Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Fri Nov 16, 2018 6:48 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Gaps in cacti graphs - cacti-1.1.38
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 7:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am
Posts: 25
Hello Members,

Running Red Hat 6.10 RHEL
I have searched for an answer to this one, but so far no luck.
I have upgraded two virtual machines from cacti-1.1.28 to cacti-1.1.38.
These sysems are configured the same, poller spine 1.1.38, rrdtool 1.5.5,
there is a cacti file in the /etc.cron.d directoy, etc.
The overall owner for the /var/www is apache:apache
apache owns the cache/realtime
cacti:cacti (the user) owns log and rra - this is on both systems.

One server is designated as the master, the other as the backup.
Both server poll the same devices.

Any suggestions on how to solve the isse that the master server creates graphs with
about 10 min gaps, and the backup vm creates graphs for the same device without gaps.

I am indeed puzzled.

thanks,
eholz1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaps in cacti graphs - cacti-1.1.38
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:55 pm
Posts: 25
i recommend compare the logs of both servers and look for differences and errors


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaps in cacti graphs - cacti-1.1.38
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am
Posts: 25
Thanks, will do. I am thinking it has to do with cron/crontab.
The old system, now rolled back to cacti-1-1.28 shows no gaps.
the cron job is set via root's crontab, like this:
*/5 * * * * /usr/bin/php /var/www/html/cacti/poller.php > /dev/null 2>&1

there is no file "cacti" in /var/etc/cron.d (the Red Hat location) with a value set like this:
*/5 * * * * cacti /usr/bin/php /var/www/html/cacti/poller.php > /dev/null 2>&1

I am running a test system (red hat) and using this:
*/5 * * * * /usr/bin/php /var/www/html/cacti/poller.php > /dev/null 2>&1
this file was created by logging on as cacti, then doing crontab -e and adding the line above.
the poller does run every 5 minutes, could it be something with rrdtool? using 1.5.5.

So my question is what is really the correct way to configure cron to run the cacti poller. I am using
cacti-1.1.38

thanks,
eholz1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaps in cacti graphs - cacti-1.1.38
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:34 pm 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am
Posts: 1682
It matters not. If you configure cron via /etc/cron.d/ then you need to include the user between the timings and the command.

If you configure via crontab -e then you do not need the user because it's already implied by use of crontab that it will be the current user. You can even specify another user by using the -u parameter.

_________________
Official Cacti Developer

Cacti Resources:
Cacti Website (including releases)
Cacti Issues
Cacti Development Releases
Cacti Development Documentation

My resources:
How to submit Pull Requests
Development Wiki and How To's
Updated NetSNMP Memory template for Cacti 1.x
Cisco SFP template for Cacti 0.8.8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaps in cacti graphs - cacti-1.1.38
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 7:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am
Posts: 25
hello Again,

Thanks for the infomation as always.
It seems the cron/contab is a real problem on my system.
I have tried it with a file in /etc/cron.d/cacti - to run as cacti every 5 minutes.
I am using spine-1.1.38,
I have tried it as crontab -e under root, same timing, but still get gaps in graphs.
Could it be a problem with spine-1.1.38 maybe my compile was not quite correct?
I am also using rrdtool -1.5.5, should I attempt to use a later version?

I am pretty much out of ideas here.

Again thanks for the tips

eholz1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaps in cacti graphs - cacti-1.1.38
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:16 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am
Posts: 1682
If this is for a specific host, put that host into Debug Mode then check the log files to see what information it is pulling back and ensure that it is always getting back the correct data. If there are any U's or the timings are out, eg, missing a polling cycle or more, then this would give you some indications that it is probably more device or server related. If the data is being returned, then it is more likely that there's an RRDTool issue but I would be surprised.

_________________
Official Cacti Developer

Cacti Resources:
Cacti Website (including releases)
Cacti Issues
Cacti Development Releases
Cacti Development Documentation

My resources:
How to submit Pull Requests
Development Wiki and How To's
Updated NetSNMP Memory template for Cacti 1.x
Cisco SFP template for Cacti 0.8.8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaps in cacti graphs - cacti-1.1.38
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am
Posts: 25
Hello Netiv,
I will try this. I can see where the rrd files are being updated as the poller runs every 5 min.
I am also using mysql 5.1.7, and cacti install suggested 5.3.3 and up, would this be an issue?

I will put the host (since issue is only on this host) in debug mode and check logs.

Thanks,

eholz1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaps in cacti graphs - cacti-1.1.38
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 10:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am
Posts: 25
THIS IS [SOLVED], or how do I mark a a post as solved?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: [SOLVED]Re: Gaps in cacti graphs - cacti-1.1.38
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 11:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am
Posts: 25
THIS IS [SOLVED], or how do I mark a a post as solved?
tHANSk. Here is how i fixt this (I hope)
Read cacti docs on poller, spine, and cron.
Also checked my cpu (a red hat ent server, but virtual), and checked cores/cpu
In my case I set max_conncurrent_processes to 4 (even though primarily effects cmd.php)
Set threads to 12, and spine processes to 6, and device threads to 4
I am running cron at 5 min, and spine every 30 sec - status messages show polling time
less than 30 secs.

GREAT FORUM,
eholz1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gaps in cacti graphs - cacti-1.1.38
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 11:37 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am
Posts: 1682
Edit the first post :)

_________________
Official Cacti Developer

Cacti Resources:
Cacti Website (including releases)
Cacti Issues
Cacti Development Releases
Cacti Development Documentation

My resources:
How to submit Pull Requests
Development Wiki and How To's
Updated NetSNMP Memory template for Cacti 1.x
Cisco SFP template for Cacti 0.8.8


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group