Advanced Ping Template for Cacti 0.8.6f

Addons for Cacti and discussion about those addons

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
spoonman
Cacti User
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 8:54 am
Location: GA

#31 Post by spoonman » Mon Aug 08, 2005 7:29 am

Or should I be asking how do I use this new template to monitor like www.google.com?? I understand I can use it on current devices i monitor. How are you guys setting it up to monitor sites??

Thanks

yetdog
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 9:40 am

#32 Post by yetdog » Mon Aug 08, 2005 9:41 am

Any reason why RRDTOOL wouldn't be generating graphs based on the poll? The following is in my cacti logfile after applying all patches and importing the XML file: (starting from the bottom up)

08/08/2005 10:35:05 AM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] DEBUG: PHP Script Server Shutdown request received, exiting
08/08/2005 10:35:05 AM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] SERVER: /home/cacti/www/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping 172.29.128.238 20 output AV:U PL:100
08/08/2005 10:35:05 AM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[5] DS[40] SERVER: /home/cacti/www/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping 172.29.128.238 20, output: AV:U PL:100
08/08/2005 10:35:05 AM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] DEBUG: INCLUDE: '/home/cacti/www/scripts/ss_fping.php' SCRIPT: 'ss_fping' CMD: '172.29.128.238 20'


No mention of RRDTOOL handling the data to generate a graph...

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#33 Post by TheWitness » Mon Aug 08, 2005 7:28 pm

Well, I have been learning a bit about Microslut lately. It appears XP SP2 does not allow the creation of RAW sockets. No a pretty picture if you like to PING. More to follow. However, my Win2000 SP2 is generating the following graphs No prob. If you are *nix, I think you have to be "root".

Make sure you apply the patches first.

TheWitness
Attachments
Advanced Ping on Windows.jpg
Advanced Ping on Windows.jpg (47.92 KiB) Viewed 9175 times
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

yetdog
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 9:40 am

#34 Post by yetdog » Mon Aug 08, 2005 8:43 pm

Witness - Any thoughts on why my issue is occurring? Linux platform...

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#35 Post by TheWitness » Mon Aug 08, 2005 8:59 pm

Have you applied all the patches. If so, run the following sequence of commands:

cd <cacti_directory>
php <cacti_directory>/script_server.php

Then from script server:

<cacti_directory>/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping www.google.com 10

You should get a response and no errors

quit

To Quit the script server.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

fanu
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 2:53 pm
Location: Paris, France

#36 Post by fanu » Tue Aug 09, 2005 4:49 am

Hello,

I have another problem. Everything seems to be fine : the system pings well, the script returns the good values but ...
When I try to show the graph : the average value is "nan" or "0.00". The other values are good.

Any idea ?

Thanks for all,

Fanu.

boots
Cacti User
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 4:59 am
Location: Melbourne Australia

#37 Post by boots » Tue Aug 09, 2005 6:43 am

I've installed the patches as recommended, however I now get the following output from the poller cache and log file;

Data Source: Latency to News.Com - Advanced Ping
RRD: D:\Websites\stats.boots.no-ip.org\cacti\rra\latency_to_news_com_min_303.rrd
Action: 2, Script: D:\Websites\stats.boots.no-ip.org\cacti/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping www.news.com.au 20

08/09/2005 12:42:06 PM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] WARNING: Function does not exist
08/09/2005 12:42:06 PM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] DEBUG: INCLUDE: 'D:\Websites\stats.boots.no-ip.org\cacti/scripts/ss_fping.php' SCRIPT: 'ss_fping' CMD: 'www.news.com.au 20'

When running manually within the script server, I also get the WARNING: Function does not exist.

Any ideas?

Cheers

Boots

yetdog
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 9:40 am

#38 Post by yetdog » Tue Aug 09, 2005 7:38 am

# php script_server.php
PHP Script Server has Started - Parent is cmd
/home/cacti/www/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping www.google.com 10
min:39.8000 avg:44.0730 max:56.9900 dev:8.5950 loss:0.0000
quit
PHP Script Server Shutdown request received, exiting

Re-ran the cron job, still not generating the ping graphs :(

kakteen
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 8:57 pm

#39 Post by kakteen » Tue Aug 09, 2005 8:33 am

TheWitness wrote:If you are *nix, I think you have to be "root".
And what do we do if we're not running as root and don't want to for various reasons? Isn't it possible to do fpings without raw sockets?
How would I let the process run as root within the script-server when I have to?

spoonman
Cacti User
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 8:54 am
Location: GA

#40 Post by spoonman » Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:27 am

Not meaning to interupt the channel and its topic of RAW sockets and such, but If i wanted to just monitor a few websites to see our latency out of the building , where do I start with this script and template, btw looks cool as H. I mean what's my first step on adding a site to monitor/// add a device ( website? google.com? ) Kind of stuck on this one??

Thanks

keresh
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 5:43 pm

#41 Post by keresh » Tue Aug 09, 2005 5:47 pm

server# php script_server.php
PHP Script Server has Started - Parent is cmd
/home/www/cacti/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping localhost 20

Fatal error: Call to undefined function: socket_create() in /home/www/cacti/lib/ping.php on line 98



running as su'ed root, freebsd5.4,cacti8.6f w/patches


any suggestions?

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#42 Post by TheWitness » Tue Aug 09, 2005 5:50 pm

In order to run cacti correctly (0.86 and above) you must have the Socket's extension to PHP enabled.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#43 Post by TheWitness » Thu Aug 11, 2005 5:06 pm

Yetdog,

It takes at least 2 polling cycles to show data. Also, please verify your output in the log file under DEBUG.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#44 Post by TheWitness » Thu Aug 11, 2005 5:09 pm

Boots,

You likely have a dated version of the ss_fping.php file in your Scripts directory. Please make sure you have it there.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

wvr120364
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 7:48 am

4 [main] rrdtool 3744 handle_exceptions: Exception: STATUS_A

#45 Post by wvr120364 » Mon Aug 15, 2005 8:08 am

Hi,
When I implement the template and script I'm getting the following error:
4 [main] rrdtool 3744 handle_exceptions: Exception: STATUS_ACCESS_VIOLATION

The logfile shows:
08/15/2005 03:05:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] CACTI2RRD: c:/rrdtool/rrdtool.exe update D:\Vis-netWeb\Mambo\cacti\rra\jawi2003_loss_51.rrd --template 1124111100:U
What indicates that there is no data.

What could this be?

Wietze

Post Reply