Search HowTo change the Poller and Cron Interval

Post support questions that directly relate to Linux/Unix operating systems.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
Schparc
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 3:08 am
Location: Germany Rösrath
Contact:

Search HowTo change the Poller and Cron Interval

#1 Post by Schparc » Fri Nov 19, 2010 3:25 am

English:

Good day together;

I have a question. I have tried for some time about the plugin "monitor" my host to check the status (Up and Down).

So I can make this a little faster, I have the Poller Interval to 1 minute and set the crontab too (also in Debian itself)

I then run the script from TheWitness

http://forums.cacti.net/about10292.html

Under the menu "System Utilities" and "View Cacti Log File" I see that he makes every minute a check.

But under the "Data sources" menu item from any host is under
"Poller Interval" still "5 Minutes"

So I am assuming he only every 5 minutes but the Data Source Aktualiesiert, because if I remove the network to host a single commission, it takes about 5 minutes until the host moves to make informed and RED.

I hope someone can help me.


Yours sincerely,

Schparc



Now German:
Guten Tag zusammen,

I habe eine Frage. Ich versuche seit einiger Zeit über das Plugin "Monitor" meine Host auf den Zustand zu überprüfen.

Damit ich das ein wenig schneller machen kann, habe ich den Poller Intervall auf 1 Minute gesetzt und den Crontab auch (auch in Debian selbst)

Danach habe ich das Script von TheWitness ausgeführt

http://forums.cacti.net/about10292.html

Unter dem Menü "System Utilities" und "View Cacti Log File" sehe ich auch das er jede Minute eine Überprüfung macht.

Doch unter den "Data sources" Menüpunkt von allen Host steht unter
"Poller Interval" immer noch "5 Minutes"

Somit gehe ich davon aus das er doch nur jede 5 minuten die Data Source Aktualiesiert, denn wenn ich das Netzwerk an einme Host entferne dauert es etwa 5 Minuten bis erst der host auf RED springt und mach informiert.

Ich hoffe mir kann dabei einer helfen.


Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Schparc

Code: Select all

php rebuild_poller_cache.php
There are '61' data source elements to update.
Data Source Item '1' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '2' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '3' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '4' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '5' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '6' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '7' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '8' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '9' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '10' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '11' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '12' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '13' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '14' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '15' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '16' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '17' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '18' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '19' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '20' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '21' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '22' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '23' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '24' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '25' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '26' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '27' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '28' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '29' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '30' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '31' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '32' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '33' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '34' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '35' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '36' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '37' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '38' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '39' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '40' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '41' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '42' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '43' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '44' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '45' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '46' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '47' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '48' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '49' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '50' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '51' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '52' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '53' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '54' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '55' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '56' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '57' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '58' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '59' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '60' of '61' updated
Data Source Item '61' of '61' updated

Code: Select all

11/19/2010 09:24:03 AM - SYSTEM SYSLOG STATS:Time:0.11 Deletes:0 Incoming:0 Removes:0 XFers:0 Alerts:0 Alarms:0 Reports:0  
11/19/2010 09:24:03 AM - SYSTEM THOLD STATS: Time:0.0016 Tholds:0 Hosts:0  
11/19/2010 09:24:03 AM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:1.4188 Method:cmd.php Processes:1 Threads:N/A Hosts:9 HostsPerProcess:9 DataSources:19 RRDsProcessed:12  
11/19/2010 09:23:02 AM - SYSTEM SYSLOG STATS:Time:0.11 Deletes:0 Incoming:0 Removes:0 XFers:0 Alerts:0 Alarms:0 Reports:0  
11/19/2010 09:23:02 AM - SYSTEM THOLD STATS: Time:0.0016 Tholds:0 Hosts:0  
11/19/2010 09:23:02 AM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:1.0998 Method:cmd.php Processes:1 Threads:N/A Hosts:9 HostsPerProcess:9 DataSources:17 RRDsProcessed:12  
11/19/2010 09:22:02 AM - SYSTEM SYSLOG STATS:Time:0.11 Deletes:0 Incoming:0 Removes:0 XFers:0 Alerts:0 Alarms:0 Reports:0  
11/19/2010 09:22:02 AM - SYSTEM THOLD STATS: Time:0.0015 Tholds:0 Hosts:0  

yuval_ba
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:19 am

Re: Search HowTo change the Poller and Cron Interval

#2 Post by yuval_ba » Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:55 pm

First of all, you do not need to set the crontab job to 1min as well, actually you should leave it on 5min and only set the poller interval to 1min
Read this post about 1min polling:
http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=23885

Post Reply