Gaps in graphs Cacti 1.2.3

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
Kappa123
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:53 am

Gaps in graphs Cacti 1.2.3

#1 Post by Kappa123 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 5:23 am

Hi,

We have somewhat recently installed new Cacti servers in our datacenter to monitor network traffic. Most of the graphs are looking good and behave as expected, but on some hosts we get these "gaps" in the graphs.
It seems to be mostly inbound data that is missing. As far as my knowledge goes I do not see any particular logging entries that could point me in the right direction. We see these gaps in normal graphs as well as in realtime graphs.
All the hosts wich are monitored in this Cacti instance are Cisco switches.
Is anyone else experiencing this? anyone who could point me in the right direction?

Here are some screenshots:
Cacti_realtime_gap.png
Cacti_realtime_gap.png (47.36 KiB) Viewed 595 times
Cacti_graph_gap.png
Cacti_graph_gap.png (25.56 KiB) Viewed 595 times
We are using Spine poller. The OS is RHEL7.0
Please let me know if any additional info is needed.

Thanks in advance!

Kappa123
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:53 am

Re: Gaps in graphs Cacti 1.2.3

#2 Post by Kappa123 » Mon Oct 14, 2019 7:48 am

So it turns out there was a limit on the graphs in the .rrd files that prevented the graph from going above around 800mbps.
I used the following commands to increase the limit:
sudo rrdtool tune ./7376.rrd -a traffic_out:max 10000000000
sudo rrdtool tune ./7376.rrd -a traffic_in:max 10000000000

Post Reply