Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Mon Jul 16, 2018 9:09 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: RRD not being created when adding a data source.
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:27 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Overland Park, KS
When adding a data source (in this particular case, ethernet traffic), it populates the data source path correctly, but does not create the RRD file in the requisite directory. Naturally, the graphing portion of the show has a problem with this.

Is there any way to debug this so that I can see why this file isn't being created?

Running on Debian Squeeze.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RRD not being created when adding a data source.
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:27 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Overland Park, KS
Looked into the debug mode, and it's putting a trailing slash at the end of the RRD creation script. Manually created the file and set the permissions, but now poller doesn't seem to want to poll that one for SNMP, despite SNMP looking great in the debug mode in all the data source and device pages. It's polling other devices for SNMP just fine, and polling that particular device just fine on some JMX queries, but SNMP isn't showing up in the logs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RRD not being created when adding a data source.
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 2:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 12:45 am
Posts: 28
Ive having the same issue running 088a on Centos 6.0. When i add a new graph it complains that it cant create the rrd file. If i turn debug on data sources i see the same trailing slash as you mentioned. If i manually enter the rrdtool create command it creates the file as expected. However graphs always show data values of -nan as the file isnt being written to by the poller. Permissions on the rrd files and directories appear to be correct and there are no suspicious messages in cacti.log.

Working through the debugging guide, if i look for applicable entries in the poller cache i see none. Even if i rebuild the poller cache, my new sources are not included.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RRD not being created when adding a data source.
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2012 3:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 7:56 am
Posts: 6
I've got the exact same problem as you two (sorry about saying "me too"), more info : it occurs only on a custom SNMP data query I created, other graphs look fine.
I'm running cacti-0.8.7e and can't really try a lot of deleting and reinstalling (lots of other important graphs I can't afford loosing)

Tried the Downed Host Detection for the host, switched it from "SNMP" to "Ping or SNMP" and every other settings, didn't help, actually I ran through the whole debugging section on gandalf's sig ;)

I still believe it's XML related for me, even though the verbose query shows every data correctly (I put all output fields in input except one to try, and reloading query shows the counters correctly)

I'd be happy to present any info that can help


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RRD not being created when adding a data source.
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2012 8:40 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22461
Location: Muenster, Germany
ianbeyer wrote:
When adding a data source (in this particular case, ethernet traffic), it populates the data source path correctly, but does not create the RRD file in the requisite directory. Naturally, the graphing portion of the show has a problem with this.

Is there any way to debug this so that I can see why this file isn't being created?

Running on Debian Squeeze.

The actual rrd file will be created during polling cycle:
- when host is NOT detected as down
- when there is a polling entry related to that rrd file in the poller command table
- when the polling of that entry actually occurs and delivers any result
Cacti will then try to store data into rrd file. It will check, whether that rrd file exists and create it if not. Hope this helps
R.

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RRD not being created when adding a data source.
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2012 9:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 7:56 am
Posts: 6
gandalf wrote:
The actual rrd file will be created during polling cycle:
- when host is NOT detected as down
- when there is a polling entry related to that rrd file in the poller command table
- when the polling of that entry actually occurs and delivers any result

In my case it does help, since the file is not created, it means one of the steps fails :

My host is definitely UP (other graphs are OK plus no sign of "host down" in the logs)
No polling entry in the poller table (I guess it's the poller cache ? and no sign of my graph there)
which could be because the "polling (doesn't) deliver any result" :I tried to do a rrdtool fetch for this rrd (the one that I created manually and doesn't get updated) and it gets ALL nan ==> my query is wrong then ?

In case i'm right (about me being wrong ^^) I attached the related xml file and verbose answer for anyone who wants a look at it (although it is worth mentioning I tried turning every output source (except one) to input and the query showed my counters fine, and the SNMPwalk works fine as well)

Thank you gandalf (never thought I'd say that in my life)


Attachments:
File comment: Sanitized result of verbose query
Verbose_answer.txt [112.54 KiB]
Downloaded 152 times
File comment: faulty SNMP query XML ?
test_OID.xml [2.49 KiB]
Downloaded 136 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RRD not being created when adding a data source.
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 2:06 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22461
Location: Muenster, Germany
Wow, that's a quite "tricky" XML query. The results look pretty. But as long as there's no data in the poller cache, cacti won't even try to poll that OID. Now the question arises: why is the poller entry missing. And honestly, from remote I can't see a reason for this. Sorry
R.

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RRD not being created when adding a data source.
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:57 pm
Posts: 9
I'm pretty sure you all missed the "checkbox" in your Data Query section "Associated Data Templates". It took me 2 days to realize that. I'm posting only for the records, if anyone see this post searching on google can have an idea...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RRD not being created when adding a data source.
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:00 pm
Posts: 1
Quote:
I'm pretty sure you all missed the "checkbox" in your Data Query section "Associated Data Templates". It took me 2 days to realize that. I'm posting only for the records, if anyone see this post searching on google can have an idea...


My. God. Could have found this earlier and saved 2-3 hours of poking around. Yes, there is a checkbox WAAAAAY to the right in the Data Query section of the associated data templates. If you do not tick the box, then cacti will not poll the oids. Also, the oids and entries will not get entered into the poller table either. Also it will not create the rrd files.

So, if your cacti is not making the rrd files for your new template, and you have looked and SNMP oids are not being queried, it may very well be because of this missing tickbox. Man alive.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group