bulk conversion of 32 bit counters into 64 bit counters

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
kekti
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 4:10 am

bulk conversion of 32 bit counters into 64 bit counters

#1 Post by kekti » Mon Jun 22, 2009 4:16 am

Hi Forumusers,

I have a large number of data sources which currently use 32 bit counters and should use 64 bit counters instead.

Does anyone of you know a quick way to convert a huge number of data sources into 64 bit?

I googled around and found one method to convert into 64bit below:
Step1: Modify all traffic data sources: change "Maximum Value" to 1000000000
and change the "Output Type ID" to "In/Out Bits (64-bit Counters)"

Step2: Change maximum values in the rrds using rrdtool:

rrdtool tune <file.rrd> -a traffic_out:1.0e+09 -a traffic_in:1.0e+09


Step2, can easily be done for a lot of data sources in one go. Step1 on the other hand takes a lot of manual work. I browsed through the sql database of cacti to find the corresponding values. Unfortunately I couldn't find the output type ID and max value. Is this something that is registered in mysql?


Any help on automating the conversion is greatly appreciated.

thanks!

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#2 Post by BSOD2600 » Mon Jun 22, 2009 12:27 pm

Step 3: 32bit and 64bit counters use different OIDs. ifInOctets vs ifHCInOctets, etc.

kekti
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 4:10 am

#3 Post by kekti » Tue Jun 23, 2009 12:25 am

@BSOD2600: Do you know where (in mysql?) the value's are kept for step 1 and 3?

I hope to change them via another way than cacti. This can save me a huge pile of mouse clicks.

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#4 Post by gandalf » Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:01 pm

I understand your problem. Surely, this is doable. I tried so about a year ago. You won't want to here the full story on how I had to backout my broken change. And I _was_ under the false assumption to understand what I was doing.
Again. This _is_ doable.
But there will be no official support for that. You will have to figure out on your own. Sorry for that
Reinhard

kekti
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 4:10 am

#5 Post by kekti » Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:28 am

I really don't care about the historical data anymore at this point of time. I just want to bulk change all 32-bit counters to 64-bit. The cacti setup overhere is a mess. I have to dive into each data source just to check if it's a 32 or 64 bit counter and change them by hand.

Is there at least a way of selecting all 32 bit counters so I know which one to change and which one not to change?

thanks

bpowers7
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:32 am

Any update?

#6 Post by bpowers7 » Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:46 pm

I too am looking to make this change to about 800 items in my cacti config.
Would really love to understand an easy way to assocaite the "Output Type ID" of "In/Out Bits (64-bit Counters)" to these 800+ interfaces that currently are set to use the 32-bit version.

RRDTool will update the .rrd files, but what about the UI configuraiton?
Anyone had any luck crafting a SQL statement?
- BP7

kekti
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 4:10 am

#7 Post by kekti » Mon Sep 21, 2009 1:57 am

I have searched through the mysql database structure but unfrotunately can not find the correct field which contains the counter type.

What would happen if I would change all the 32bit counters via the UI to 64 and leave the rest alone? I don't mind that the historical data is not accurate, I just want the data in the future to be correct.

borrows123
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 2:11 am

#8 Post by borrows123 » Thu May 06, 2010 2:14 am

It not a big deal...
You should have to contact with your service provider...
They will give you the best solution.....
Consult them and solve it..
[url=http://www.testking.eu/exam/642-456.htm]testking 642-456[/url] Knowledge [url=http://www.testking.eu/exam/642-481.htm]testking 642-481[/url] Study [url=http://www.testking.eu/exam/642-504.htm]testking 642-504[/url] Help [url=http://www.testking.eu/exam/642-515.htm]testking 642-515[/url]

User avatar
Sirup
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 9:03 am

#9 Post by Sirup » Thu May 06, 2010 2:36 am

borrows123 wrote:It not a big deal...
You should have to contact with your service provider...
They will give you the best solution.....
Consult them and solve it..
Just delete this fake user please.

Nevertheless that this is a old topic: http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=36120
[size=67]Cacti version: 0.8.7e5
OS: FreeBSD 7.2
Plugin Architecture: 2.6
Plugins: aggregate 0.74, autom8 0.33, loginmod 1.0

[url=http://docs.cacti.net/manual:087]Official Cacti Documentation[/url]
[url=http://docs.cacti.net/manual:087:4_help.2_debugging#debugging]Gandalfs Official Debugging Help[/url]
[/size]

Post Reply