How to Create Aggregate Graphs

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
eholz1
Cacti User
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am

How to Create Aggregate Graphs

#1 Post by eholz1 » Tue Oct 29, 2019 6:20 pm

Hello All,

I am looking for some current information on creating aggregate graphs in cacti.
Yes, I have a copy of the very old "Aggregate Graph Plugin" manual. It is pretty difficult to follow.
I am using cacti-1.2.7.

The main goal is to come up with a total bandwidth for a series of routers.

If you can point me to a good source of info how how to create an aggregrate graph, and theory, concept, etc.

I managed to create some kind of graph using the manual noted above. I duplicated the Interface Bits template,
and modifed it per the manual more or less.

I am open to suggestions,

Thanks,
eholz1

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 3018
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: How to Create Aggregate Graphs

#2 Post by netniV » Wed Oct 30, 2019 7:07 pm

Depending on what you want to do, or use this for, you may find that using the reportit plugin may work better for you on that front.

eholz1
Cacti User
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am

Re: How to Create Aggregate Graphs

#3 Post by eholz1 » Fri Nov 01, 2019 12:34 pm

Hello There,

I will check it out, Thanks, BUT where can I get it??? so far no find "reportit"

eholz1


eholz1
Cacti User
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am

Re: How to Create Aggregate Graphs

#5 Post by eholz1 » Tue Nov 05, 2019 12:29 pm

Thanks!!

eholz1
Cacti User
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am

Re: How to Create Aggregate Graphs

#6 Post by eholz1 » Wed Nov 20, 2019 7:18 pm

Helle NetiV,
I have installed the reportit plugin - it looks like it might be helpful.
I see where it is non-trivial to configure and set up - I found a reportit doc that provided
information on creating a basic report.

I was hoping to get a graph out of it as well. Are there any special packages required?
I have php54, rrdtool 1.7.2, the reportit version is 1.xxx.

I saw in the readme file it suggests GD2 (for windows I think)
I do have GD installed in php. the readme mentions php_rrdtool. Is there such a module for php?

My base cacti system - 1.2.7 graphs all interfaces, etc fine.

the reportit plugin has a feature "Top Ten Graphs" so I was wondering what it takes to get that graph(s).

Thanks,
eholz1

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 3018
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: How to Create Aggregate Graphs

#7 Post by netniV » Thu Nov 21, 2019 2:26 am

Now that I can't remember of the top of my head but the changes are you are looking at a version of the plugin documentation that is for 0.8.x . So, most of it will still apply but there are some differences.

eholz1
Cacti User
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:09 am

Re: How to Create Aggregate Graphs

#8 Post by eholz1 » Thu Nov 21, 2019 12:12 pm

Hello There,

Thanks, I downloaded the reportit plug in from Git hub, according to what
I have it is version 1.0 - not 0.8. I saw another posting in SourceForge - 0.75 BUT ALL INFO ON THAT SITE SHOWS
AS 4 years old - therefore I ingored it. But the sample images had nice graphs!

I found a manual "Cacti-Reportit" which got me a basic report., but really ugly graphs.
I posted that info on the "Plugins General" forum - which I just discovered.

Thanks,

Eholz1

Post Reply