Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Wed Jul 24, 2019 1:50 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to Export Cacti Queries
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:04 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Hello all,

I am trying to migrate from one cacti server running Debian to another running on FreeBSD 6. I initially tried to do a mysqldump of the cacti database from the debian machine to the freeBSD one. I made a new mysql cacti database on the freebsd box and loaded the dump into it. I also copied over the contents of the rra directory from the Debian box to the FreeBSD. I then made sure that the rights and owner of the copied files were ok. Finally, I pointed the new db-settings.php file over to the new cacti mysql database on the freeBSD box.

Cacti went through it's little upgrade page on the web interface and I corrected all of the paths that were incorrect. Once the new database was loaded, all of my queries seem to be fine, however after the migration none of the queries are generating graphs. The poller cache and logfile show that cacti querying correctly.

If I re-point the db-settings file back to the default database on the FreeBSD box all of my test graphs work properly.

Did I miss something? Is there a better way to export cacti queries across platforms?

Thanx ahead of time for your help!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:26 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 2:00 pm
Posts: 87
Location: Seattle
rrd files are architecture specific. you'll have to export them all to xml on the original system then convert back to rrd on the new system.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: cool
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:04 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Thanx, I'll give that a try


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:04 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Albuquerque, NM
so I exported all of the rrd files to xml and then imported them on the new host from xml to rrd files... still no good. Cacti is still not graphing.

any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 2:55 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22376
Location: Muenster, Germany
Please post a screenshot of failing graphs. You may want to check "rrdtool -v" against "Settings->RRDTool Utility Version" on the failing box
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group