No value from poller spine : value: U

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
Runan
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 2:08 am

No value from poller spine : value: U

#1 Post by Runan » Tue Sep 21, 2010 4:09 am

I am in cacti 0.8.7g version with the latest patchs and spine.

In my Fortigate template I have some counters, not all, which returns :
09/21/2010 10:52:04 AM - SPINE: Poller[0] Host[175] TH[1] DS[2623] SNMP: v2: host.mydomain.com, dsname: SMTPProcessed, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.12356.101.10.101.3.1.1, value: U
When I snmpwalk this oid it works ... :cry:

Some ideas ? :-?

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#2 Post by TheWitness » Tue Sep 21, 2010 7:46 am

Perform and snmpget on that value. Are the OID's different?

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

Runan
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 2:08 am

#3 Post by Runan » Tue Sep 21, 2010 8:12 am

TheWitness wrote:Perform and snmpget on that value. Are the OID's different?

TheWitness
If I copy/paste my snmpwalk oid I have :
Error in packet
Reason: (noSuchName) There is no such variable name in this MIB.
If I add ".1" to my OID I have the same value but my snmpget works ... do I need to add this chain in my data template ? Is it normal, can you explain ?

Thanks.

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#4 Post by TheWitness » Tue Sep 21, 2010 8:31 pm

A 'get' does not walk. You need to add the ".1" to the end of the OID. That's how it works. When you do a 'get', you have to provide the 'whole' OID.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

kaf3773
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:48 pm

Re: No value from poller spine : value: U

#5 Post by kaf3773 » Mon May 05, 2014 2:32 pm

Hi

I am having the same issue and i have tried all your debugging ideas but does not seem to work.

From cacti log i get this

SPINE: Poller[0] Host[4154] TH[1] DS[7411] SNMP: v2: ggsnyc, dsname: ggs_nyc_calls, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2879.2.2.2.1.2.1.2.1, value: U

Then i snmpwalk and snmpget the OID and this is what i get

snmpwalk -v2c -c admin ggsnyc .1.3.6.1.4.1.2879.2.2.2.1.2.1.2.1
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.2879.2.2.2.1.2.1.2.1 = INTEGER: 2917

snmpget -v2c -c admin ggsnyc .1.3.6.1.4.1.2879.2.2.2.1.2.1.2.1
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.2879.2.2.2.1.2.1.2.1 = INTEGER: 2961

then i run spine from the command prompt and here is what i get

SPINE: Using spine config file [spine.conf]
SPINE: Version 0.8.7i starting
05/05/2014 07:24:53 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] NOTE: Spine will support multithread device polling.
05/05/2014 07:24:53 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] NOTE: Spine is behaving in a 0.8.7g+ manner
05/05/2014 07:24:53 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] Host[0] TH[1] Total Time: 0.0023 Seconds
05/05/2014 07:24:53 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] Host[4154] TH[1] NOTE: There are '1' Polling Items for this Host
05/05/2014 07:24:53 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] Host[4154] TH[1] DS[7411] SNMP: v2: ggsnyc, dsname: ggs_nyc_calls, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2879.2.2.2.1.2.1.2.1, value: U
05/05/2014 07:24:53 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] Host[4154] TH[1] Total Time: 0.096 Seconds
05/05/2014 07:24:53 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] Time: 0.2175 s, Threads: 24, Hosts: 2

In addition when i change the poller to cmd.php the values show up and the graph works.

I will really appreciate your help in resolving this spine issue.

Thanks

Post Reply