Spine using snmp v2c constantly returns "value: U"

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
Muffinman
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:48 am

Spine using snmp v2c constantly returns "value: U"

#1 Post by Muffinman » Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:45 am

Hi,

I am using Spine in version 0.8.7e and snmp v2. On many hosts I get a "value: U" instead of a real number. Like this:

11/13/2009 03:36:58 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] Host[346] DS[8057] SNMP: v2: myhost.mydomain.tld, dsname: traffic_out, oid: .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.16.4, value: 1469757011
11/13/2009 03:36:58 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] Host[346] DS[8057] SNMP: v2: myhost.mydomain.tld, dsname: traffic_in, oid: .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.10.4, value: 318850776
11/13/2009 03:36:58 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] Host[346] DS[8064] SNMP: v2: myhost.mydomain.tld, dsname: cache_objects, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.3495.1.3.1.7, value: U
11/13/2009 03:36:58 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] Host[346] DS[8065] SNMP: v2: myhost.mydomain.tld, dsname: http_data_received, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.3495.1.3.2.1.4, value: U

And when I perform a snmpwalk, everything is fine:

snmpwalk -v2c -c public myhost.mydomain.tld -Cc .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.16.4 IF-MIB::ifOutOctets.4 = Counter32: 1866147654
snmpwalk -v2c -c public myhost.mydomain.tld -Cc .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.10.4 IF-MIB::ifInOctets.4 = Counter32: 678136459
snmpwalk -v2c -c public myhost.mydomain.tld:3401 -Cc .1.3.6.1.4.1.3495.1.3.1.7 SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.3495.1.3.1.7.0 = Gauge32: 848284
snmpwalk -v2c -c public myhost.mydomain.tld:3401 -Cc .1.3.6.1.4.1.3495.1.3.1.4 SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.3495.1.3.1.4.0 = INTEGER: 4703

As you can see there are values available. I did enter the Squid Port 3401 in cacti.

I also opened a bug report as there is such a topic for snmp v3. http://bugs.cacti.net/view.php?id=1572

Has anybody a workaround?

TIA

Muffinman

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#2 Post by gandalf » Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:25 pm

I'm quite stumped.
Traffic should only be reported when querying against port 161 and squid data only on 3401. Did you enter the squid proxy directive?
R.

Muffinman
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:48 am

#3 Post by Muffinman » Wed Nov 18, 2009 4:06 am

The standard port is still 161.
In the data template for the squid things I set the port to 3401.

(Of course I allowed on the squid host the squid to report to port 3401 to my cacti host.)

Did this answer your question?

Thanks!

farkast21
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:08 am

Solution: Spine using snmp v2c constantly returns "valu

#4 Post by farkast21 » Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:13 am

Hi!

The solution is to change the SNMP OIDs to end with 0, as you see it in the snmpwalk results.
I had a similar problem too, and this helped in my case.

Muffinman
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:48 am

#5 Post by Muffinman » Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:01 am

I will check this when I am back from my holiday.
Thanks for this quick reply!

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#6 Post by gandalf » Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:19 pm

Muffinman wrote:In the data template for the squid things I set the port to 3401.
Please show us how you did this; a screenshot will do
R.

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14834
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#7 Post by TheWitness » Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:37 pm

Gandolf, there is a bug here. We should discuss the solution. I encountered it when doing the Lossless Reindexing patch. It's in the bowels of the poller_item table generation.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

Muffinman
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:48 am

#8 Post by Muffinman » Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:29 am

[quote="gandalf a screenshot will do
[/quote]

Here you are:
Attachments
cacti_squid_3401.JPG
partial screenshot with port number
cacti_squid_3401.JPG (68.06 KiB) Viewed 2363 times

Muffinman
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:48 am

#9 Post by Muffinman » Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:42 am

Mea culpa!

I have two squids and one has SNMP compiled in and the other has not.
I asked the wrong one.
When I ask the right one the output is like this:

Host[180] DS[7067] SNMP: v2: myhost.mydomain.tld, dsname: traffic_out, oid: .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.16.2, value: 2840026622
Host[180] DS[7067] SNMP: v2: myhost.mydomain.tld, dsname: traffic_in, oid: .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.10.2, value: 3978745110
Host[180] DS[10257] SNMP: v2: myhost.mydomain.tld, dsname: serv_requests, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.3495.1.3.2.1.10.0, value: 1617871
Host[180] DS[10253] SNMP: v2: myhost.mydomain.tld, dsname: http_data_saved, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.3495.1.3.2.2.1.10.5, value: 0
Host[180] DS[10254] SNMP: v2: myhost.mydomain.tld, dsname: http_data_sent, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.3495.1.3.2.1.5, value: 24170340
Host[180] DS[10255] SNMP: v2: myhost.mydomain.tld, dsname: musage_size, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.3495.1.3.1.3.0, value: 89264

When I ask the one without SNMP, I get the "value: U" -- and that doesn't suprise me...

Mea maxima culpa!

I will close my bug report myself...

Post Reply