Issue with server 2016 and Cacti 1.2.2

Post support questions that relate to the Windows 2003/2000/XP operating systems.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
fpiorek
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 2:10 pm

Issue with server 2016 and Cacti 1.2.2

#1 Post by fpiorek » Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:12 pm

Hello,

I'm trying to set up Cacti 1.2.2 on Windows server 2016. This is a brand new server so I've used the Cacti Windows Installer which looks like the install went well.

The issue I have is now when my Poller runs every 5 minutes I do not create any RRD files. I've added local host and a couple of Windows servers as devices.

Just for background I do have CACTI 1.1.38 running on an old 2008 windows server set up years ago and that polls devices and produces graphs just fine.

I'm pretty sure it is a permissions issue but can't for the life of me figure out if it is a Windows 2016 permission issue or a CYGWIN type of issue.

What I've done to try and figure out what isn't working right:
I have manually run the SNMP commands from a command prompt against my devices and have gotten results back.

I did manually create an RRD file logged on as the POLLER ID at a command prompt. But that file has never been updated when the normal poller cycle runs every 5 minutes.

Unfortunately I'm not extremely knowledgeable either about Windows server or Unix/Linux.

I've been prowling the cacti forum and have tried different suggestions but nothing has made any difference.

Is there some way to figure out where my issue specifically is?

Any help will be most appreciated.

Thanks

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2682
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Issue with server 2016 and Cacti 1.2.2

#2 Post by netniV » Wed Apr 24, 2019 4:52 am

First thing to do would be to look at the Task Scheduler and make sure that there are no errors when running the task. You may have to use the Event Viewer to see if there are any issues there too.

The next thing would be to use a command prompt as the user (runas /user:<poller user> cmd.exe), then execute the full command and watch the output

fpiorek
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 2:10 pm

Re: Issue with server 2016 and Cacti 1.2.2

#3 Post by fpiorek » Wed Apr 24, 2019 1:18 pm

Hello netniV,

I did do your 2 suggestions.

The first showed I am getting a Windows event ID 1511 so I'm investigating that now.

The 2nd part I ran the poller.php using what we call CACTIPOLLER ad got these results:
2019/04/24 13:59:35 - SYSTEM DSSTATS STATS: Type:DAILY, Time:2.1422
2019/04/24 13:59:35 - DSSTATS WARNING: File 'C:/inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/rra/ad1hfdene002_proc_74.rrd' DS[ad1hfdene002 - Processes] Graphs[ad1hfdene002 - Processes] Does not exist
2019/04/24 13:59:35 - DSSTATS WARNING: File 'C:/inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/rra/ad1hfdene002_users_73.rrd' DS[ad1hfdene002 - Logged in Users] Graphs[ad1hfdene002 - Logged in Users] Does not exist
2019/04/24 13:59:35 - DSSTATS WARNING: File 'C:/inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/rra/wad1enehp2001_proc_68.rrd' DS[wad1enehp2001 - Processes] Graphs[wad1enehp2001 - Processes] Does not exist
2019/04/24 13:59:35 - DSSTATS WARNING: File 'C:/inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/rra/wad1enehp2001_users_67.rrd' DS[wad1enehp2001 - Logged in Users] Graphs[wad1enehp2001 - Logged in Users] Does not exist
2019/04/24 13:59:35 - DSSTATS WARNING: File 'C:/inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/rra/local_windows_machine_users_1.rrd' DS[Local Windows Machine - Logged in Users] Graphs[Local Windows Machine - Logged in Users] Does not exist
2019/04/24 13:59:34 - AUTOM8 [PID: 3252] Not time to Run Discovery for 'Test Network'
2019/04/24 13:59:34 - POLLER: Poller[Main Poller] DEBUG: About to Spawn a Remote Process [CMD: c:/php/php.exe, ARGS: -q C:/inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/poller_maintenance.php]
2019/04/24 13:59:33 - POLLER: Poller[Main Poller] DEBUG: About to Spawn a Remote Process [CMD: c:/php/php.exe, ARGS: -q C:/inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/poller_automation.php -M]
2019/04/24 13:59:33 - SYSTEM DSSTATS STATS: Type:HOURLY, Time:0.0024
2019/04/24 13:59:33 - POLLER: Poller[Main Poller] DEBUG: About to Spawn a Remote Process [CMD: c:/php/php.exe, ARGS: -q C:/inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/poller_spikekill.php]
2019/04/24 13:59:32 - POLLER: Poller[Main Poller] DEBUG: About to Spawn a Remote Process [CMD: c:/php/php.exe, ARGS: -q C:/inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/poller_reports.php]
2019/04/24 13:59:32 - POLLER: Poller[Main Poller] DEBUG: About to Spawn a Remote Process [CMD: c:/php/php.exe, ARGS: -q C:/inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/poller_dsstats.php]
2019/04/24 13:59:32 - POLLER: Poller[Main Poller] DEBUG: About to Spawn a Remote Process [CMD: c:/php/php.exe, ARGS: -q C:/inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/poller_boost.php]
2019/04/24 13:59:32 - POLLER: Poller[Main Poller] NOTE: There are no items in your poller for this polling cycle!
2019/04/24 13:59:32 - SYSTEM WARNING: Primary Admin account notifications disabled! Unable to send administrative Email.
2019/04/24 13:59:32 - POLLER: Poller[Main Poller] WARNING: Scheduled Task is out of sync with the Poller Interval! The Poller Interval is '300' seconds, with a maximum of a '300' second Scheduled Task, but 2.0 K seconds have passed since the last poll!
2019/04/24 13:59:32 - POLLER: Poller[Main Poller] NOTE: Poller Int: '300', Scheduled Task Int: '300', Time Since Last: '2064.44', Max Runtime '298', Poller Runs: '1'

Does anything in the 2nd part shine a light on my problem.

Thanks for your assistance and suggestions.


fpiorek
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 2:10 pm

Re: Issue with server 2016 and Cacti 1.2.2

#5 Post by fpiorek » Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:15 pm

Hi netniV,
See attached are 2 images for the settings from one of my servers. Happens to be the one that the old CACTI version is running on.

Thanks for taking a look and your assistance.
Attachments
cacti1.PNG
cacti1.PNG (49.11 KiB) Viewed 717 times
Cacti2.PNG
Cacti2.PNG (32.85 KiB) Viewed 717 times

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2682
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Issue with server 2016 and Cacti 1.2.2

#6 Post by netniV » Fri Apr 26, 2019 2:28 am

Have you made sure that the new server is allow access to the SNMP service on the devices in question, plus that the SNMP service has been fully configured (I normally tick all five of the checkbox boxes for what information to allow). By the looks of it, at least some information is coming back because you have the info window at the top showing properly.

fpiorek
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 2:10 pm

Re: Issue with server 2016 and Cacti 1.2.2

#7 Post by fpiorek » Wed May 01, 2019 11:15 am

Hi netniV,

Yes my new server is allowed to query data. The snmp service is wide open on the remote server.
But to move this closer to the new local server. I don't get any graphs for the new local server in CACTI.
I see snmp information for this local server and also the data queries see results. See attached.

I have run from a command prompt the snmpwalk command and have gotten results:
C:\>snmpwalk -v2c -c ISDMAM wad1enehp2001.ad1.prod .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.1.6.0
HOST-RESOURCES-MIB::hrSystemProcesses.0 = Gauge32: 103

But my graphs are blank.

The piece I'm missing is after the poll results are back what puts the results into the RRD file?

I'm not seeing anything to indicate that is failing.

Thanks for your help.
Attachments
Cacti3.PNG
Cacti3.PNG (17.82 KiB) Viewed 688 times


fpiorek
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 2:10 pm

Re: Issue with server 2016 and Cacti 1.2.2

#9 Post by fpiorek » Thu May 02, 2019 9:06 am

Hi netniV,

Not a cron job since this is Windows. I have a scheduled task for every 5 minutes.

Thanks.

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2682
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Issue with server 2016 and Cacti 1.2.2

#10 Post by netniV » Fri May 03, 2019 5:12 am

Then it would suggest that it is failing, do you have a failure result?

Post Reply