Plotting Maximum Value Seen over a given period

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
UKS-Gavin
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:36 am

Plotting Maximum Value Seen over a given period

#1 Post by UKS-Gavin » Tue Dec 11, 2007 4:40 am

Hi Group,

I'm looking to size one of our internet connections properly and need to know the maximum figures that have been recorded over the selected period;

In this case the image below indicates what I would want, by looking at a given sample (in this case 1 day) I'd like to have a line plotted showing the maximum value that has been seen during that period.

Is this something that Cacti can do? If so, how would I do it.
Attachments
maxium value on graph.png
maxium value on graph.png (24.87 KiB) Viewed 2200 times
www.uksolutions.co.uk
www.ukshells.co.uk

UKS-Gavin
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:36 am

#2 Post by UKS-Gavin » Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:47 am

Anyone got any ideas on how to do this?
www.uksolutions.co.uk
www.ukshells.co.uk

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#3 Post by gandalf » Wed Dec 19, 2007 2:32 pm

Please try "Nth Percentile" of http://docs.cacti.net/node/525
Reinhard

UKS-Gavin
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:36 am

#4 Post by UKS-Gavin » Mon Dec 24, 2007 12:49 pm

Thanks, I'll post back letting you know how I get on. Merry Christmas.
www.uksolutions.co.uk
www.ukshells.co.uk

UKS-Gavin
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:36 am

#5 Post by UKS-Gavin » Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:25 am

gandalf wrote:Please try "Nth Percentile" of http://docs.cacti.net/node/525
Reinhard
Hi Reinhard,

So, I think I got this working using a HRULE of;

|HRULE: |99:bits:0:aggregate_max:2|

This is not ideal though as it doesn't give me the 100% figure. Is there another way to achieve this?

Also, we poll per minute and when trying to view the 1 Year graph Cacti fails to render it due to either code-execution time >60 seconds or due to memory (memory I've now increased to 1gb for PHP).

Any advice on this would be really useful. How are other people achieving this?

Thanks
Gavin
www.uksolutions.co.uk
www.ukshells.co.uk

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#6 Post by gandalf » Wed Jan 09, 2008 2:08 pm

VDEF support would be useful. But this is not yet supported with cacti (will come with the next release, I hope)
Reinhard

Post Reply