[SOLVED]Cacti graphs with gray sections

Post support questions that directly relate to Linux/Unix operating systems.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
eholz1
Cacti User
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am

[SOLVED]Cacti graphs with gray sections

#1 Post by eholz1 » Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:39 pm

Hello Cacti Forum,
I have got 1.1.38 running and graphing more or less.
I had gaps in graphs, I was getting poller timeouts - I was able to fix the timeout issue by setting poller
threads to a value related to my cpu cores, and the processes to a value reccomended by cacti docs on spine values.

I am getting proper graphs on some devices, but others that were "proper" are now showing breaks in the
traffic and filled by gray bars in the data gaps.

I am using rrdtool 1.5.5 - any idea where to look in this problem?

thanks,

eholz1
Last edited by eholz1 on Wed Dec 05, 2018 6:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eholz1
Cacti User
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am

Re: Cacti graphs with gray sections

#2 Post by eholz1 » Wed Dec 05, 2018 6:08 pm

[SOLVED] - found the problem but not the fix.
It turns out that the graphs that are all gray - are being drawn
from rrd files (owned by cacti) but ARE NOT BEING UPDATED.
The poller runs, but does not update the rrd files.

I have this case everywhere - some rrd files are being updated, but others are not.
The rrd files have been copied from another server.

Any Ideas on this??

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2667
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: [SOLVED]Cacti graphs with gray sections

#3 Post by netniV » Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:43 am

Make sure all the file permissions are the same and that both the poller and website users have read/write access to the rra folder and any contents.

Post Reply