After upgrade cacti/cactid - poller not processing all RRDs

Post support questions that directly relate to Linux/Unix operating systems.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#16 Post by TheWitness » Sat Nov 18, 2006 12:52 pm

You should run poller.php from a command line and see that you get all "OK"'s. Then, you should post your log file.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

Jeb
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 2:50 am

#17 Post by Jeb » Sat Nov 18, 2006 1:20 pm

I haven't it.
I have some plugin (weathermap/discovery/threshold/..) i will disable them just in case.
If i run poller.php manually i get lots of OK then stats and weathermap output.
I will redirect output to a file to see how many OK (line) i get

Jeb
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 2:50 am

#18 Post by Jeb » Sat Nov 18, 2006 4:35 pm

Hum i get N Ok where N is the number of RRDsProcessed...
I have limited cactid to 1 process with 15 threads, i have the same bug but more rrd are processed...

Jeb
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 2:50 am

#19 Post by Jeb » Sun Nov 19, 2006 2:45 pm

I'have looked at poller.php code, from what i see it just execute cactid and wait for the end. So i think the bug is in cactid, i'am wrong ?

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#20 Post by TheWitness » Sun Nov 19, 2006 3:19 pm

Anything is possible, but Cactid does NOT process RRD's.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

Jeb
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 2:50 am

#21 Post by Jeb » Sun Nov 19, 2006 6:18 pm

Yes, from what i see cactid poll data, push them in poller_output and the php code update rrds, and delete data from poller_output.
I have stop my poller.php scheduled task, drop all data in poller_output and run poller.php 2 time manually. (with 1 process, 1 thread)

Here is what i get
11/19/2006 10:59:06 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:295.5380 Method:cactid Processes:1 Threads:1 Hosts:489 HostsPerProcess:489 DataSources:40374 RRDsProcessed:2361
11/19/2006 10:50:02 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:294.7411 Method:cactid Processes:1 Threads:1 Hosts:489 HostsPerProcess:489 DataSources:40374 RRDsProcessed:2415

and poller_output is empty at the end
I have the debug output but i haven't look at it for the moment.

after i switched to cmd.php and done the same test

11/20/2006 12:05:09 AM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:1009.9869 Method:cmd.php Processes:1 Threads:N/A Hosts:489 HostsPerProcess:489 DataSources:40374 RRDsProcessed:20620
11/19/2006 11:42:05 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:1016.8636 Method:cmd.php Processes:1 Threads:N/A Hosts:489 HostsPerProcess:489 DataSources:40374 RRDsProcessed:20917

There is still the bug but almost all my RRDs are processed...

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#22 Post by TheWitness » Sun Nov 19, 2006 6:24 pm

Edit lib/poller.php and remove all evidence of the "LIMIT" from the code, or just make the variable that says "LIMIT 50000" equal to "" and see if that fixes it.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

Jeb
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 2:50 am

#23 Post by Jeb » Sun Nov 19, 2006 8:34 pm

for people having the same problem take a look to http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?p=84154

allenelson
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 11:00 pm

#24 Post by allenelson » Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:42 am

i've learned that the number of RRD's will not match up with the number of data sources.

SYSTEM STATS: Time:1.0367 Method:cmd.php Processes:1 Threads:N/A Hosts:2 HostsPerProcess:2 DataSources:17 RRDsProcessed:13

that was bugging me for a long time and i thought something was wrong, where nothing is wrong but:

my interface eth0: 2 data sources, 1 graph
cpu usage: 3 data sources, 1 graph

etc etc

XenoPhage
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:10 pm

Similar issue from 0.8.6i to 0.8.6j ?

#25 Post by XenoPhage » Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:14 pm

Greetings,

I updated cacti from 0.8.6i to 0.8.6j and all but my local processing has stopped. I ran the poller by hand and I get this :

[[email protected]]$ sudo -u cactiuser php /var/www/html/cacti/poller.php
OK u:0.00 s:0.00 r:0.02
OK u:0.00 s:0.00 r:0.02
OK u:0.00 s:0.01 r:0.02
OK u:0.00 s:0.01 r:0.02
OK u:0.00 s:0.01 r:0.02
OK u:0.00 s:0.01 r:141.16
OK u:0.00 s:0.01 r:141.16
OK u:0.00 s:0.01 r:141.16
OK u:0.00 s:0.01 r:141.16
OK u:0.00 s:0.01 r:141.16
Content-type: text/html

02/28/2007 01:52:33 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Maximum runtime of 292 seconds exceeded. Exiting.
02/28/2007 01:52:33 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:292.9289 Method:cmd.php Processes:1 Threads:N/A Hosts:10 HostsPerProcess:10 DataSources:335 RRDsProcessed:10
PHP Warning: pclose(): 45 is not a valid stream resource in /var/www/html/cacti/lib/rrd.php on line 48


If I downgrade to 0.8.6i, it begins working again. Any thoughts?


wagnerluizrj
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 4:24 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Contact:

Same problem

#27 Post by wagnerluizrj » Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:36 pm

People, I have the same problem: I have Cacti 0.8.6.j with Cactid 0.8.6.i and after I changed from cmd.php to cactid, It solves my time problem, but some RRDs are not processed creating holes in the graphic.

06/18/2007 04:53:12 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:191.0471 Method:cmd.php Processes:8 Threads:N/A Hosts:102 HostsPerProcess:13 DataSources:4590 RRDsProcessed:1478
06/18/2007 04:55:27 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:25.7602 Method:cactid Processes:8 Threads:25 Hosts:102 HostsPerProcess:13 DataSources:4590 RRDsProcessed:965
06/18/2007 05:00:26 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:24.7136 Method:cactid Processes:8 Threads:8 Hosts:102 HostsPerProcess:13 DataSources:4590 RRDsProcessed:965
06/18/2007 05:08:06 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:185.0632 Method:cmd.php Processes:8 Threads:N/A Hosts:102 HostsPerProcess:13 DataSources:4590 RRDsProcessed:1478
06/18/2007 05:13:26 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:203.9696 Method:cmd.php Processes:8 Threads:N/A Hosts:102 HostsPerProcess:13 DataSources:4590 RRDsProcessed:1478
06/18/2007 05:16:04 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:62.7150 Method:cactid Processes:8 Threads:1 Hosts:102 HostsPerProcess:13 DataSources:4590 RRDsProcessed:965
06/18/2007 05:20:31 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:29.6934 Method:cactid Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:102 HostsPerProcess:102 DataSources:4590 RRDsProcessed:965
06/18/2007 05:28:17 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:196.1263 Method:cmd.php Processes:8 Threads:N/A Hosts:102 HostsPerProcess:13 DataSources:4590 RRDsProcessed:1478
06/18/2007 05:33:17 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:195.0929 Method:cmd.php Processes:8 Threads:N/A Hosts:102 HostsPerProcess:13 DataSources:4590 RRDsProcessed:1478
06/18/2007 05:35:25 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:24.6948 Method:cactid Processes:8 Threads:8 Hosts:102 HostsPerProcess:13 DataSources:4590 RRDsProcessed:965.

Anybody can help me?

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#28 Post by gandalf » Tue Jun 19, 2007 3:36 pm

First, please make sure to use fully patched cacti versions only, see http://www.cacti.net/download_patches.php
Then, please decide on further direction: Using cactid or cmd.php? Then lets dig deeper into any problems
Reinhard

aleto
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 3:57 am

#29 Post by aleto » Tue Nov 20, 2007 11:55 am

Hi,

Currently im using a fully patched (PA 1.4 + cacti 0.8.7a + cmd.php) installation but its not updating my graphs anymore. Instead it just 'random' updates graphs;

e.g.:
11/20/2007 05:49:11 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:9.2329 Method:cmd.php Processes:1 Threads:N/A Hosts:37 HostsPerProcess:37 DataSources:137 RRDsProcessed:113

(I have about 500 RRDs)

When im using cacti 0.8.6j no problems at all.

Any ideas?
Attachments
graphs.JPG
graphs.JPG (34.51 KiB) Viewed 21246 times
technical_information.txt
technical information from cacti
(4.83 KiB) Downloaded 722 times

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#30 Post by TheWitness » Tue Nov 20, 2007 11:26 pm

What is your poller interval? What is your cron interval?

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

Post Reply