Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 5:32 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Spikekill 1.0 - Released
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:33 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
All,

It's been a while since there was a good spike killer for Cacti. Attached please find my latest work. It is a much more advanced Spike Killer than Alice's. It uses my own design to ferret out the Spikes from an RRDfile and remove them.

There are several options. So make sure you goto Settings->Misc and check them out. It uses one of two methods to remove spikes. There is Standard Deviation and Variance.

The Standard Deviation removes anything that is over X Standard Deviations above or below the Average. The Variance, will take away X outliers both above and below the average and then remove anything that is greater than X% above the Variance Average.

You have the ability to replace the Spike Value with either an NaN or the Average of that RRA period. You also have the ability to perform Dryrun's before you actually execute the Spike Removal. Please do so in order to "tweak" the install before running it.

The command also works from the command line and equally works even if you don't have Cacti!!!

I am looking for specific feedback on this feature and look forward to that.

Regards,

TheWitness


Attachments:
File comment: Now working for Linux/UNIX
spikekill-1.0-2.tar.gz [34.68 KiB]
Downloaded 1446 times
File comment: Works fine with Windows
spikekill-1.0-1.tar.gz [34.63 KiB]
Downloaded 412 times

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Last edited by TheWitness on Mon Mar 02, 2009 10:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 9:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 2:56 pm
Posts: 29
Disregard. I found the problem and fixed it. It works great now

_________________
Cacti Version - 0.8.7d Plugin Architecture - 2.4 Poller Type - CMD.php Server Info - Linux 2.6.18-164.9.1.el5 Web Server - Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS) PHP - 5.1.6 PHP Extensions - libxml, xml, wddx, tokenizer, sysvshm, sysvsem, sysvmsg, standard, SimpleXML, sockets, SPL, shmop, session, Reflection, pspell, posix, mime_magic, iconv, hash, gmp, gettext, ftp, exif, date, curl, ctype, calendar, bz2, zlib, pcre, openssl, apache2handler, dbase, gd, mysql, mysqli, PDO, pdo_mysql, pdo_sqlite, snmpMySQL - 5.0.77 RRDTool - 1.4.2 SNMP - 5.3.2.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: spikekill is not working.
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 2:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 2:07 pm
Posts: 7
I have added spikekill folder to my plugins and I also added $plugins[] = 'spikekill'; to my global.php.

Problem I am having is I couldn't find any sign of spikekill anywhere, not user management and Settings->Misc.

I did installed monitor plugin and it did shows up on the tab and Settings->Misc.

I am using cacti 0.8.7c and cacti-plugin-0.8.7c-PA-v2.3.

Your help is appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 7:31 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
This is a PIA 2.x plugin. It is installed from Plugin Management not from the global.php file.

Quote:
----[ Installation

Install just like any other 2.x plugin, just throw it in the plugin directory,
in the spikekill folder and then 'Install' and 'Enable' it. Don't remember to give yourself
permission to use it.


Remember RIF!

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 7:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 2:07 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks. I sucessfully installed spikekill from plugin management.

One of the issue I have encountered is rrd is not writable by this account.

Do you think it might have to do with rra owner is cacti and database user name is cacti user.

Your feedback is appreciated.


Attachments:
spike.JPG
spike.JPG [ 7.49 KiB | Viewed 22880 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 8:01 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
This plugin requires your web server account to have write access to the rrds.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Works!!
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 5:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 2:07 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks for your help!! It works great!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 2:58 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:41 am
Posts: 168
Location: Sweden
Uhm, couldnt get version 1.1 to work for some reason.
The rrd in question has write access from all users. Hovered over the icon and chose all of the options from it, analyze found stuff but i couldnt understand anything of it (maybe just have: found 10 spikes above 10Mbit). Chosing Remove created an ajax popup much like the analyze one, but without the data in it.
Anyway, nothing happened to the graph :/
Code:
05/27/2009 09:53:45 AM - WEBUI: Poller[0] NOTE: Removing Spikes for '/usr/local/share/cacti/rra/rostockholm1_traffic_in_2188.rrd', Method:'2' 
05/27/2009 09:53:45 AM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] /usr/local/bin/php -q /usr/local/share/cacti/plugins/spikekill/removespikes.php -R=/usr/local/share/cacti/rra/rostockholm1_traffic_in_2188.rrd -M=variance --html


Edit:
Sorry, last week at work, busybusytired. Its ofc on 0.8.7d of cacti and spine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 9:10 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
Run that same command from the command line.

Larry

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 11:00 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:41 am
Posts: 168
Location: Sweden
TheWitness wrote:
Run that same command from the command line.

Larry

Sorry, but i got rid of the spikes already, used the newer (2008) removespikes.pl script from the RRDtool website.
If we get any more spikes ill be sure to try Spikekill again.

Thanks anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 11:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:28 am
Posts: 35
I installed via the plugin manager, but I see no way to run spikekill from the interface. I see the setting under Misc, so I know it is installed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 12:15 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
You must grant yourself access to it and then you kill spikes directly from the Graphs tab.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 4:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:28 am
Posts: 35
TheWitness wrote:
This plugin requires your web server account to have write access to the rrds.

TheWitness



I am not sure what you mean by this. How would I go about setting it so I don't blow up my Cacti.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 5:35 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
chmod 777 /var/www/html/cacti/rra

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:44 am
Posts: 6
I had an error when running spikekill 1.1. (README still shows 1.0)
Code:
Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 33554432 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 262144 bytes) in /var/www/cacti/plugins/spikekill/removespikes.php on line 267


I got the script to run by adding this line at the beginning of removespikes.php.
Code:
ini_set("memory_limit","256M");

-------

Now, I'm killing spikes. But I have a new problem. On my traffic graphs, only the Outbound spikes are eliminated, the Inbound spikes remain.

An example below. In this graph, I expect incoming and outgoing traffic to be nearly symmetrical (voip traffic). And the original graphs reflect this. After spikekill, the Outbound spikes were reduced, but the corresponding Incoming spike remained.
Image

Any tips?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group