Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Tue Jun 25, 2019 10:50 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: [SOLVED] cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd files
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:59 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am
Posts: 122
Hello Again,

I have installed the new version of Cacti 1.2.0.
I am having poller problems - mainly no rrd files being reliably
created, and poller timeouts - greater than 298 sec, etc.

I managed to solve all these problems in version 1.1.38, with
a file in /etc/cron.d called "cacti" with the appropriate paths, etc.
In .38 I was using a 5min cron time with a poller time of 30 sec.
and the rra dir and the log dir were owned by cacti.
spine was the correct permissions, etc.

I followed the same rules for configuration of cacti-1.2.0,
which means rra is owned by cacti, and log is owned by cacti.
I am wondering if these are the correct values/permissions for 1.2.0.
Since I am only getting some graphs. and the empty graph warning shows
the rrd file as [Root]. I have the poller set for 30sec, and cron job runs every 5 min.

Any ideas or corrections/suggestions here?


Last edited by eholz1 on Thu Jan 24, 2019 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:01 pm 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am
Posts: 753
There is a nasty bug that impacts new installs. If you download the develop branch, the problem should not appear. The 1.2.1 release will cure I think.

_________________
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:53 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am
Posts: 122
Hello and Thanks for reply,
I will try to find the develop version, and give it a shot.

Thanks,

eholz1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: [SOLVED]New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 6:56 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am
Posts: 122
Osiris wrote:
There is a nasty bug that impacts new installs. If you download the develop branch, the problem should not appear. The 1.2.1 release will cure I think.


yES - This was it, am running the develop branch and it works (mostly).
One anomaly, clicking on "Data Collectors" is supposed to open the pollers.php page - it does not.
I just have to enter http://<server>/cacti/pollers.php, and I can get to it that way.

Thanks for the helpful tip.

eholz1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:06 pm 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am
Posts: 2523
That sounds more like you are having either PHP or JavaScript errors. Check your browser console for the latter.

_________________
Official Cacti Developer

Cacti Resources:
Cacti Website (including releases)
Cacti Issues
Cacti Development Releases
Cacti Development Documentation

My resources:
How to submit Pull Requests
Development Wiki and How To's
Updated NetSNMP Memory template for Cacti 1.x
Cisco SFP template for Cacti 0.8.8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:15 pm 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am
Posts: 2523
Check what your cacti file in /etc/cron.d is set to. There should be a user after the timings but before the php statement.

Likihood is that is set to root.

_________________
Official Cacti Developer

Cacti Resources:
Cacti Website (including releases)
Cacti Issues
Cacti Development Releases
Cacti Development Documentation

My resources:
How to submit Pull Requests
Development Wiki and How To's
Updated NetSNMP Memory template for Cacti 1.x
Cisco SFP template for Cacti 0.8.8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 11:46 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am
Posts: 122
Hello Cacti developers,

Thanks for the feedback. It seems that my basic problem is that device rrd files
are not being updated. I am running php ver 5.6 from the redhat software collection,
as well as mysql 5.7.xxx.

Poller is set for 30sec, and cron at 5min

I am using spine-1.2.0 and rrdtool-1.7.0

I have a cron file in /etc/cron.d called "cacti" -
*/5 * * * * cacti /opt/rh/rh-php56/root/usr/bin/php /opt/rh/httpd24/root/var/www/cacti-develop/poller.php --force >
/opt/rh/httpd24/root/var/www/cacti-develop/log/poller.log 2>&1

As you can see I am writing to a poller log file te see if anything is happening.
here is the output in the poller.log:
2019/01/14 08:37:02 - SYSTEM STATS: Time:1.3289 Method:spine Processes:16 Threads:8 Hosts:2 HostsPerProcess:1 DataSources:0 RRDsProcessed:0

This is a test environment with only two devices. I have used rrdtool info to check for data, no dice.

It must be a permissions issue, but I have not found the "error" yet.
any suggestions? spine is owned by root, and chmod a+s, etc

eholz1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:27 pm 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am
Posts: 2523
And the user "cacti" has the appropriate permissions to the rra, scripts and other folders? Do you have apparmour or selinux enabled?

_________________
Official Cacti Developer

Cacti Resources:
Cacti Website (including releases)
Cacti Issues
Cacti Development Releases
Cacti Development Documentation

My resources:
How to submit Pull Requests
Development Wiki and How To's
Updated NetSNMP Memory template for Cacti 1.x
Cisco SFP template for Cacti 0.8.8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:56 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am
Posts: 122
Hello and thanks,

I have the rra,log folders owned by user "cacti"
The poller "thinks" it is updating rrd files - but no rrd's are being created
Here is a view of the "graph" it is trying to update:
Attachment:
The attachment rrd-graph-error-1.2.1.JPG is no longer available


notice that the RRA folder has "Root" specified.
I also tried running the poller thru cron as root - still no graphs or files.
I am using rrdtool-1.7.0 and spine 1.2.0

I have also set the rrd directory so "all" can write to it.
the scripts folder and the snmp_queries folders are owned by apache:apache.

Thanks,
I am open to all suggestions.

eholz1


Attachments:
rrd-graph-error-1.2.1.JPG
rrd-graph-error-1.2.1.JPG [ 22.19 KiB | Viewed 576 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:10 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Posts: 2765
Location: B/CS Texas
As netniV asked, did you disable selinux?

_________________
Report a bug
Download Releases
1.X Compatible Plugins


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:16 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am
Posts: 122
Yes - selinux is disabled as well. and iptables, etc

I have found out something that I think is strange. I have installed the cacti-develop
and if I let it "discover" devices, it actually makes graphs with data.

If I go to "Devices" and add a device (which is not in the discovered list), add it, it reponds to
snmp but will not draw any graphs or create rrd files.

I will continue to check things over,

any ideas?
Thanks,

eholz1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 8:09 pm 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am
Posts: 753
For sure permissions. Lot's of articles all over the place talk about this on this forum.

_________________
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:59 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:45 pm
Posts: 240
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Check the permissions on the RRA files that work and compare to the manually installed ones.

_________________
See the Cacti 1.x templates I use at: http://www.camerabob.com/cacti

Live: Cacti 1.2.3 @ CentOS 7-6.1810.2.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4

Test: Cacti 1.2.4 @ CentOS 7-6.1810.2.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 10:34 am 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am
Posts: 753
Right, and you can force the poller to run by hand:

Quote:
su -
su cacti
cd /where/cacti/lives
php -q poller.php --force


If you do that between poller runs, you should see a lot of RRDfile updates.

Lastly, review the poller cache and ensure that those poller items for the devices are actually there.

_________________
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 2:53 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am
Posts: 122
Hello Osiris,

thanks for the troubleshooting tip - I will try it. Since my last post I have discovered something... I think.
I am using the cacti-develop branch. was using cacti-spine-1.2.0 as the poller. Under all conditions,
no rrd files were updating (??) and no graphs. So... I tried using cmd.php as the poller. I let the system run for
24 hrs -(I have only two test devices) - and my graphs exist and they have data.

So I switched from cmd.php to cacti-spine-1.1.38, and I am getting graphs and data.
The permissions for both spine binaries were/are the same.

It seems that cacti-spine-1.2.0 is not working.

I will run the system for awhile with the older version of spine.

Thanks,
eholz1


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group