Suggested Value rrd_maximum not applied

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
internetr00t
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:49 am

Suggested Value rrd_maximum not applied

#1 Post by internetr00t » Tue Jan 29, 2019 7:00 pm

Hello,

in my Data Queries "SNMP - Interface Statistics" is configured if i use Associated Graph Templates "In/Out Bits (64-bit Counters)", that the Suggested Values - Data Sources "rrd_maximum" should set with Equation |query_ifHighSpeed|. But it looks like that's not applied.

If i create graphs, with this Graph Templates, the rrd_maximum is set to "U". Now i'm searching for debug method to find the issue, why this query isn't replaced but nothing found so far

Cacti Version: 1.2.1

ifHighSpeed is available:

Code: Select all

Found item [ifHighSpeed='10'] index: 1 [from value]
Found item [ifHighSpeed='1000'] index: 2 [from value]
rrdtool will create rrd with "U":

Code: Select all

/bin/rrdtool create \
/home/cacti/cacti-1.2.1/rra/1/83122.rrd \
--start -900 --step 300  \
DS:traffic_in:COUNTER:600:0:U \
DS:traffic_out:COUNTER:600:0:U \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:288:797 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:288:797 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:288:797 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:288:797 \
Does anyone have a hint to point me right way?

regards

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2682
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Suggested Value rrd_maximum not applied

#2 Post by netniV » Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:35 pm

This is correct as far as I can see. The maximum is not defined (U) so no matter what value is received it will be accepted. If a value was above a maximum, it would be treated as a rogue value and ignored.
ifHighSpeed - 1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.15
An estimate of the interface's current bandwidth in units of 1,000,000 bits per second. If this object reports a value of `n' then the speed of the interface is somewhere in the range of `n-500,000' to `n+499,999'. For interfaces which do not vary in bandwidth or for those where no accurate estimation can be made, this object should contain the nominal bandwidth. For a sub-layer which has no concept of bandwidth, this object should be zero.
So, for your two interfaces, you have a 10mbps and a 1gbps interface.

internetr00t
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:49 am

Re: Suggested Value rrd_maximum not applied

#3 Post by internetr00t » Wed Jan 30, 2019 3:25 pm

netniV wrote:This is correct as far as I can see. The maximum is not defined (U) so no matter what value is received it will be accepted. [..]
So, for your two interfaces, you have a 10mbps and a 1gbps interface.
But the maximum is defined, i think.
rrd_max.PNG
rrd_max.PNG (2.17 KiB) Viewed 267 times
And i need a maximum, based on ifHighSpeed for couple of interfaces with different speeds (1GE,10GE,n*10GE,100G) to prevent spikes in graphs on interface reset i.e. so i will "it would be treated as a rogue value and ignored" :)

User avatar
Osiris
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 835
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am

Re: Suggested Value rrd_maximum not applied

#4 Post by Osiris » Thu Jan 31, 2019 5:33 am

Can you pleas open an issue on GitHub? Your assumptions are correct. Also need to know if this has affected more than this interface graph.
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.

internetr00t
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:49 am

Re: Suggested Value rrd_maximum not applied

#5 Post by internetr00t » Thu Jan 31, 2019 5:49 am

It's done https://github.com/Cacti/cacti/issues/2362, topic can be closed

Post Reply