Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Sat Jul 21, 2018 2:35 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: PING Result: ICMP: Ping unable to create ICMP Socket
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 8:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:25 am
Posts: 23
when using spine, cacti does not perform ping to populate graphs. Host up/down on Devices page works, but that's it.

When using cmd.php all works fine. Tested with user running cacti as member of machine administrators group and still same behaviour.

Any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PING Result: ICMP: Ping unable to create ICMP Socket
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:43 am 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12150
Location: USA
newer versions of windows recreate admin permissions w/elevated credentials to create raw sockets (as spine does). Or turn off UAC...

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PING Result: ICMP: Ping unable to create ICMP Socket
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 12:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:25 am
Posts: 23
BSOD2600 wrote:
newer versions of windows recreate admin permissions w/elevated credentials to create raw sockets (as spine does). Or turn off UAC...


Thanks for your quick reply, I see that instead of turning off UAC for good, I can set some applications to run elevated, and add cacti user to my local admin group. Which .exe should I ask to always run elevated? sh.exe, spine.exe or ping itself?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PING Result: ICMP: Ping unable to create ICMP Socket
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 1:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 1:15 pm
Posts: 1
Hi. I have same problem.
A few days ago, has become part of the hosts appear in the 'down' (~30%). In the logs clean (no error). Run the spine of CLI on these hosts and get the error: "PING Result: ICMP: Ping unable to create ICMP Sotsket". But ping through windows CMD - successful.

Please help, I do not know what to do.


Date Tue, 11 Jun 2013 22:18:44 +0400
Cacti Version 0.8.8a
Cacti OS win32
SNMP Version NET-SNMP version: 5.5
RRDTool Version RRDTool 1.4.x
ERROR: RRDTool 1.2.x does not support the GIF images format, but 1 graph(s) and/or templates have GIF set as the image format.
Hosts 81
Graphs 363
Data Sources Script/Command: 5
SNMP: 130
SNMP Query: 267
Total: 402
Poller Information
Interval 60
Type SPINE 0.8.8a Copyright 2002-2012 by The Cacti Group
Items Action[0]: 530
Total: 530
Concurrent Processes 4
Max Threads 5
PHP Servers 5
Script Timeout 25
Max OID 10
Last Run Statistics Time:5.2141 Method:spine Processes:4 Threads:5 Hosts:61 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:527 RRDsProcessed:279
PHP Information
PHP Version 5.3.17
PHP OS WINNT
PHP uname Windows NT SRV-SCE-VM1 6.1 build 7601 (Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard Edition Service Pack 1) i586
PHP SNMP Installed
max_execution_time 300
memory_limit 128M


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PING Result: ICMP: Ping unable to create ICMP Socket
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 2:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:25 am
Posts: 23
Right clicking the spine and sh exe and in the compatibility tab, checking always run elevated (or something like it) worked for me.

Spine is slower than cmd.php for me though. It runs fine for a few runs, and then it builds up getting slower and slower.

I am now trying different settings to tune it and see if it is my config problem and not spine's.

I am trying 8 processes, 32 threads and 1 server scripts per process. It is taking well over 60 seconds. I have lots of cpu, disk IO and network polls that are performed every minute. I'm thinking of changing the network traffic polls to 5 minutes and losing history of the past three months. This is a somewhat new build. I have used cacti before but in this company I'm implementing it for the first time.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group