Cisco SFP (with DOM) Optical value plugin v0.2.3 + 0.2.4b

Announcements concerning Plugins for Cacti

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
sodium
Cacti User
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:29 am

Cisco SFP (with DOM) Optical value plugin v0.2.3 + 0.2.4b

#1 Post by sodium » Tue Sep 04, 2007 9:18 am

Hi,

I've created a small plugin to monitor Cisco SFP's (with DOM -- digital optical monitoring) (like this one http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/ ... 3f885.html ) and create a graph with the optical transmit/receive values.

Since the OID's for DOM monitoring are a bit funky I created this plugin. It's my first plugin -- so please be a bit gentile with me :)

I've included a patch for thold (v3.4) since thold (baseline function) can't handle negative values. (this patch works for me -- your mileage may vary)

on 20171219 user netniV moved the development to github https://github.com/netniV/cisco-sfp therfore I give the permission to remove the remaining copyright if all other parties agree :)
Attachments
cisco-sfp-v0.2.4.tgz
0.2.4 beta
(11.38 KiB) Downloaded 2724 times
cisco-sfp-v0.2.3.tgz
script server (plugin) v0.2.3
(11.36 KiB) Downloaded 1228 times
sfpv02b.jpg
Example graph of v0.2b
sfpv02b.jpg (60.17 KiB) Viewed 45181 times
Last edited by sodium on Tue Dec 19, 2017 7:12 am, edited 13 times in total.

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#2 Post by TheWitness » Tue Sep 04, 2007 9:35 am

Once Tony resolved your issue, I can audit. It may be better to host it somewhere and simply provide the link here though.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

User avatar
rony
Developer/Forum Admin
Posts: 6016
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 6:35 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

#3 Post by rony » Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:17 am

Forum permissions have been update, you should be able to attach the files you want now.
[size=117][i][b]Tony Roman[/b][/i][/size]
[size=84][i]Experience is what causes a person to make new mistakes instead of old ones.[/i][/size]
[size=84][i]There are only 3 way to complete a project: Good, Fast or Cheap, pick two.[/i][/size]
[size=84][i]With age comes wisdom, what you choose to do with it determines whether or not you are wise.[/i][/size]

sodium
Cacti User
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:29 am

#4 Post by sodium » Tue Sep 04, 2007 11:44 am

Rony, thanks for for the changes in my profile -- file is attached now :)

tl1997
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 1:07 am
Location: Coral Gables, FL

Re: Cisco SFP (with DOM) Optical value plugin v0.1

#5 Post by tl1997 » Thu Sep 06, 2007 12:24 pm

sodium wrote:
I've created a small plugin to monitor Cisco SFP's (with DOM -- digital optical monitoring) (like this one http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/ ... 3f885.html ) and create a graph with the optical transmit/receive values.
These are awesome! I posted a message to the template forum the other day to see if anyone had done this, I was having trouble with it myself. Works great! I haven't tried the negative value thold patch yet as my thold plugin is a little out of date.

My only suggestion would be picking up ifAlias some how so that when you run the query, you'll get the description of the interface instead of just the name. Not sure how one would do that though, Cisco's SNMP implementation of DOM is pretty bizarre.

sodium
Cacti User
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:29 am

Re: Cisco SFP (with DOM) Optical value plugin v0.1

#6 Post by sodium » Thu Sep 06, 2007 1:15 pm

tl1997 wrote:These are awesome! I posted a message to the template forum the other day to see if anyone had done this, I was having trouble with it myself. Works great! I haven't tried the negative value thold patch yet as my thold plugin is a little out of date.
:D I'm glad that it helped you... If you look at the patch you'll see that my additions are pretty slim and easy to port to other versions then v3.4 (you can wait for the developer of thold if he ok's my changes)
tl1997 wrote:My only suggestion would be picking up ifAlias some how so that when you run the query, you'll get the description of the interface instead of just the name. Not sure how one would do that though, Cisco's SNMP implementation of DOM is pretty bizarre.

Good Idea :P I'll look into that. -- You're right about the bizarre part :D

sodium
Cacti User
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:29 am

Re: Cisco SFP (with DOM) Optical value plugin v0.1

#7 Post by sodium » Fri Sep 07, 2007 6:30 am

tl1997 wrote:My only suggestion would be picking up ifAlias some how so that when you run the query, you'll get the description of the interface instead of just the name. Not sure how one would do that though, Cisco's SNMP implementation of DOM is pretty bizarre.
I added the ifAlias (Description field) to the plugin. I'm calling it beta because I do not like the solution... it's too processor intensive (3 queries to the mysql database -- and they need to be optimized) but it works (flaky) hence Beta :P

sodium
Cacti User
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:29 am

#8 Post by sodium » Fri Sep 14, 2007 6:29 am

Have not seen any bug reports after the latest release, it seems that the plugin is working :)

Tekk
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:01 am
Location: France

#9 Post by Tekk » Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:08 am

Hi sodium,

I tried your plugin and it doesn't work for me. :( I have a sfp 1000 base ZX on a Cisco Catalyst 3750.

Do you have the name of the MIB or some OIDs ?

Thanks

sodium
Cacti User
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:29 am

#10 Post by sodium » Sat Sep 22, 2007 2:31 am

Hi,

do a snmpwalk on .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.91.1.1.1.1.2 and look for strings like this:

SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.47.1.1.1.1.2.4048 = STRING: "TenGigabitEthernet4/4 Module Temperature Sensor"
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.47.1.1.1.1.2.4049 = STRING: "TenGigabitEthernet4/4 Supply Voltage Sensor"
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.47.1.1.1.1.2.4050 = STRING: "TenGigabitEthernet4/4 Bias Current Sensor"
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.47.1.1.1.1.2.4051 = STRING: "TenGigabitEthernet4/4 Transmit Power Sensor"
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.47.1.1.1.1.2.4052 = STRING: "TenGigabitEthernet4/4 Receive Power Sensor"

These are typical DOM strings from the CISCO-ENTITY-SENSOR-MIB

see http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk648/t ... 4b9e.shtml
for details

Tekk
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:01 am
Location: France

#11 Post by Tekk » Fri Sep 28, 2007 8:49 am

sodium wrote:Hi,

do a snmpwalk on .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.91.1.1.1.1.2 and look for strings like this:

SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.47.1.1.1.1.2.4048 = STRING: "TenGigabitEthernet4/4 Module Temperature Sensor"
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.47.1.1.1.1.2.4049 = STRING: "TenGigabitEthernet4/4 Supply Voltage Sensor"
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.47.1.1.1.1.2.4050 = STRING: "TenGigabitEthernet4/4 Bias Current Sensor"
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.47.1.1.1.1.2.4051 = STRING: "TenGigabitEthernet4/4 Transmit Power Sensor"
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.47.1.1.1.1.2.4052 = STRING: "TenGigabitEthernet4/4 Receive Power Sensor"

These are typical DOM strings from the CISCO-ENTITY-SENSOR-MIB

see http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk648/t ... 4b9e.shtml
for details
I have no response when I do a snmpwalk on .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.91.1.1.1.1.2 :( .

Do I have to enable something on my cisco 3750 to have transceiver monitoring ? For example, I found something like "transceiver type all" but this command doesn't exist on a 3750...

Thanks

sodium
Cacti User
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:29 am

#12 Post by sodium » Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:49 am

Tekk wrote:Do I have to enable something on my cisco 3750 to have transceiver monitoring ? For example, I found something like "transceiver type all" but this command doesn't exist on a 3750...
In the config of our 65xx's are the following commands: (in IOS release 12.2(18)SXF )

!
transceiver type all
monitoring
!

jjalert
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 5:27 pm

#13 Post by jjalert » Mon Oct 01, 2007 5:30 pm

sodium wrote:
Tekk wrote:Do I have to enable something on my cisco 3750 to have transceiver monitoring ? For example, I found something like "transceiver type all" but this command doesn't exist on a 3750...
In the config of our 65xx's are the following commands: (in IOS release 12.2(18)SXF )

!
transceiver type all
monitoring
!
According to the cisco feature navigator, DOM isn't supported on the 3750 platform. The only platforms listed are the 6500 and 7600.

You also have to have the SFP's with part number starting in SFP-, and not GLC- parts.

cwahlin
Cacti User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 7:23 am

#14 Post by cwahlin » Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:29 am

Works great for me. But it seems I only get out 10GE interfaces. Guess we do not have the right SFPs :(

/Carl

User avatar
egarnel
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 703
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2002 8:55 am
Location: Austin, TX

#15 Post by egarnel » Wed Oct 10, 2007 8:39 am

Dohhh, the command is not supported in 12.2(18)SXD7a ip base
Cacti1 OS: CentOS 5.6 | 300+ devices
Cacti2 OS: CentOS 5.6 | 300+ devices
King of the Elves
Local Anarchists Union #427
"Anarchism is founded on the observation that since few men are wise enough to rule themselves, even fewer are wise enough to rule others." -Edward Abbey

Post Reply