Graph doesn't show exact value

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
Kirxx
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 2:12 am

Graph doesn't show exact value

#1 Post by Kirxx » Fri Oct 08, 2010 2:31 am

Hi, my problem is that Cacti doesn't show exact values in the graph.
I' am monitoring missed packets what's values are typically 1,2 or 3 but the graph
shows approximately 0,8 and 0,2 and the line never reach the exact value.

Please let me know how to configure cacti to show the exact values (1,2,3) not
0,8 or 0,2 what is totally false.

Thanks in advance.
Attachments
grap.png
graph
grap.png (19.78 KiB) Viewed 903 times

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14855
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Graph doesn't show exact value

#2 Post by TheWitness » Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:06 am

If you want exact numbers, use the 'Exact Numbers' preset with your gprints. On the graph, it's an entirely different issue. RRDtool is designed to aggregate and when it aggregates, it calculates Average, Min, and Max. That's what it does. You can choose to not aggregate by only having one RRA, but depending on how long you want to keep data, it can create very large RRD databases.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

Post Reply