Waiting on 1/1 pollers.

Post support questions that directly relate to Linux/Unix operating systems.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
User avatar
thomasN
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:29 pm

#16 Post by thomasN » Fri Nov 19, 2004 5:58 pm

Wow! Now it's actually working! I however detected some two problems before I got it running which both resulted in the waiting for poller 1/1 problem:

1. Path to cactid was wrong after the reinstall. I put the new binary in a new directory (./configure --prefix=/usr/local/cactid_086c). I detected this by running php poller.php through truss. Maybe this could be detected and reported as an error.

2. Problem connecting to the database. I had added the IP-adress of the cacti-machine and not the DNS-name into privileges in MySQL. Can't really figure this one out since most of the queries worked but I noticed some access denied in the mysql.log (running mysqld with --log option).

I corrected both of them and now it works and as I can see now all graphs are updated.

I'm running cactid with 1 process and 5 threads. It takes ~ 120 seconds to get through the 6182 rrds and 137 hosts.

Still problem displaying graphs in graph view though. I can see the graphs and that they are updated with current data when I look at the through graph management but it's completely blank when I expand the host in the tree and press CPU usage or Interface Traffic for instance.

This does not apply to all hosts, just some. Most are working. And as I said, even those who doesn't work I can view in graph management.

All those who doesn't work are all within one tree (in subtrees of one tree).

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#17 Post by TheWitness » Sat Nov 20, 2004 6:25 pm

Send pictures home. Also, goto Graphs and edit the graphs in question. Turn on Debug and tell me what it says.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

User avatar
thomasN
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:29 pm

#18 Post by thomasN » Mon Nov 22, 2004 2:41 am

Mail sent...

User avatar
thomasN
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:29 pm

#19 Post by thomasN » Fri Nov 26, 2004 3:41 am

No ideas... ?

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#20 Post by TheWitness » Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:21 am

Thomas,

If you turn off Expand Hosts, do your graphs show up? Or, when you simply select the host?

Larry
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

User avatar
thomasN
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:29 pm

#21 Post by thomasN » Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:44 am

No that doesn't help.

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#22 Post by TheWitness » Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:56 am

You will have to dump your database and send it my way. Via e-mail again.

Larry
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#23 Post by TheWitness » Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:58 am

Also, check your apache error.log file. You may have a permissions problem as well. I don't think so, but you should check it out.

Larry
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

User avatar
thomasN
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:29 pm

#24 Post by thomasN » Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:31 am

Nothing in httpd-error. I have sent you a mail with URL to mysqldump of the database.

User avatar
thomasN
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:29 pm

#25 Post by thomasN » Sun Nov 28, 2004 5:10 am

The solution to this problem was given to me by Larry (TheWitness) last friday.
Thomas,

The easiest way to fix this is simply to edit each host in the Tree view
area and resave. The problem will self heal as you save. I do not know how
this could have happened. What changes were made to the system prior to
this happening?

Larry
The answer to the question was an upgrade from 0.8.5a to 0.8.6c.

paul-lmi
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 7:29 pm

#26 Post by paul-lmi » Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:57 pm

i was getting the same exact issue when running via poller.php from either cactid OR cmd.php .

the weird part was that running cmd.php manually worked flawlessly.

as a temp workaround, i have cron doing just that.

as for what i'm running

i'm on 0.8.6j for cacti, and the problem seemed to spur after upgrading php and mysql to the 5.x versions of each.

no errors related to this show up in apache's error logs.

i'm utterly stumped on this one, as the debug logging ins't actually being switched into debug mode with that setting (and i found that this is a known bug, but couldn't find a resolution).

any insight is appreciated.

update: my messages.log is littered with messages like:

Code: Select all

Sep 25 19:44:50 logmeinwiki Cacti[24266]: CMDPHP: ERROR: SQL Assoc Failed "select  poller_output.output,  poller_output.time,  poller_output.local_data_id,  poller_item.rrd_path,  poller_item.rrd_name,  poller_item.rrd_num  from (poller_output,poller_item)  where (poller_output.local_data_id=poller_item.local_data_id and poller_output.rrd_name=poller_item.rrd_name)  LIMIT 10000"

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#27 Post by gandalf » Mon Oct 01, 2007 11:08 am

Please make sure that cacti is fully patched
Reinhard

paul-lmi
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 7:29 pm

#28 Post by paul-lmi » Mon Oct 01, 2007 11:15 am

gandalf wrote:Please make sure that cacti is fully patched
Reinhard
this wasn't from an update, i installed fresh. as you indicating that the current download does not include these patches?


paul-lmi
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 7:29 pm

#30 Post by paul-lmi » Mon Oct 01, 2007 4:55 pm

ok, fully patched, same result. any other thoughts?

i'll also add, running cmd.php on it's own with no parameters seems to work fine, it's only when i run poller.php that it gets into the loop of sql queries.

Post Reply