Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:13 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Error about 1.2.0, but I am upgrading from 1.1.37 to 1.2
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 7:43 pm 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am
Posts: 2523
That looks like the 1.1.37 install wizard, not the 1.2.x one. Again, I think this comes down to your webroot path and apache configuration. This is another reason why I like to be absolute rather than using the symlink shortcut. After all, switching between versions using the symlink may sound cool and easy, but often there are database changes that mean you shouldnt' revert to an earlier version (a column was removed or added which can cause issues).

I use Git personally to do my upgrades rather than system packages and always have. So, switching versions is as easy as specifying a release tag. But even with that, I still don't downgrade any production system unless there's been no database mods because of issues that could arise.

_________________
Official Cacti Developer

Cacti Resources:
Cacti Website (including releases)
Cacti Issues
Cacti Development Releases
Cacti Development Documentation

My resources:
How to submit Pull Requests
Development Wiki and How To's
Updated NetSNMP Memory template for Cacti 1.x
Cisco SFP template for Cacti 0.8.8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error about 1.2.0, but I am upgrading from 1.1.37 to 1.2
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 1:21 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:05 am
Posts: 279
I had minor progress on this but it is still getting stuck on something. I change the Apache conf file to point directly to /usr/local/cacti-1.2.1 and was then taken to the 1.2.1 install wizard but then it gets stuck on this screen. Hitting "Next" causes a progress bar at the top of the screen but then I am back on this page. No combination of the sliders (assuming both of them to the left means that I don't want to do a scan) will allow the upgrade to get past this screen.
Attachment:
install.png
install.png [ 32.33 KiB | Viewed 198 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error about 1.2.0, but I am upgrading from 1.1.37 to 1.2
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 7:07 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am
Posts: 2523
OK. Get to this point in your browser, hit next and see if there are any console errors. Additionally, if not, run the following command in MariaDB/MySQL, then remove any log/install*.log, then return to the browser and hit next. Once the page reloads once, send me the log/install-complete.log to [email protected] so I can review what is occurring.

Code:
mysql> REPLACE INTO settings VALUES ('log_install','4')


Once that has been sent, replace the 4 with a 0 and it will turn logging off again (4 is quite high level of logging so you don't want that on permanently for every upgrade).

_________________
Official Cacti Developer

Cacti Resources:
Cacti Website (including releases)
Cacti Issues
Cacti Development Releases
Cacti Development Documentation

My resources:
How to submit Pull Requests
Development Wiki and How To's
Updated NetSNMP Memory template for Cacti 1.x
Cisco SFP template for Cacti 0.8.8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error about 1.2.0, but I am upgrading from 1.1.37 to 1.2
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 11:10 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:05 am
Posts: 279
Sorry for misunderstanding the one comment, but where would I look for any console errors?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error about 1.2.0, but I am upgrading from 1.1.37 to 1.2
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:11 pm 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am
Posts: 753
In your browser, press F12, and look for the Console tab.

_________________
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error upgrading from 1.1.37 to 1.2.1
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 4:02 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:05 am
Posts: 279
I don't know how I did it, but I finally got past that screen. Some combination of moving the sliders and putting a random IP in the box got the install to move on.

Now I have an issue making spine 1.2.1:
Code:
/usr/local/src/cacti-spine-1.2.1> sudo make install
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I./config     -I/usr/include/net-snmp -I/usr/include/net-snmp/.. -I/usr/include/mysql -g -O2 -MT sql.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/sql.Tpo -c -o sql.o sql.c
mv -f .deps/sql.Tpo .deps/sql.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I./config     -I/usr/include/net-snmp -I/usr/include/net-snmp/.. -I/usr/include/mysql -g -O2 -MT spine.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/spine.Tpo -c -o spine.o spine.c
spine.c: In function ‘main’:
spine.c:663:2: internal compiler error: Illegal instruction
  until.tv_sec = (time_t)(set.poller_interval + begin_time - 0.2);
  ^~~~~
0xa2483f crash_signal
        ../../gcc-8.1.0/gcc/toplev.c:325
Please submit a full bug report,
with preprocessed source if appropriate.
Please include the complete backtrace with any bug report.
See <https://gcc.gnu.org/bugs/> for instructions.
make: *** [spine.o] Error 1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error upgrading from 1.1.37 to 1.2.1
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:53 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am
Posts: 2523
I wonder if it is because gcc is now disliking the use of a keyword as a variable name. gcc 8 must be bleeding edge stuff as I only have 7.3 on my Ubuntu installation.

However, to make sure, I've made the following change so see if it works for you:
Code:
diff --git a/spine.c b/spine.c
index 03edcb9..bb7c45a 100644
--- a/spine.c
+++ b/spine.c
@@ -198,7 +198,7 @@ int main(int argc, char *argv[]) {
        int device_threads;
        sem_t thread_init_sem;
        int a_threads_value;
-       struct timespec until;
+       struct timespec until_spec;

        #ifdef HAVE_LCAP
        if (geteuid() == 0) {
@@ -660,8 +660,8 @@ int main(int argc, char *argv[]) {
        sem_init(&thread_init_sem, 0, 1);

        /* specify the point of timeout for timedwait semaphores */
-       until.tv_sec = (time_t)(set.poller_interval + begin_time - 0.2);
-       until.tv_nsec = 0;
+       until_spec.tv_sec = (time_t)(set.poller_interval + begin_time - 0.2);
+       until_spec.tv_nsec = 0;

        sem_getvalue(&active_threads, &a_threads_value);
        SPINE_LOG_MEDIUM(("DEBUG: Initial Value of Active Threads is %i", set.threads - a_threads_value));
@@ -742,7 +742,7 @@ int main(int argc, char *argv[]) {

                retry1:

-               if (sem_timedwait(&active_threads, &until) == -1) {
+               if (sem_timedwait(&active_threads, &until_spec) == -1) {
                        if (errno == ETIMEDOUT) {
                                SPINE_LOG(("ERROR: Spine Timed Out While Processing Devices Internal"));
                                canexit = TRUE;

_________________
Official Cacti Developer

Cacti Resources:
Cacti Website (including releases)
Cacti Issues
Cacti Development Releases
Cacti Development Documentation

My resources:
How to submit Pull Requests
Development Wiki and How To's
Updated NetSNMP Memory template for Cacti 1.x
Cisco SFP template for Cacti 0.8.8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error upgrading from 1.1.37 to 1.2.1
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 10:20 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:05 am
Posts: 279
No luck.

Code:
util-st-01:/usr/local/src/cacti-spine-1.2.1> sudo make install
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I./config     -I/usr/include/net-snmp -I/usr/include/net-snmp/.. -I/usr/include/mysql -g -O2 -MT spine.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/spine.Tpo -c -o spine.o spine.c
spine.c: In function ‘main’:
spine.c:663:2: internal compiler error: Illegal instruction
  until_spec.tv_sec = (time_t)(set.poller_interval + begin_time - 0.2);
  ^~~~~~~~~~
0xa2483f crash_signal
        ../../gcc-8.1.0/gcc/toplev.c:325
Please submit a full bug report,
with preprocessed source if appropriate.
Please include the complete backtrace with any bug report.
See <https://gcc.gnu.org/bugs/> for instructions.
make: *** [spine.o] Error 1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error upgrading from 1.1.37 to 1.2.1
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 11:06 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am
Posts: 2523
Then this sounds like a bug with the GCC more than a problem with the code and I can't do much about that I'm afraid. Try downgrading your GCC

_________________
Official Cacti Developer

Cacti Resources:
Cacti Website (including releases)
Cacti Issues
Cacti Development Releases
Cacti Development Documentation

My resources:
How to submit Pull Requests
Development Wiki and How To's
Updated NetSNMP Memory template for Cacti 1.x
Cisco SFP template for Cacti 0.8.8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error upgrading from 1.1.37 to 1.2.1
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 11:09 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:05 am
Posts: 279
Yes, an older version worked. Thanks for the help.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group