1.0.1 to 1.2.3 - good except for a few graphs wont draw

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
User avatar
camerabob
Cacti User
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Contact:

Re: 1.0.1 to 1.2.3 - good except for a few graphs wont draw

#16 Post by camerabob » Thu May 16, 2019 1:03 pm

Check for differences between the rrd directories and files. There may be rights issues hidden or masked there.
See the Cacti 1.x templates I use at: http://www.camerabob.com/cacti

Live: Cacti 1.2.3 @ CentOS 7-6.1810.2.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Flowview @ 2.1
Mactrack @ 4.2
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4

Test: Cacti 1.2.6-1.el7 @ CentOS 7-7.1908.0.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4

kjstech
Cacti User
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:57 pm

Re: 1.0.1 to 1.2.3 - good except for a few graphs wont draw

#17 Post by kjstech » Thu May 16, 2019 3:24 pm

camerabob wrote:Check for differences between the rrd directories and files. There may be rights issues hidden or masked there.

Ok here is the rra directory permissions under /var/www/cacti

Code: Select all

drwxr-xr-x 3 root     root     233472 May 14 10:30 rra
Core switch that only works with CMDPHP

Code: Select all

-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 9006984 May 14 12:29 yellowcore_traffic_in_4088.rrd
Core switch that only graphs with SPINE

Code: Select all

-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 9006984 May 16 16:22 purplecore_traffic_in_2535.rrd
Same permissions. Just one only updates with cmdphp and one only updates with spine. Can't figure this one out.

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2885
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: 1.0.1 to 1.2.3 - good except for a few graphs wont draw

#18 Post by netniV » Fri May 17, 2019 4:32 pm

The likelihood is that you are running the cron as a specific user but have spine with the setuid so it can be root automatically. The rra folder should always be read/write to the website and polling users.

kjstech
Cacti User
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:57 pm

Re: 1.0.1 to 1.2.3 - good except for a few graphs wont draw

#19 Post by kjstech » Fri May 17, 2019 5:16 pm

Yes, cron runs cmdphp as www-data it looks like, not root. I’ll be back in the office Monday to play with permissions some more.

kjstech
Cacti User
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:57 pm

Re: 1.0.1 to 1.2.3 - good except for a few graphs wont draw

#20 Post by kjstech » Mon May 20, 2019 11:55 am

I changed /var/www/cacti/rra ownership recursivly to www-data:www-data and also made it wide open 777 permissions.

Still, spine will graph all but our one core switch. cmdphp will graph that one core switch but will not graph a handful of other devices. The RRA's for these different devices have identical permissions:
-rwxrwxrwx 1 www-data www-data

in visudo I added this line to make sure www-data was running the poller. I don't know, maybe this is old advice.
root ALL=(www-data:www-data) /usr/bin/php /var/www/cacti/poller.php

kjstech
Cacti User
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:57 pm

Re: 1.0.1 to 1.2.3 - good except for a few graphs wont draw

#21 Post by kjstech » Fri Jul 05, 2019 11:35 am

I never could figure this out so I created a new device for this core switch that does not graph with spine.

I used the OSPF Lo0 IP address for it (the core switch has multiple interfaces obviously, at the core). I changed SNMP timeout from the default 500 to 1000. It now is getting data.

On the original device I also tried changing SNMP timeout from 500 to 1000 and that didn't make a difference I'll end up deleting that device since the new one works, it just has -OSPF at the end of the device name since I'm using that alternate IP interface.

User avatar
Osiris
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 863
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am

Re: 1.0.1 to 1.2.3 - good except for a few graphs wont draw

#22 Post by Osiris » Sat Jul 13, 2019 6:08 pm

There are some additional fixes to the indexing functions in 1.2.5. Should make things a bit more stable I think.
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.

Post Reply