Release of Cacti 0.8.7g

Important information about Cacti developments that all users should be interested in.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#31 Post by TheWitness » Thu Jul 29, 2010 10:16 am

Thanks. Once the test is done, you can use the configure option to use the standard POPEN in the mean time. However, please perform this test in the mean time.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

User avatar
Alice
Cacti User
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 4:54 pm
Location: Bucharest, RO.

#32 Post by Alice » Thu Jul 29, 2010 12:41 pm

I've installed upgraded to Cacti 0.8.7g (only DB kept from an older version) and installed Boost plugin from SVN (4.2). No other plugin installed.

Boost it's not working.
poller_output_boost table (MEMORY) gets to 512MB and that's it. But the RRD files are updated every polling cycle:

07/29/2010 08:37:51 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:49.7169 Method:spine Processes:10 Threads:8 Hosts:257 HostsPerProcess:26 DataSources:26815 RRDsProcessed:12101

I've tried with and without Boost Server, nothing changes.

More info & screenshots available on request.
[url=http://www.x-graphs.com/]http://www.x-graphs.com[/url] [color=red]X[/color]-[color=blue]graphs[/color] :: All kind of graphs

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#33 Post by gandalf » Thu Jul 29, 2010 12:56 pm

I suppose this is more of a BOOST issue. Please post there
R.

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#34 Post by TheWitness » Thu Jul 29, 2010 1:32 pm

Alice wrote:I've installed upgraded to Cacti 0.8.7g (only DB kept from an older version) and installed Boost plugin from SVN (4.2). No other plugin installed.

Boost it's not working.
poller_output_boost table (MEMORY) gets to 512MB and that's it. But the RRD files are updated every polling cycle:

07/29/2010 08:37:51 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:49.7169 Method:spine Processes:10 Threads:8 Hosts:257 HostsPerProcess:26 DataSources:26815 RRDsProcessed:12101

I've tried with and without Boost Server, nothing changes.

More info & screenshots available on request.
Alice,

Can you uninstall and then re-install boost?

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

sodium
Cacti User
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:29 am

#35 Post by sodium » Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:57 am

TheWitness wrote:Thanks. Once the test is done, you can use the configure option to use the standard POPEN in the mean time. However, please perform this test in the mean time.

TheWitness
My test machine crashed and burned :( I can't rebuild it until I get some new hardware -- which will take about 3 weeks -- about as long as my holiday :) -- sorry for that...)

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#36 Post by TheWitness » Fri Jul 30, 2010 9:31 am

Had one like this the other day and the problem was that the user had NOT enabled from Plugin Management.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

jmoseley
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 11:03 am

html_output patch

#37 Post by jmoseley » Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:35 pm

Was sodium's issue below resolved?

>clean 0.8.7g + PA 2.8
>added the 5 0.8.7g patches
>
>and the following patch will not apply:
>
>http://www.cacti.net/downloads/patches/ ... tput.patch

I assume you won't run into this issue if you're not using plugins?

Thanks.

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#38 Post by TheWitness » Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:37 pm

Likely and yes.
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

jmoseley
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 11:03 am

#39 Post by jmoseley » Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:49 pm

TheWitness wrote:Likely and yes.
Thanks.

User avatar
zorrosam
Cacti User
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 3:17 pm
Location: Italy

plugin management

#40 Post by zorrosam » Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:34 am

jmoseley wrote:
TheWitness wrote:Likely and yes.
Thanks.
Hi all,

after an upgrade to 0.87g and PA 2.9 i can't enable the OLD PIA Plugin from the new menu.

I click on the icon 'install plugin' but no response.

any info is appreciate.

thanks

zorro

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#41 Post by TheWitness » Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:15 am

You have to remove it from the plugins array if it's already there. Keep in mind that old PIA plugins did not make table changes on their own.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

User avatar
zorrosam
Cacti User
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 3:17 pm
Location: Italy

maybe the beta is the problem?

#42 Post by zorrosam » Wed Aug 11, 2010 1:32 pm

TheWitness wrote:You have to remove it from the plugins array if it's already there. Keep in mind that old PIA plugins did not make table changes on their own.

TheWitness
it's done ... but seems that with the PIA 2.8 worked correctly ... instead with the last beta nok ...

User avatar
Alice
Cacti User
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 4:54 pm
Location: Bucharest, RO.

#43 Post by Alice » Wed Aug 11, 2010 1:49 pm

I have a problem with graph filtering (only by name searching, host and template works) into List Mode: I input the search string, press on 'Go', page is reloaded, but Search box is empty and no filter is applied.

Filtering in Tree & Preview mode works ok.

Anyone else has the same problem, or should I investigate more on my side?

Thank you!
[url=http://www.x-graphs.com/]http://www.x-graphs.com[/url] [color=red]X[/color]-[color=blue]graphs[/color] :: All kind of graphs

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#44 Post by gandalf » Wed Aug 11, 2010 1:53 pm

Patches applied? I suppose I've fixed it already ...
R.

User avatar
Alice
Cacti User
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 4:54 pm
Location: Bucharest, RO.

#45 Post by Alice » Wed Aug 11, 2010 1:58 pm

Uhhmm... no, sorry. I didn't knew that patches are already out for 0.8.7g. :oops: I'll apply them and post if I have troubles anymore.
[url=http://www.x-graphs.com/]http://www.x-graphs.com[/url] [color=red]X[/color]-[color=blue]graphs[/color] :: All kind of graphs

Post Reply