SNMP timeout on some devices - cacti 1.2.2

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
ippy98
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 10:48 am

SNMP timeout on some devices - cacti 1.2.2

#1 Post by ippy98 » Mon Apr 08, 2019 10:13 am

After upgrading to 1.2.2 I am getting random snmp timeouts and unable to add devices to cacti, however on the same devices snmpwalk from the same host works fine.
cacti doesn't give any other errors other than the snmp timeout.



2019/04/08 09:38:09 - SNMP WARNING: SNMP Error:'Timeout (500 ms)', Device:'x.x.4.22', OID:'.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.1.0'
2019/04/08 09:38:05 - SNMP WARNING: SNMP Error:'Timeout (500 ms)', Device:'x.x.4.22', OID:'.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.1.0'



]$ snmpwalk -v 3 -l authPriv -u snmpRO -a SHA -A *** -x AES -X *** x.x.4.22 .1.3.6.1.2.1.1.1.0
SNMPv2-MIB::sysDescr.0 = STRING: Arista Networks EOS version 4.20.12M-INT running on an Arista Networks DCS-7280QR-C36-M


I only have 4 current devices in cacti right now, and trying to add others usually times out like this, but sometimes others just work. device configurations for snmp are all the same.

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2691
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: SNMP timeout on some devices - cacti 1.2.2

#2 Post by netniV » Mon Apr 15, 2019 7:18 am

Since this is an SNMP v3 thing, there could be a bug somewhere, but just to be sure, what settings do you have against your device so that it can be compared to the above snmp walk.

ippy98
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 10:48 am

Re: SNMP timeout on some devices - cacti 1.2.2

#3 Post by ippy98 » Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:35 pm

so update on this: not sure if it is a bug on device or cacti side of things, but when i remove/add the snmp settings from the device, it starts working.

This initially happened for a couple of new devices that were being added, however I then had a device that had been workign for a couple weeks suddenly show "Down" for status, and stopped graphing until I did the same thing on that device - remove/add snmp settings. then it started graphing again and showed "up".

Settings are the same for my snmp settings in cacti vs the snmpwalk

Post Reply