not honour high/low and InProcess showing in logs

#3 Post by decoherence » Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:35 pm

Hi Beast, thanks for the reply.

I spoke with my co-worker, who installed the plugin and created some test thresholds. He says that he did see a threshold alert trigger once, but he has since upgraded Cacti and hasn't had time to confirm that they still work. We aren't actually making use of thresholds yet, and it appears that none are working at this time.

As requested, I have attached captures of the threshold configuration, and a capture of the threshold as it appears under the tholds tab. Does the 'current' value make sense? Should it not be 532.6933 as shown in the capture?

Thanks again,
Attachments
thold_cap1.jpg
I'm not familiar enough with thold to know, but does the value for 'Current' make sense, given the Current value shown in the next pic?
thold_cap1.jpg (42.87 KiB) Viewed 628 times
thold_cap2.jpg
thold_cap2.jpg (199.32 KiB) Viewed 628 times
thold_cap_3.jpg
thold_cap_3.jpg (142.29 KiB) Viewed 628 times

Beast
Cacti User
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:55 pm
Location: Venezuela

Re: thold not honour high/low and InProcess showing in logs

#4 Post by Beast » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:57 am

according to the images it should work an it must be in warning state at that moment, what i see odd is that the current value should be present in 3 section of the images that you upload and it is only present into 1 of them, have you tried reinstalling the plugin?
Beast
GitHub: DoubleBeast

Post Reply