CactiEZ 0.7 Released

Addons for Cacti and discussion about those addons

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
cigamit
Developer
Posts: 2771
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: B/CS Texas
Contact:

CactiEZ 0.7 Released

#1 Post by cigamit » Mon Oct 22, 2012 3:47 pm

CactiEZ 0.7 has been released. You can find the release announcement here CactiEZ 0.7 Released.

Please use this thread for discussion of any issues / problems that you may have with your CactiEZ installation.

Several fixes have already been issued for the current CactiEZ. You can ensure that you are up to date by issuing these commands from the command line.

Code: Select all

yum clean all
yum install cactiez-0.7-fixes
yum update
Known Issues:
  • resource/script_server/win_services.xml is missing - Fixed in package cactiez-0.7-fixes
  • In certain instances, the randomized cactiuser mysql password may not be applied correctly to mysql - Not Verified
Todo for CactiEZ 0.8:
  • Incoming SNMP Trap Support (snmptt)
  • More templates (Please list any particular ones you may want)

ukzerosniper
Cacti User
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:51 pm

Monitor Plugin Not updating

#2 Post by ukzerosniper » Wed Oct 24, 2012 4:00 am

Hi Guys,

We have the new CactiEZ installed. The monitor plugin seems not to auto update/refresh. it just hows the Last Refresh time as the time at which you initially visited the page.

Do we have to configure the plugin to auto update/refresh?

Any help would really be appreciated.

cigamit
Developer
Posts: 2771
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: B/CS Texas
Contact:

Re: Monitor Plugin Not updating

#3 Post by cigamit » Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:52 am

Thanks for catching this. It was an issue when you used the provided theme. I have issued a patch to the monitor plugin to resolve this. You can get the update by doing

Code: Select all

yum clean metadata
yum update cactiez-plugin-monitor
at the command line.

ukzerosniper
Cacti User
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:51 pm

Re: CactiEZ 0.7 Released

#4 Post by ukzerosniper » Wed Oct 24, 2012 11:06 am

sweet, thanks.

Will backup the system then run the update :).

Regarding Templates. We run about 300 Ubiquiti Wireless Radios. We monitor around 45 of them to make sure important parts are up and running ok and to get usage info from them.

Having the ability to get more detailed info from them would be really great.

Thanks guys. Love CactiEZ :)

User avatar
Gorbachov
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:20 pm
Contact:

Re: CactiEZ 0.7 Released

#5 Post by Gorbachov » Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:16 am

Hi Guys,
I have installed the old version, i saw there is no updgrade tool, but at least some guidelines how to update from the old one to the new.

Rergards,
Yasen

cigamit
Developer
Posts: 2771
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: B/CS Texas
Contact:

Re: CactiEZ 0.7 Released

#6 Post by cigamit » Thu Oct 25, 2012 10:31 am

Gorbachov wrote:Hi Guys,
I have installed the old version, i saw there is no updgrade tool, but at least some guidelines how to update from the old one to the new.

Rergards,
Yasen
Same way any Cacti migration happens between boxes. Certain things hinge on whether the old one is 32bit or 64bit, but you mostly need to build it out in parallel to your other install. It also helps if you upgrade the old cacti to the latest first.

Some rough steps are
  • Install new server on different hardware / VM
  • Copy over any extra scripts / resource files from your old box (don't override)
  • Copy over any extra plugins from the old box (don't override, but plugins like weathermap will need their configs copied)
  • Stop polling on old box (you can skip this step, it just makes sure everything is consistent)
  • Export DB, Import into new (drop the tables on new)
  • Move RRD Files over (rsync if old is 64bit, you will have to dump to xml and back if its 32bit)
  • New box may ask to upgrade the DB depending on old boxes Cacti version
  • Start polling on new box (and old if you want them to run in parallel for a bit)
A few things may be broken here and there but they are usually easy to track down.

ElusiveA
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:15 pm

Re: CactiEZ 0.7 Released

#7 Post by ElusiveA » Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:56 am

I've been playing with 0.7 today. Found that rsyslog was not receiving messages from anywhere other than local host.
Fix: in /etc/rsyslog.conf the modules were not being loaded for syslog reception. uncomment the following lines to fix

Code: Select all

$ModLoad imudp
$ModLoad imtcp
Also the facility and priority fields were only showing up as numbers and background colours were not working.
Fix: in /etc/rsyslog.conf change

Code: Select all

%syslogfacility%, %syslogpriority%,
to

Code: Select all

'%syslogfacility-text%', '%syslogpriority-text%',
Notice the variables are now in quotes (')

PeterC21
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:31 am

Re: CactiEZ 0.7 Released

#8 Post by PeterC21 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:45 am

Thanks for the update to 0.7.

The 'MacTrack' tab is not shown at the top of the screen?
The plugin is installed and enabled and under 'User Management' the
'MacTrack' Viewer and 'Plugin -> MacTrack Administrator'

You are using v3.0 in your build, if I down grade the plugin to 2.9.1 it works, I can see the MacTrack tab?

You also get an error when clicking on 'Add' under 'Device tracking/SNMP Options' but don't think that is your problem :) .

Thanks, and hope this helps?

phardy100
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 6:08 am

Re: CactiEZ 0.7 Released

#9 Post by phardy100 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 6:10 am

I would like to add a way to backup router and switch configs. I have used the routerbackups plugin howevere it requires a change to the MYSQL database and I cant work out what the MYSQL root password is.

Any ideas??

phardy100
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 6:08 am

Re: CactiEZ 0.7 Released

#10 Post by phardy100 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:30 pm

hi again.

I have another issue Id like help with.

In the flowview plugin I am getting the netflow data to enter the /var/netflow/flows directory however when I try view through the plugin I am getting the following error;


Open Flash Chart

JSON Parse Error [Syntax Error]
Error at character 0, line 1:

0:

cigamit
Developer
Posts: 2771
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: B/CS Texas
Contact:

Re: CactiEZ 0.7 Released

#11 Post by cigamit » Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:37 am

phardy100 wrote:I would like to add a way to backup router and switch configs. I have used the routerbackups plugin howevere it requires a change to the MYSQL database and I cant work out what the MYSQL root password is.

Any ideas??
Check /root/mysqlpass.txt

cigamit
Developer
Posts: 2771
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: B/CS Texas
Contact:

Re: CactiEZ 0.7 Released

#12 Post by cigamit » Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:39 am

phardy100 wrote:hi again.

I have another issue Id like help with.

In the flowview plugin I am getting the netflow data to enter the /var/netflow/flows directory however when I try view through the plugin I am getting the following error;


Open Flash Chart

JSON Parse Error [Syntax Error]
Error at character 0, line 1:

0:
That error happens when there is no data to display. I would make sure you restart the flow-capture service first and then try debugging some more from there. Make sure it is going into the correct directory based upon the "Device" you are choosing in the plugin.

phardy100
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 6:08 am

Re: CactiEZ 0.7 Released

#13 Post by phardy100 » Sun Oct 28, 2012 3:44 am

Thanks for you help. I found the issue.

When I was looking at the filters I was using the default -8 HOURS which doesnt work. When I set this to another like -1 DAY it shows me the info required.
8hours.JPG
8hours.JPG (94.93 KiB) Viewed 43409 times

phardy100
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 6:08 am

Re: CactiEZ 0.7 Released

#14 Post by phardy100 » Sun Oct 28, 2012 6:00 am

I am now having issues with syslog.

When I try stop the XINETD service it fails.
service-fail.JPG
service-fail.JPG (17.34 KiB) Viewed 43409 times
I then edit the /etc/xinetd.conf
vi.JPG
vi.JPG (20.13 KiB) Viewed 43409 times
and # out the following;
hashout.JPG
hashout.JPG (62.08 KiB) Viewed 43409 times
And then it stops.
service stopping.JPG
service stopping.JPG (26.53 KiB) Viewed 43409 times
However my syslog seems to stop working at the same time.

Any ideas.

cigamit
Developer
Posts: 2771
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: B/CS Texas
Contact:

Re: CactiEZ 0.7 Released

#15 Post by cigamit » Sun Oct 28, 2012 10:54 pm

phardy100 wrote:Thanks for you help. I found the issue.

When I was looking at the filters I was using the default -8 HOURS which doesnt work. When I set this to another like -1 DAY it shows me the info required.
Compare the date/time on both the router and the cacti box. They need to match up. Flowcapture has issues otherwise.

Post Reply