Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Sat May 25, 2019 8:15 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SNMP connection error
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 7:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 12:58 am
Posts: 4
I've setup Cacti to graph various matrix on our ISP network. I've had good success graphing throughput, radio statistics, pings times etc, but I tried a new device lately that I can't get to even connect. It's a remote power monitor by Tycon Systems. http://tyconsystems.com/index.php/products/tycon-power/tpdin-monitor-web

All I get when setting up a device is SNMP error. I'm not versed enough in Cacti (or SNMP at this point) to troubleshoot very effectively. I've worked through a bunch of other problems but this basic connection error I can't seem to figure out.

Watching on a device between the host and the cacti server I can see the request and a reply from the device. It looks like this
Code:
17:29:00.676784 IP 10.1.1.18.48082 > 10.1.11.35.snmp:  C=******** GetRequest(28)  system.sysDescr.0
17:29:00.702519 IP 10.1.11.35.snmp > 10.1.1.18.48082:  C= GetResponse(33)  system.sysDescr.0.0=[noSuchObject]


So I know the basic connection details are right, IP address, port etc.

Can somebody point me in the right direction?

I've attached the mib and OID files from the Tycon manufacture site.


Attachments:
Tycon mib.txt [3.3 KiB]
Downloaded 82 times
Tycon OID.txt [1.56 KiB]
Downloaded 80 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SNMP connection error
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 1:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:31 am
Posts: 16
Don't know if you figured this out, but the device does not respond to any of the standard device info queries. It only responds to the items listed in the OID text file. Set it up as a icmp host, then create graphs for it using the OIDs and the "SNMP - Generic OID Template" as a base.

[email protected]:/etc# snmpget -v2c -c public 192.168.8.135 .iso.org.dod.internet.private.enterprises.17095.3.5.0
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.17095.3.5.0 = STRING: "0.0"

I just got one setup and it works ok so far. Got it graphing that result in Cacti.. Course I don't have it hooked to any voltage yet....

[email protected]:/etc# snmpget -v2c -c public 192.168.8.135 .iso.org.dod.internet.private.enterprises.17095.3.13.0
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.17095.3.13.0 = STRING: "36.3"
is internal temp.

/rh


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SNMP connection error
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 2:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 12:58 am
Posts: 4
You're making me happy. I had about given up on this forum. I'll study this in the am.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SNMP connection error
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 10:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 12:58 am
Posts: 4
I'm not able to make it work yet...

Code:
snmpget -v2c -c public 10.1.11.35 .iso.org.dod.internet.private.enterprises.17095.3.5.0
.iso.org.dod.internet.private.enterprises.17095.3.5.0: Unknown Object Identifier (org.dod.internet.private.enterprises.17095.3.5.0)


I'll keep studying this. Thanks for the help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SNMP connection error
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 10:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 12:58 am
Posts: 4
When I do an nmap scan against the device only port 80 is open. Is this an issue? I thought 161 would be open to accept snmp traffic. Is this normal?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SNMP connection error
PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2019 11:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:51 pm
Posts: 2
What version of cacti are you running? I am having the same issue with tpdin-monitor-web2 at work but not the one I have at home. I am running 0.8.7g at home and 0.8.7d at work. I wondered it it had to be the version of Cacti.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SNMP connection error
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 3:55 pm 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am
Posts: 2474
trendal wrote:
When I do an nmap scan against the device only port 80 is open. Is this an issue? I thought 161 would be open to accept snmp traffic. Is this normal?

Yes that is a problem as either there is no snmp daemon running or a firewall is blocking access to the port.

_________________
Official Cacti Developer

Cacti Resources:
Cacti Website (including releases)
Cacti Issues
Cacti Development Releases
Cacti Development Documentation

My resources:
How to submit Pull Requests
Development Wiki and How To's
Updated NetSNMP Memory template for Cacti 1.x
Cisco SFP template for Cacti 0.8.8


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group