Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Thu Jul 18, 2019 10:47 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [SOLVED]Adding data query to device through Automation Gui
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 4:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 3:49 pm
Posts: 2
Hi all,
I am a standard cacti user using the normal procedure adding devices via gui interfacce and creating
graphs..so no a big expert and I have never used cli script commands.
Now looking to automation feature on the Gui interface of 1.x versions and doing some test I was able to

1 discover devices using network and masK IP ADDRESS and add the se to the management
2 build graph rules choosing the data query and the graph template desired ( Cisco QoS ) and indicating regular expression for choosing which graph I want to create

But when I check the devices added and flag them to apply the automation Rules no data query is added and no graph are created.

At this point I have to add manually the data query on each devices and then the graphs are created
as expected.

So my question is : to automatize the data query addition we have to use cli command and then use automation gui only for graph creation ?

I made test on cacti 1.1.36 on CentOS 7

Thanks to all for suggestion


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding data query to device through Automation Gui inter
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 3:48 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am
Posts: 2596
I found a bug and fixed it with automation that prevented certain filter rules from working. This is fixed in the upcoming 1.1.37 release.

_________________
Official Cacti Developer

Cacti Resources:
Cacti Website (including releases)
Cacti Issues
Cacti Development Releases
Cacti Development Documentation

My resources:
How to submit Pull Requests
Development Wiki and How To's
Updated NetSNMP Memory template for Cacti 1.x
Cisco SFP template for Cacti 0.8.8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding data query to device through Automation Gui inter
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 4:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 3:49 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks for your feedback! !

Another question if possibile : it will be possible to load via gui a file with list of devices and description to be discovered instead of using only ip networks or for this is batter to use the cli ?

Thanks again


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding data query to device through Automation Gui inter
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:37 pm 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am
Posts: 2596
The CLI has that ability, to a degree. You can call add_device.php (I think it's that) in the cli folder to add new devices to the system. Depending on what options you have set, new graphs etc, will also be autocreated that way too.

_________________
Official Cacti Developer

Cacti Resources:
Cacti Website (including releases)
Cacti Issues
Cacti Development Releases
Cacti Development Documentation

My resources:
How to submit Pull Requests
Development Wiki and How To's
Updated NetSNMP Memory template for Cacti 1.x
Cisco SFP template for Cacti 0.8.8


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group