RRDtool update NaN, instead of real numbers.

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
idle
Cacti User
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 10:49 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

RRDtool update NaN, instead of real numbers.

#1 Post by idle » Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:28 am

Hello.

I've installed Cacti 1.2.7, with Percona plugins, polling interval 60s.
All working fine, but one graph "Percona Load Average".

I can see the response from the server in the logs:

Code: Select all

2019/11/13 12:55:03 - POLLER: Poller[1] Device[1] DS[167] CMD: /usr/bin/php -q /usr/share/cacti/scripts/ss_get_by_ssh.php --host '1.2.3.4' --type w --items ho, output: ho:1,23
But its update rra with U, instead of real numbers.

Code: Select all

2019/11/13 12:55:17 - POLLER: Poller[1] CACTI2RRD: /usr/bin/rrdtool update /usr/share/cacti/rra/1.2.3.4_stat_loadavg_167.rrd --skip-past-updates --template STAT_loadavg 1573638902:U
rrdtool info:

Code: Select all

filename = "/usr/share/cacti/rra/1.2.3.4_stat_loadavg_167.rrd"
rrd_version = "0003"
step = 60
last_update = 1573639861
header_size = 3704
ds[STAT_loadavg].index = 0
ds[STAT_loadavg].type = "GAUGE"
ds[STAT_loadavg].minimal_heartbeat = 600
ds[STAT_loadavg].min = 0,0000000000e+00
ds[STAT_loadavg].max = NaN
ds[STAT_loadavg].last_ds = "U"
ds[STAT_loadavg].value = NaN
ds[STAT_loadavg].unknown_sec = 1

What might be wrong?

bredis
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 12:13 am

Re: RRDtool update NaN, instead of real numbers.

#2 Post by bredis » Wed Nov 13, 2019 8:41 am

Very similar to my problem from the topic viewtopic.php?f=21&t=60274&sid=57d95cd9 ... a2c7b9e286.
Include a more detailed log, see if there are line

Code: Select all

POLLER: Poller [Main Poller] Parsed MULTI output field
Which poller do you use Spine?
Try cmd.php.

idle
Cacti User
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 10:49 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: RRDtool update NaN, instead of real numbers.

#3 Post by idle » Wed Nov 13, 2019 8:57 am

bredis
There is a lot of these lines.
But I'm using cmd.php.

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 3132
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: RRDtool update NaN, instead of real numbers.

#4 Post by netniV » Mon Nov 18, 2019 6:21 pm

Actually, I suspect that your issue is the use of commas over full stops in the number if I'm right...

idle
Cacti User
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 10:49 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: RRDtool update NaN, instead of real numbers.

#5 Post by idle » Tue Nov 19, 2019 3:44 am

netniV wrote:
Mon Nov 18, 2019 6:21 pm
Actually, I suspect that your issue is the use of commas over full stops in the number if I'm right...
What commas?

cigamit
Developer
Posts: 2831
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: B/CS Texas
Contact:

Re: RRDtool update NaN, instead of real numbers.

#6 Post by cigamit » Tue Nov 19, 2019 9:57 am

idle wrote:
Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:28 am
--items ho, output: ho:1,23

idle
Cacti User
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 10:49 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: RRDtool update NaN, instead of real numbers.

#7 Post by idle » Fri Nov 22, 2019 7:11 am

cigamit wrote:
Tue Nov 19, 2019 9:57 am
1,23
How can I change it?

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 3132
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: RRDtool update NaN, instead of real numbers.

#8 Post by netniV » Tue Dec 10, 2019 8:52 am

In truth, i would say you need to speak to Percona, it's their script though I think they are likely to say that it is the output they are getting from the system. That's probably a localization issue since I know some European countries invert the usage of commas and full stops.

Post Reply