Windows Installer [Cacti 1.2.5] [Updated 2019-07-18]

Post support questions that relate to the Windows 2003/2000/XP operating systems.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

Windows Installer [Cacti 1.2.5] [Updated 2019-07-18]

#1 Post by BSOD2600 » Thu Jul 20, 2006 3:20 pm

Description
I've put together an all-inclusive Windows installer for Cacti. It's been tested on Windows 2008R2/2012R2/2016. This is only meant for new installations where you have no existing components installed (i.e. Cacti, MySQL, Apache, PHP). It installs the latest versions of all needed applications in their default locations (per the install guide), configures them, and should give you a fully functional Cacti.

This installer lets you choose between using IIS or Apache web server. It'll also install 64bit versions of Apache/MySQL/PHP/Net-SNMP, where applicable. Disable your anti-virus for the installer -- it runs some special scripts that configure IIS, MySQL, files and NTFS permissions. Some AV scanners block these events from occurring.

Don't forget to follow the post-install instructions and restart the server before trying to access the Cacti website! After the installer is done, you can check cacti-installer.log for errors. Lastly, to upgrade Cacti, follow this guide.

Release Notes

Code: Select all

--2019-07-18 	(v3.35)
* Upgrade Cacti/Spine to 1.2.5
* Upgrade PHP to 7.2.20 	(VC15)
* Upgrade Cygwin to 3.0.7
* Upgrade RRDTool to 1.7.2 	(VS16)
* Add RRDTool x64			(VS16)
Older revision history.

Download
Download Location #1 (639 MB)
MD5: 5012e7277daaf286524f7b47ecca339f
SHA-1: 666dffc3f26a7f58cb4e7a345c22083c45c69910

Support
Please report any problems you have regarding the installer in this thread. Generic Cacti problems should go in their own new separate thread after you've read this post.

Donations
Please consider giving a donation if you found the Cacti Windows installer to be helpful. Every little bit helps. Thanks!

Image
Last edited by BSOD2600 on Fri Sep 24, 2010 12:26 am, edited 40 times in total.

rallen
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 3:19 pm

#2 Post by rallen » Thu Jul 20, 2006 4:27 pm

Good afternoon,

Thanks for posting the installer. I had spent the better part of the last two days banging my head against the wall trying to figure out why I couldn't get the web interface to work (various php error messages), then I ran the installer and I was in the web interface after a reboot. Great!

The problem I am having right now is when I try to run php c:\inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\poller.php from the prompt, I get the following error:

PHP Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library 'c:\php\ext\php_snmp.dll' - The specified module could not be found.
in Unknown on line 0
OK u:0.01 s:0.01 r:5.05
07/20/2006 04:20:04 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:6.1221 Method:cmd.php
Processes:1 Threads:N/A Hosts:4 HostsPerProcess:4 DataSources:2 RRDsProcessed:1

I checked to make sure that .dll file does exist and that the user account I'm logged in with has permissions for it. Any suggestions on what I can check? Thanks!

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#3 Post by BSOD2600 » Thu Jul 20, 2006 4:47 pm

Try a chkdsk c: /f. I've run into this problem before a while ago and that was a fix.

rallen
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 3:19 pm

#4 Post by rallen » Fri Jul 21, 2006 8:37 am

Thanks for the response, unfortunately that did not seem to resolve the issue - while I was looking at the problem again I found an error message that managed to get behind the 50 other windows I had open complaining about not being able to find msvcr71.dll. I grabbed it off the net and stuffed it in c:\php and the error went away. I'll keep an eye on it and let you know if I have any other trouble. Thanks!

Slaktarn
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 6:09 am

#5 Post by Slaktarn » Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:37 am

Hay the graphs will not work. It luck like this

http://img488.imageshack.us/my.php?image=namnlsgo5.gif

and it also say that the server is down

http://img170.imageshack.us/my.php?image=namnlsgr9.png
http://img107.imageshack.us/my.php?image=namnls2nl0.png

why please help me :D

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#6 Post by BSOD2600 » Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:46 am

rallen: What OS? Not really sure why you need that dll. Msvcr71.dll for Microsoft Visual C++ .NET 2003 with the Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1. I've tested this installer on a fresh install of XP Pro and didn't get that error.

Slaktarn: You notice in the last screenshot that SNMP Error? That is likely the cause of all your problems. Fix that and you should get graphs.

rallen
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 3:19 pm

#7 Post by rallen » Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:26 am

BSOD2600 wrote:rallen: What OS? Not really sure why you need that dll. Msvcr71.dll for Microsoft Visual C++ .NET 2003 with the Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1. I've tested this installer on a fresh install of XP Pro and didn't get that error.
It's 2000 Server. I'm sure if I played with one of our 2003 boxes I wouldn't have gotten that error either, but we don't have any around that I can crash test stuff with at the moment. :D

Slaktarn
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 6:09 am

#8 Post by Slaktarn » Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:07 pm

Slaktarn: You notice in the last screenshot that SNMP Error? That is likely the cause of all your problems. Fix that and you should get graphs.
But i have install all stuff right. So i can[/quote]
Last edited by Slaktarn on Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Slaktarn
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 6:09 am

#9 Post by Slaktarn » Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:07 pm

Hmmm multipost. Get en SQLError in the first. Delete it sorry.

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#10 Post by BSOD2600 » Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:08 pm

Hmm, alright. Guess I'll set up a Win2K VM when I get home and test it too. Do you have .NET 1.1 framework installed?

Slaktarn
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 6:09 am

#11 Post by Slaktarn » Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:09 pm

O sorry BSOD....... Yes i have it installed. I run Windows 2003 Enterprise Server SP1 "IIS 6.0"

and i cant understand why i get SNMP error

"and i have .NET 2.0 framework"

Find this to
07/21/2006 05:35:03 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:3.1131 Method:cmd.php Processes:1 Threads:N/A Hosts:2 HostsPerProcess:2 DataSources:4 RRDsProcessed:0
maybe its something wrong on RRDTool?

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#12 Post by BSOD2600 » Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:24 pm

No, you haven't properly configured SNMP on your server. Make sure there is a community and allowed IPs.

Slaktarn
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 6:09 am

#13 Post by Slaktarn » Sat Jul 22, 2006 2:56 am

BSOD2600 wrote:How to configured SNMP ??? I have read all text and your installation guide but i cant undetstand enything of it

Slaktarn
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 6:09 am

#14 Post by Slaktarn » Sat Jul 22, 2006 7:50 am

Slaktarn wrote:
BSOD2600 wrote:How to configured SNMP ??? I have read all text and your installation guide but i cant undetstand enything of it
I also get this error when i try to create a new host... Maybe it is cuz the SNMP is down... It lucks like this

Warning: exec() [function.exec]: Unable to fork [c:/net-snmp/bin/snmpbulkwalk.exe -O QfntUe -u -l authNoPriv -a MD5 -A -v 3 -t 1 -r 3 -Cr50 127.0.0.1:161 .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.1] in F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\lib\functions.php on line 1161

Warning: exec() [function.exec]: Unable to fork [c:\php\php.exe -q F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\scripts\ss_host_disk.php 127.0.0.1 5 3:161:500:public:::MD5::[None] index] in F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\lib\functions.php on line 1161

Warning: exec() [function.exec]: Unable to fork [c:\php\php.exe -q F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\scripts\ss_host_disk.php 127.0.0.1 5 3:161:500:public:::MD5::[None] query index] in F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\lib\functions.php on line 1161

Warning: exec() [function.exec]: Unable to fork [c:\php\php.exe -q F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\scripts\ss_host_disk.php 127.0.0.1 5 3:161:500:public:::MD5::[None] query description] in F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\lib\functions.php on line 1161

Warning: exec() [function.exec]: Unable to fork [c:\php\php.exe -q F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\scripts\ss_host_disk.php 127.0.0.1 5 3:161:500:public:::MD5::[None] query sau] in F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\lib\functions.php on line 1161

Warning: exec() [function.exec]: Unable to fork [c:\php\php.exe -q F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\scripts\ss_host_cpu.php 127.0.0.1 5 3:161:500:public:::MD5::[None] index] in F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\lib\functions.php on line 1161

Warning: exec() [function.exec]: Unable to fork [c:\php\php.exe -q F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\scripts\ss_host_cpu.php 127.0.0.1 5 3:161:500:public:::MD5::[None] query index] in F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\lib\functions.php on line 1161

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\lib\functions.php:1161) in F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\host.php on line 151
Have also a qustion... in the php ini are no plugin running. Can i run Cacti whitout php plugins?

cigamit
Developer
Posts: 2780
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: B/CS Texas
Contact:

#15 Post by cigamit » Sat Jul 22, 2006 2:31 pm

Warning: exec() [function.exec]: Unable to fork [c:/net-snmp/bin/snmpbulkwalk.exe -O QfntUe -u -l authNoPriv -a MD5 -A -v 3 -t 1 -r 3 -Cr50 127.0.0.1:161 .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.1] in F:\Program\WebServer\Cacti\lib\functions.php on line 1161
I have gotten this before when testing on windows 2000 and 2003.

This worked to fix it on both of them

Code: Select all

CACLS %COMSPEC% /E /G %COMPUTERNAME%\IUSR_%COMPUTERNAME%:R
You may have to actually substitute your real computername for the %COMPUTERNAME% variable. This basically just sets read permissions for the IIS user for cmd.exe. The /E flag tells it to edit the permissions instead of just overriding them, and the /G flag means "Grant" permissions.

Post Reply