Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Thu Feb 21, 2019 1:38 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [SOLVED] warning - snmp timeout for Juniper routers
PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:56 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am
Posts: 88
Hello All,

I have just upgraded two virtual redhat servers from cacti-1.1.28 to cacti-1.1.38.
We have 422 devices, several of which are Juniper routers. We have 3540 data sources.
The cacti log file reports many of our datasources as "WARNING SNMP timeout detected..."
We got none of these errors when running cacti-1.1.28 - the log file was clean.

the poller is cacti-spine-1.1.38 and the rrdtool ver is 1.5.5.

Another problem we are having is that graphs are being created, but with gaps when we zoom in.
We did not have this issue either.

All our permissions appear correct, etc.

Any idea on where to look to trouble shoot this issue?

Thanks,
Eholz1


Last edited by eholz1 on Tue Feb 19, 2019 12:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cacti log reports warning - snmp timeout for Juniper rou
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 6:39 am
Posts: 14
Im seeing this issue with super old version 0.8.8a
Only diff. All my old cisco gear is fine.. SOME of my Juniper gear is fine..

I have a new Cacti setup but not in production .. Will test with it soon, and share back.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [SOLVED] warning - snmp timeout for Juniper routers
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:03 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am
Posts: 88
Hello,

I was able to solve this problem with a variety of changes.
The solution revolves around poller cycle, preset upgrade/update profiles, poller cron cycle,
and number of graphs being created for interfaces.

The juniper device can have a bunch of interfaces, but we only really needed to graph
two of them not 40!

I created a new preset profile for 30 second polling, and use it on the "Interface Traffic"
datasource and the "Interface Traffice 30sec" datasource.

I have the poller set for 30sec, with 6 processes and 14 threads, cron at 5min

eholz1


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group