[withdrawn] Poller Performance Plugin, now at V0.32

Announcements concerning Plugins for Cacti

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#31 Post by gandalf » Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:15 pm

Oh damn me, should keep my eyes open when posting ...
Sorry, will have to tackle it later this week
Reinhard

changsung
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 10:26 am
Contact:

#32 Post by changsung » Fri Nov 16, 2007 11:13 am

I change the include on pollperf_parse.php and it is working.

Before
include_once("./include/config.php");

Changed to
include(dirname(__FILE__) . "/../../include/global.php");

noflies
Cacti User
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:30 am

#33 Post by noflies » Fri Nov 16, 2007 5:03 pm

I'm not 100% sure about this...but it looks like pollperf and tools plugins are using the same realm id [8]

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#34 Post by gandalf » Tue Nov 20, 2007 3:28 pm

Will verify both issues tomorrow.
Thanks for the pointers
Reinhard

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#35 Post by gandalf » Fri Nov 23, 2007 4:36 am

noflies wrote:I'm not 100% sure about this...but it looks like pollperf and tools plugins are using the same realm id [8]
This is correct. I will have to ask Jimmy for a new Realm Id.
Reinhard

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#36 Post by gandalf » Fri Nov 23, 2007 4:37 am

changsung wrote:I change the include on pollperf_parse.php and it is working.

Before
include_once("./include/config.php");

Changed to
include(dirname(__FILE__) . "/../../include/global.php");
Next goal is to introduce 087(a) compatibility. Until that time, your workaround is ok
Reinhard

ghoz
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 5:49 am

#37 Post by ghoz » Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:10 am

Hi.
I'm using pollperf plugin on my system from time to time, as it inflates my cacti.log way too much for my taste.

Before I dig deeper into this, I was wondering if we couldn't get performance data directly from the poller_ouput table rather than parsing cacti.log ?

I'd think it would be faster to do that directly rather than parsing an ever growing log file... beside the fact that DEBUG level is... well ... realy verbose ...

On a related note, does anyone know how hard it would be to add this performance information directly at the poller level : it knows for sure the time spent on geting data for a DS, so it could add this info in a new column in poller_output ? what would be the implications ?

Thanks

Ghoz

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#38 Post by gandalf » Wed Jan 09, 2008 3:42 pm

You're absolutely correct. It's an awful workaround. Data should be provided by the polling process. Unfortunately, this would have to be implemented both for cmd.php and for spine. So, as many other good ideas, it's waiting for someone to implement it
Reinhard

User avatar
rcaston
Cacti User
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 7:47 pm
Location: US-Dallas, TX
Contact:

#39 Post by rcaston » Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:02 pm

changsung wrote:I change the include on pollperf_parse.php and it is working.

Before
include_once("./include/config.php");

Changed to
include(dirname(__FILE__) . "/../../include/global.php");
This is the only change needed to get it working with 0.8.7a?

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#40 Post by gandalf » Wed Jan 16, 2008 4:51 pm

Not yet verified on my own, but very likely that this is the only one
Reinhard

User avatar
dune
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Dallas, TX

#41 Post by dune » Wed Nov 05, 2008 11:13 pm

Does this work with 0.8.7b, PA 2.0 and Spine? ... nm, it works great!
[b]dune[/b]
Cacti v0.8.7b/Spine v0.8.7c-beta2 (PA 2.1, Settings 0.5, THold 0.3.9) on Server 2003 SP2/IIS 6.0/PHP5/MySQL 5.0.45

mharald
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:06 am

Re: Poller Performance Plugin, now at V0.32

#42 Post by mharald » Wed Jun 13, 2012 2:10 am

Hi Performance Plugin gurus :)

Plugin doesn't seem to work on 0.8.8a. Is this known, or am I having another problem?

Posted under Plugins:General: http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=47498

Thx for your help.

Rgds,

Harald

r0bst3r
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:00 am

Re: Poller Performance Plugin, now at V0.32

#43 Post by r0bst3r » Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:08 am

Its not working for me either on 088a, any ideas? I did the modification a page back in this thread.

09/20/2012 01:06:00 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] ERROR: SQL Assoc Failed!, Error:'1146', SQL:"SELECT host.id, host.disabled, host.status, host.hostname, host.description, plugin_pollperf_data.lstart, plugin_pollperf_data.lend, plugin_pollperf_data.ds_count, plugin_pollperf_data.diff, plugin_pollperf_data.rate, plugin_pollperf_data.ds_per_run, plugin_pollperf_data.dur_per_run FROM host LEFT JOIN plugin_pollperf_data ON (host.id = plugin_pollperf_data.id) WHERE (host.hostname LIKE '%%%%' OR host.description LIKE '%%%%') ORDER BY description ASC LIMIT 0,100"
09/20/2012 01:06:00 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] ERROR: SQL Cell Failed!, Error:'1146', SQL:"select COUNT(host.id) FROM host LEFT JOIN plugin_pollperf_data ON (host.id = plugin_pollperf_data.id) WHERE (host.hostname LIKE '%%%%' OR host.description LIKE '%%%%')"
09/20/2012 01:04:34 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] ERROR: SQL Assoc Failed!, Error:'1146', SQL:"SELECT host.id, host.disabled, host.status, host.hostname, host.description, plugin_pollperf_data.lstart, plugin_pollperf_data.lend, plugin_pollperf_data.ds_count, plugin_pollperf_data.diff, plugin_pollperf_data.rate, plugin_pollperf_data.ds_per_run, plugin_pollperf_data.dur_per_run FROM host LEFT JOIN plugin_pollperf_data ON (host.id = plugin_pollperf_data.id) WHERE (host.hostname LIKE '%%%%' OR host.description LIKE '%%%%') ORDER BY description ASC LIMIT 0,100"
09/20/2012 01:04:34 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] ERROR: SQL Cell Failed!, Error:'1146', SQL:"select COUNT(host.id) FROM host LEFT JOIN plugin_pollperf_data ON (host.id = plugin_pollperf_data.id) WHERE (host.hostname LIKE '%%%%' OR host.description LIKE '%%%%')"

r0bst3r
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:00 am

Re: Poller Performance Plugin, now at V0.32

#44 Post by r0bst3r » Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:37 am

Update: It isn't running automatically, but when I run pollperf_parse.php it does populate the statistics properly. I consider this an acceptable workaround for now, but if someone has an idea on how to fix it let me know.

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

Re: [withdrawn] Poller Performance Plugin, now at V0.32

#45 Post by gandalf » Sat Sep 22, 2012 3:52 am

I do not enourage anybody to use this one any longer.
We will introduce a poller performance counter per host with next upcoming release. I have a patch at hand (for both the php code and spine) that implements a backport of this feature.
Users are encouraged to use spine --verbosity=3 to get performance data per host printed to cacti.log.
R.

Post Reply