Uptime

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
DavidM
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:52 pm

Uptime

#1 Post by DavidM » Thu Apr 03, 2003 1:23 am

Anyone know how to graph uptime for both a RH 7.2 server and NT/2000 machine?

Any help would be appreciated.

User avatar
Burke
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 7:22 am
Location: Virginia, USA
Contact:

#2 Post by Burke » Thu Apr 03, 2003 1:17 pm

Write a script that parses the return from either of these OIDs. Then create a custom Data source that uses that script.

system.sysUpTime.0
host.hrSystem.hrSystemUptime.0

Theses should work for Win/Linux/Novell/Cisco, etc...

You would then need to parse the results. These are the values pulled from one of my servers:
Timeticks: (1728346) 4:48:03.4
Timeticks: (17352687) 2 days, 0:12:06.87
Burke - MCP+I, MCSE, MCSD, CNE, CCA, CCNA, LPIC-1
[url=http://www.technicalvalues.com]My Website[/url] ::[url=http://www.technicalvalues.net]Domain Registrations, SSL Certs, and Hosting[/url]

DavidM
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:52 pm

#3 Post by DavidM » Thu Apr 03, 2003 2:34 pm

The first OID you gave me returns data from my XP Pro machine, however the second OID for hrSystemUpTime returns 0 both on XP Pro and NT 4.0 Server.

??

DavidM
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:52 pm

#4 Post by DavidM » Thu Apr 03, 2003 5:11 pm

Also, what data would I need to parse exactly and what data items would I use on a graph? thank you.

rob

#5 Post by rob » Sat Apr 05, 2003 7:28 am

it would be best to get the uptime in minutes or even seconds. i know that win xp/nt have this feature (no idea how to use it thou) and linux.. hmm, you could do a script to convert the 'uptime' command's output to minutes, this would be quite simple i suppose. there must be a easier way thou. :-?

Luis Gardea
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 4:20 pm

#6 Post by Luis Gardea » Fri Apr 29, 2005 1:24 pm

rob wrote:it would be best to get the uptime in minutes or even seconds. i know that win xp/nt have this feature (no idea how to use it thou) and linux.. hmm, you could do a script to convert the 'uptime' command's output to minutes, this would be quite simple i suppose. there must be a easier way thou. :-?

Can you tell me how write the scrip to system uptime for cisco routers?

I have use the cacti-0.8.6d

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#7 Post by gandalf » Sun Oct 09, 2005 4:45 am

A solution can be found at http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=5951
Reinhard

Post Reply