Add host device which works on vpn network

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
harbinur
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 9:47 am

Add host device which works on vpn network

#1 Post by harbinur » Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:41 pm

hi guys,

i have a question about how to add hosts which are working on branch locations with VPN connections.

in my central network, there are cacti hosts and working properly. snmp settings are ok, iptables are ok on centos servers.

in branch offices we have same type of centos servers with same snmp and iptables settings, however cacti server cant ping these devices, so can not add as host device.

can you please describe what should i do step by step ?

branch offices use mikrotik routers, i can add mikrotik routers(they are also connected to center over VPN connection) as cacti hosts and cacti works well for them. branch office

centos servers are plugged to this mikrotik router, however

i was not able to add them to cacti server.
Last edited by harbinur on Tue Apr 02, 2019 7:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2691
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Add host device which works on vpn network

#2 Post by netniV » Mon Apr 01, 2019 8:51 pm

Setup some NAT forwarding from the router to the internal branch devices so that you can query for the SNMP

harbinur
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 9:47 am

Re: Add host device which works on vpn network

#3 Post by harbinur » Tue Apr 02, 2019 8:45 am

Thanks for response.
In cacti, which IP address shall i use for branch server ?
i have added picture to describe things clearer.
Attachments
scheme.png
scheme.png (15.52 KiB) Viewed 216 times

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2691
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Add host device which works on vpn network

#4 Post by netniV » Wed Apr 03, 2019 2:11 am

If your VPN is NAT'ing (hiding) the branch network, you will need to setup ports that forward to the remote device and use SNMP Uptime only as the method of availability detection.

Post Reply