Patch: "Structured RRD Path"

Addons for Cacti and discussion about those addons

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#31 Post by TheWitness » Wed Jul 22, 2009 5:55 pm

Are you running in windows? Can you do a gotomeeting?
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

gundalba
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:15 pm

#32 Post by gundalba » Wed Jul 22, 2009 6:16 pm

Thanks for the offer but my Cacti is on CentOS5...
Not sure if gotomeeting works either as I'm kinda new here and haven't tried it yet.

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#33 Post by TheWitness » Wed Jul 22, 2009 7:01 pm

If the files were moved, you should be able to copy the php file and modify the new file to "update_database();exit;"

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#34 Post by TheWitness » Wed Jul 22, 2009 7:03 pm

Don't forget to disable cron and verify the poller is not running.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

gundalba
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:15 pm

#35 Post by gundalba » Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:01 pm

TheWitness wrote:If the files were moved, you should be able to copy the php file and modify the new file to "update_database();exit;"

TheWitness
Got the poller / cron part but not too sure on copying php file and modifying it.
Could you please elaborate further?

Thanks,

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#36 Post by TheWitness » Sun Jul 26, 2009 5:01 pm

In the cli folder, there is a utility that converts your system to use structured paths. If you have run that program, as you said, and it did not work, you have to copy it to a new name and strip it down so that it just updates the database.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

frdrk
Cacti User
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:27 pm

#37 Post by frdrk » Sat Aug 01, 2009 6:48 am

I copied my production cacti to a similar machine for a dry-run update to 0.8.7e and tried the structured path thingy, and it kinda worked. Some rrd's where left untouched by the script.. rrd's not moved and DS path in web gui still points to the old file, which does exist.. but the graphs for those dont update.

When I run the structure_rra_paths.php again I get this:

Code: Select all

...
NOTE: File '/var/www/cacti/rra/1981/64651.rrd' is Already Structured, Ignoring
NOTE: File '/var/www/cacti/rra/1981/64652.rrd' is Already Structured, Ignoring
NOTE: File '/var/www/cacti/rra/1981/64653.rrd' is Already Structured, Ignoring
NOTE: File '/var/www/cacti/rra/1981/64654.rrd' is Already Structured, Ignoring
NOTE: File '/var/www/cacti/rra/1981/64655.rrd' is Already Structured, Ignoring
NOTE: File '/var/www/cacti/rra/1944/64656.rrd' is Already Structured, Ignoring
NOTE: File '/var/www/cacti/rra/1944/64657.rrd' is Already Structured, Ignoring
NOTE: File '/var/www/cacti/rra/1944/64658.rrd' is Already Structured, Ignoring
NOTE: File '/var/www/cacti/rra/1944/64659.rrd' is Already Structured, Ignoring
NOTE: File '/var/www/cacti/rra/1944/64660.rrd' is Already Structured, Ignoring
NOTE: File '/var/www/cacti/rra/1944/64661.rrd' is Already Structured, Ignoring
NOTE: File '/var/www/cacti/rra/1944/64662.rrd' is Already Structured, Ignoring
NOTE: File '/var/www/cacti/rra/1944/64663.rrd' is Already Structured, Ignoring
NOTE: Process Complete, '0' Completed, '0' Skipped, '36095' Previously Structured
Allthough there are still rrd's left unmoved

Code: Select all

cactilab:/var/www/cacti/rra# ls -alF | grep .rrd | wc -l
2973
Any ideas?


edit: after a closer look, it seem as it have left all my broadcast and multicast rrds untouched.

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#38 Post by TheWitness » Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:01 am

So, some moved and some did not. It may be that the ones left behind were either damaged (aka don't update), or some other reason. Do they still exist as required in the Poller Cache? What is the entry for them there? How do they appear when you look under Data Sources? What about Graph Management? Have you used "RRDClean" before?

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

frdrk
Cacti User
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:27 pm

#39 Post by frdrk » Tue Aug 04, 2009 11:30 am

TheWitness wrote:So, some moved and some did not. It may be that the ones left behind were either damaged (aka don't update), or some other reason. Do they still exist as required in the Poller Cache? What is the entry for them there?
No, they do not exist in the Poller Cache. On my main machine (the one i mirrored) there are about 6000 entries about multicast and broadcast in the poller cache, none on the mirrored machine after structured path patch. Tried rebuilding it, nothing.
TheWitness wrote:How do they appear when you look under Data Sources? What about Graph Management? Have you used "RRDClean" before?
TheWitness
Nothing looks strange under graph management or data sources, accept that the Data Souce Path points at the old "<path_rra>/xxxxxxxx_broadcast_out_57170.rrd", which do still exist and wasnt touched by the structured path patch.

I have used rrdclean before, if I do a rescan now no graphs are beeing chosen for removal accept the ones I have actually deleted myself.

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#40 Post by TheWitness » Tue Aug 04, 2009 11:48 am

You might be missing the XML file in the resource directory. Goto one of the hosts and perform a "Verbose Query" and see what comes up.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

frdrk
Cacti User
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:27 pm

#41 Post by frdrk » Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:09 pm

TheWitness wrote:You might be missing the XML file in the resource directory. Goto one of the hosts and perform a "Verbose Query" and see what comes up.

TheWitness
AH! Ofcourse... the broadcast and multicast templates isnt in cacti default, I totally forgot about that. Imported them, and now it looks much better.
NOTE: Process Complete, '2945' Completed, '0' Skipped, '36092' Previously Structured
Thanks :]

Post Reply