Holes in graphs

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
WGPavell
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 3:00 am

Holes in graphs

#1 Post by WGPavell » Fri Dec 20, 2019 3:05 am

Sometimes graphs in cacti looks like this:
Снимок экрана от 2019-12-20 11-01-40.png
Снимок экрана от 2019-12-20 11-01-40.png (53.62 KiB) Viewed 904 times
I think that is because cacti/rrd/something else can't handle big values but I can mistake.
In rrd file values looks like this:
Снимок экрана от 2019-12-20 11-01-49.png
Снимок экрана от 2019-12-20 11-01-49.png (26.14 KiB) Viewed 904 times
So, how to fix this?

cigamit
Developer
Posts: 2831
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: B/CS Texas
Contact:

Re: Holes in graphs

#2 Post by cigamit » Sat Dec 21, 2019 12:34 pm

Change the logging to MEDIUM and look at the actual results coming back from the query.

tertius
Cacti User
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 2:34 pm

Re: Holes in graphs

#3 Post by tertius » Sat Dec 21, 2019 12:56 pm

the not-NaN values are near to 2^31 (maximum signed 32-bit integer), and no value is bigger than 2^31, so it seems you're using 32-bit counter for query. Use 64-bit snmp counters instead.
It also may be that you set an upper limit of 2^31 (2147483648) in the corresponding data sources, so that higher values are cut off.

WGPavell
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 3:00 am

Re: Holes in graphs

#4 Post by WGPavell » Sun Dec 22, 2019 4:03 am

cigamit wrote:
Sat Dec 21, 2019 12:34 pm
Change the logging to MEDIUM and look at the actual results coming back from the query.
And how to see them? I trying to search it in clog but I have no records about this graph.

WGPavell
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 3:00 am

Re: Holes in graphs

#5 Post by WGPavell » Sun Dec 22, 2019 4:05 am

tertius wrote:
Sat Dec 21, 2019 12:56 pm
the not-NaN values are near to 2^31 (maximum signed 32-bit integer), and no value is bigger than 2^31, so it seems you're using 32-bit counter for query. Use 64-bit snmp counters instead.
It also may be that you set an upper limit of 2^31 (2147483648) in the corresponding data sources, so that higher values are cut off.
I was create this graph with template "In/Out Bits (64-bit Counters)" so it cannot be 32-bit counter.

cigamit
Developer
Posts: 2831
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: B/CS Texas
Contact:

Re: Holes in graphs

#6 Post by cigamit » Sun Dec 22, 2019 9:36 pm

WGPavell wrote:
Sun Dec 22, 2019 4:03 am
cigamit wrote:
Sat Dec 21, 2019 12:34 pm
Change the logging to MEDIUM and look at the actual results coming back from the query.
And how to see them? I trying to search it in clog but I have no records about this graph.
What Cacti version are you using?

Did you change the logging? if So, then all results should be in there. Depending on the Cacti version, you may have to search by data source ID.

WGPavell
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 3:00 am

Re: Holes in graphs

#7 Post by WGPavell » Mon Dec 23, 2019 1:09 am

cigamit wrote:
Sun Dec 22, 2019 9:36 pm
What Cacti version are you using?
1.1.19
cigamit wrote:
Sun Dec 22, 2019 9:36 pm
Did you change the logging? if So, then all results should be in there. Depending on the Cacti version, you may have to search by data source ID.
I see some other DS but don't see DS for my graph.

Post Reply