Need to use a fixed value

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
Chrysalis
Cacti User
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:14 am
Location: UK

Need to use a fixed value

#1 Post by Chrysalis » Fri Nov 08, 2019 7:54 pm

So I am trying to use a fixed value of 100

Trying to avoid fetching a value from a data source as it seems stupid to be using a data source to get a fixed number.
If I enter a fixed number in something like CDEF or VDEF its rejected as invalid by rrdtool.
If I try to use zero to get there in CDEF so e.g. 0+100, or variable/0+100, I end up with NaN as a value as it seems cacti cannot work with values of zero in any part of its calculations.

So whats the solution other than making a dummy data source that always supplies the number 100?

Also I tried setting max graph value to 100 and using the CDEF special function max graph limit, but that also makes rrdtool reject saying 100 is invalid input.

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 3141
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Need to use a fixed value

#2 Post by netniV » Mon Nov 18, 2019 7:33 am

If you are trying to use it in a CDEF, you just enter it.

Post Reply