New Versions of RRDTOOL Are Out

Important information about Cacti developments that all users should be interested in.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
Guest

New Versions of RRDTOOL Are Out

#1 Post by Guest » Wed Mar 27, 2002 2:39 pm

www.rrdtool.org


... for most OS Platforms, including WIN32/NT and MacOS


(the new win32 version seems to be working fine with Cacti)

to install the WIN32 Perl shared libraries:

cd \rrdtool-1.0.35.x86distr\perl-shared\

ppm install rrds.ppd

raX
Lead Developer
Posts: 2237
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Carlisle, PA
Contact:

#2 Post by raX » Wed Mar 27, 2002 11:53 pm

Cool...glad to hear it. I just compiled the new version as well and it too appears to work fine. Any new features I have to add support for in cacti? ;-)

-Ian

chemical

#3 Post by chemical » Wed Apr 23, 2003 4:42 am

Is there an option in cacti to add "--lower-limit 0" to a rrd graph?

I can set this value in the graph options, but when I look in the source
of the graph on the "graphs" page, the parameter --lower-limit <value> isn't listed there. (Same for upper limit btw). Is this done on purpose?

I'm using cacti 0.68a.

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
bulek
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 2:07 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

#4 Post by bulek » Wed Apr 23, 2003 4:54 am

It depends on autoscale option you are using. If autoscale is on then upper and lower parameters are not passed to rrdtool. I it is autoscale-max then lower limit should be passed to rrdtool. Because of bug in cacti it is not passed and the thread discussing this can be found here: http://www.raxnet.net/board/viewtopic.php?t=893. If you turn autoscale off then both parameters are passed to rrdtool.

- bulek

chemical

#5 Post by chemical » Thu Apr 24, 2003 3:48 am

Thanks :D

Works now. But hm.. the upper limit should autoscale. I should wait for 0.8, I think. 8)

mic

#6 Post by mic » Thu Apr 24, 2003 3:45 pm

i I did little modification in the code, so --lower-limit = 0 is included with autoscale-max :)

Torsten

new rrdtool -> filenames longer than 19 letter??????

#7 Post by Torsten » Wed Apr 30, 2003 5:08 am

Hi,

is the filename length restricted (19 letters) by cacti or by rrdtool or mysql-db?
If the rrdtool restrict it, does the new one the same????

cul-Torsten

User avatar
bulek
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 2:07 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

#8 Post by bulek » Wed Apr 30, 2003 5:14 am

The filename length is not restricted by rrdtool. Restricted to 19 characters is internal data source name.

- bulek

Torsten

Re: Internal length restriction

#9 Post by Torsten » Wed Apr 30, 2003 6:07 am

Hello,

thanks for info..
Could I change this restriction? Is it fixed in cacti 0.8?
The internal name is made by the external name - if the external name is too long the internal name can conflict with other sources.
Any ideas how to bypass this problem?

Thank you

Torsten

User avatar
bulek
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 2:07 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

#10 Post by bulek » Wed Apr 30, 2003 12:43 pm

Normaly it is not a problem. Internal name is unique per each file. This means you can have several rrd files that use the same internal DS name. The only problem are multi data sources rrd files. In cacti internal names are based on data input script output parameter names. As long as your parameters have different characters looking at first 19 of them it is ok.

Anyway it's internal rrdtool restriction and you can't fix it.

- bulek

Post Reply