Graph mismatch

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
neerajkappa
Cacti User
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 8:26 am

Graph mismatch

#1 Post by neerajkappa » Thu Sep 19, 2019 5:41 am

Dear Experts

Graph mismatch issue

kindly help in this
my router showing 18+MB max use for same time duration as cacti see below
router.png
router.png (15.38 KiB) Viewed 871 times
and cacti showing 14.34MB Max for same time duration so kindly help in this .
see here
cactictg.png
cactictg.png (30.02 KiB) Viewed 871 times

so why this mismatch occur help me any one it will be really help full for me router using mikrotik at isp end

Thanks in advance

User avatar
Osiris
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 863
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am

Re: Graph mismatch

#2 Post by Osiris » Sun Sep 29, 2019 6:50 pm

The mrtg graph is in Bytes per second, and your graph is in Bits per second.
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.

User avatar
camerabob
Cacti User
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Contact:

Re: Graph mismatch

#3 Post by camerabob » Mon Sep 30, 2019 7:02 am

Try starting with similar time frames. The Cacti graph is over a few days where MRTG is in a 30 hour period.
See the Cacti 1.x templates I use at: http://www.camerabob.com/cacti

Live: Cacti 1.2.3 @ CentOS 7-6.1810.2.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Flowview @ 2.1
Mactrack @ 4.2
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4

Test: Cacti 1.2.6-1.el7 @ CentOS 7-7.1908.0.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4

cigamit
Developer
Posts: 2785
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: B/CS Texas
Contact:

Re: Graph mismatch

#4 Post by cigamit » Mon Sep 30, 2019 10:16 am

His time frames look the same. We would need to know more info though. What is the data collection rate on the graph (1 minute? 5 minute?) What consolidation functions are set on the RRAs? What consolidation function is being used on the graph itself (LAST VS AVERAGE)?

Typically if you are using Average, your graphs are going to look slightly lower on the visual graph. And can be slightly lower on the data portion also (RRD already does consolidation so you start getting into average of average issues).

User avatar
camerabob
Cacti User
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Contact:

Re: Graph mismatch

#5 Post by camerabob » Mon Sep 30, 2019 1:12 pm

I need to stop replying to posts on Monday mornings!
See the Cacti 1.x templates I use at: http://www.camerabob.com/cacti

Live: Cacti 1.2.3 @ CentOS 7-6.1810.2.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Flowview @ 2.1
Mactrack @ 4.2
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4

Test: Cacti 1.2.6-1.el7 @ CentOS 7-7.1908.0.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Graph mismatch

#6 Post by TheWitness » Mon Sep 30, 2019 7:54 pm

I use coffee, when that does not work, well, hehe, I just use the expression that I simply need more coffee.
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2997
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Graph mismatch

#7 Post by netniV » Mon Oct 21, 2019 6:17 pm

I would second cigamits comment, recreate the graph using bytes instead of bits.

Post Reply