[SOLVED] cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd files

Post support questions that directly relate to Linux/Unix operating systems.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
eholz1
Cacti User
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am

[SOLVED] cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd files

#1 Post by eholz1 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:59 pm

Hello Again,

I have installed the new version of Cacti 1.2.0.
I am having poller problems - mainly no rrd files being reliably
created, and poller timeouts - greater than 298 sec, etc.

I managed to solve all these problems in version 1.1.38, with
a file in /etc/cron.d called "cacti" with the appropriate paths, etc.
In .38 I was using a 5min cron time with a poller time of 30 sec.
and the rra dir and the log dir were owned by cacti.
spine was the correct permissions, etc.

I followed the same rules for configuration of cacti-1.2.0,
which means rra is owned by cacti, and log is owned by cacti.
I am wondering if these are the correct values/permissions for 1.2.0.
Since I am only getting some graphs. and the empty graph warning shows
the rrd file as [Root]. I have the poller set for 30sec, and cron job runs every 5 min.

Any ideas or corrections/suggestions here?
Last edited by eholz1 on Thu Jan 24, 2019 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Osiris
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am

Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file

#2 Post by Osiris » Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:01 pm

There is a nasty bug that impacts new installs. If you download the develop branch, the problem should not appear. The 1.2.1 release will cure I think.
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.

eholz1
Cacti User
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am

Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file

#3 Post by eholz1 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:53 pm

Hello and Thanks for reply,
I will try to find the develop version, and give it a shot.

Thanks,

eholz1

eholz1
Cacti User
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am

[SOLVED]New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd

#4 Post by eholz1 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 6:56 pm

Osiris wrote:There is a nasty bug that impacts new installs. If you download the develop branch, the problem should not appear. The 1.2.1 release will cure I think.
yES - This was it, am running the develop branch and it works (mostly).
One anomaly, clicking on "Data Collectors" is supposed to open the pollers.php page - it does not.
I just have to enter http://<server>/cacti/pollers.php, and I can get to it that way.

Thanks for the helpful tip.

eholz1

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2808
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file

#5 Post by netniV » Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:06 pm

That sounds more like you are having either PHP or JavaScript errors. Check your browser console for the latter.

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2808
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file

#6 Post by netniV » Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:15 pm

Check what your cacti file in /etc/cron.d is set to. There should be a user after the timings but before the php statement.

Likihood is that is set to root.

eholz1
Cacti User
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am

Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file

#7 Post by eholz1 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 11:46 am

Hello Cacti developers,

Thanks for the feedback. It seems that my basic problem is that device rrd files
are not being updated. I am running php ver 5.6 from the redhat software collection,
as well as mysql 5.7.xxx.

Poller is set for 30sec, and cron at 5min

I am using spine-1.2.0 and rrdtool-1.7.0

I have a cron file in /etc/cron.d called "cacti" -
*/5 * * * * cacti /opt/rh/rh-php56/root/usr/bin/php /opt/rh/httpd24/root/var/www/cacti-develop/poller.php --force >
/opt/rh/httpd24/root/var/www/cacti-develop/log/poller.log 2>&1

As you can see I am writing to a poller log file te see if anything is happening.
here is the output in the poller.log:
2019/01/14 08:37:02 - SYSTEM STATS: Time:1.3289 Method:spine Processes:16 Threads:8 Hosts:2 HostsPerProcess:1 DataSources:0 RRDsProcessed:0

This is a test environment with only two devices. I have used rrdtool info to check for data, no dice.

It must be a permissions issue, but I have not found the "error" yet.
any suggestions? spine is owned by root, and chmod a+s, etc

eholz1

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2808
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file

#8 Post by netniV » Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:27 pm

And the user "cacti" has the appropriate permissions to the rra, scripts and other folders? Do you have apparmour or selinux enabled?

eholz1
Cacti User
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am

Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file

#9 Post by eholz1 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:56 pm

Hello and thanks,

I have the rra,log folders owned by user "cacti"
The poller "thinks" it is updating rrd files - but no rrd's are being created
Here is a view of the "graph" it is trying to update:
The attachment rrd-graph-error-1.2.1.JPG is no longer available
notice that the RRA folder has "Root" specified.
I also tried running the poller thru cron as root - still no graphs or files.
I am using rrdtool-1.7.0 and spine 1.2.0

I have also set the rrd directory so "all" can write to it.
the scripts folder and the snmp_queries folders are owned by apache:apache.

Thanks,
I am open to all suggestions.

eholz1
Attachments
rrd-graph-error-1.2.1.JPG
rrd-graph-error-1.2.1.JPG (22.19 KiB) Viewed 1091 times

cigamit
Developer
Posts: 2780
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: B/CS Texas
Contact:

Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file

#10 Post by cigamit » Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:10 pm

As netniV asked, did you disable selinux?

eholz1
Cacti User
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am

Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file

#11 Post by eholz1 » Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:16 am

Yes - selinux is disabled as well. and iptables, etc

I have found out something that I think is strange. I have installed the cacti-develop
and if I let it "discover" devices, it actually makes graphs with data.

If I go to "Devices" and add a device (which is not in the discovered list), add it, it reponds to
snmp but will not draw any graphs or create rrd files.

I will continue to check things over,

any ideas?
Thanks,

eholz1

User avatar
Osiris
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am

Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file

#12 Post by Osiris » Wed Jan 16, 2019 8:09 pm

For sure permissions. Lot's of articles all over the place talk about this on this forum.
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.

User avatar
camerabob
Cacti User
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Contact:

Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file

#13 Post by camerabob » Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:59 am

Check the permissions on the RRA files that work and compare to the manually installed ones.
See the Cacti 1.x templates I use at: http://www.camerabob.com/cacti

Live: Cacti 1.2.3 @ CentOS 7-6.1810.2.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Flowview @ 2.1
Mactrack @ 4.2
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4

Test: Cacti 1.2.5 @ CentOS 7-6.1810.2.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4

User avatar
Osiris
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am

Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file

#14 Post by Osiris » Fri Jan 18, 2019 10:34 am

Right, and you can force the poller to run by hand:
su -
su cacti
cd /where/cacti/lives
php -q poller.php --force
If you do that between poller runs, you should see a lot of RRDfile updates.

Lastly, review the poller cache and ensure that those poller items for the devices are actually there.
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.

eholz1
Cacti User
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am

Re: New Install of cacti 1.2.0 - poller timeout, no rrd file

#15 Post by eholz1 » Fri Jan 18, 2019 2:53 pm

Hello Osiris,

thanks for the troubleshooting tip - I will try it. Since my last post I have discovered something... I think.
I am using the cacti-develop branch. was using cacti-spine-1.2.0 as the poller. Under all conditions,
no rrd files were updating (??) and no graphs. So... I tried using cmd.php as the poller. I let the system run for
24 hrs -(I have only two test devices) - and my graphs exist and they have data.

So I switched from cmd.php to cacti-spine-1.1.38, and I am getting graphs and data.
The permissions for both spine binaries were/are the same.

It seems that cacti-spine-1.2.0 is not working.

I will run the system for awhile with the older version of spine.

Thanks,
eholz1

Post Reply