importing devices to new server

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
ahiyaz
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 9:31 am

importing devices to new server

#1 Post by ahiyaz » Mon Oct 07, 2019 3:49 am

hi all

ive just installed a new server and my current server monitor 100+ devices.
ive imported the device templated (failed to import thold templates).
is there a way to import all devices + all the history data (rrd files?) ?

thanks :lol:

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2882
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: importing devices to new server

#2 Post by netniV » Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:17 am

Provided your original server is at least 0.8.8, the upgrade process should work, so just copy over the database. If your RRD files are on a system with 32-bit and you are moving to 64-bit, you can't just move them, you will have to export them, copy them, recreate the RRD files and import them (there's tutorials for this on the web). Finally, you'd have to upgrade your plugins and you will find that some are not supported under 1.2.x because they've not been maintained or have been integrated into the core.

Post Reply