[HOWTO] Use externally updated rrd files + BONUS TRACK

If you figure out how to do something interesting/cool in Cacti and want to share it with the community, please post your experience here.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
llow
Cacti User
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 5:34 pm

#31 Post by llow » Fri Jan 04, 2008 6:14 pm

I like this idea allowing to I am thinking the best way to implement this is by modifying the data source path to take URIs like rrd://x.x.x.x/filename.rrd.

I will write up a patch to 0.8.7a for this as I would like to offload the web interface completely from polling.

I am curious as to what kind of overhead running rrdtool through a tcp/ip socket will have though.

vineeshkumarpv
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 1:16 am

#32 Post by vineeshkumarpv » Thu Jan 29, 2009 5:07 am

mbhoward wrote:ok, thanks. i opened feature request #0001000: support for globally dispersed rrd store. i can't figure out how to assign it to cigamit.

thanks again,

mark
Can u please post the changed files in the forum?

mikygee
Cacti User
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:13 am

Re: [HOWTO] Use externally updated rrd files + BONUS TRACK

#33 Post by mikygee » Sun Dec 11, 2011 7:51 am

Hello Gandalf,
The link that you provided in your first message is invalid.
Where could I get the latest version for this topic ?
Thank you
Some info about my system
- Cacti: 0.8.8g / OpenBSD 5.8
- Third Party: Nginx 1.9.3p3 / PHP 5.6.11 / MariaDB 10.0.20 / NET-SNMP version 5.7.3 / RRDTool 1.4.9
- Plugins: Weathermap 0.97c / Settings 0.71 / Thold 0.5 / Flowview 1.1 / Realtime 0.5.2 / Predict 1.0


kaf3773
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:48 pm

Re: [HOWTO] Use externally updated rrd files + BONUS TRACK

#35 Post by kaf3773 » Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:35 pm

thanks. i think i've figured out how to make it work:

- modified data source to include remote_rrd checkbox which indicates whether rrd should be fetched locally or remotely via rrdsrv
- modified rrdtool_execute (rrd.php) so that it sends rrdtool command to appropriate host if remote_rrd checkbox is checked

but this is a less than optimal solution for us since we'd rather not modify cacti code directly due to upgrade/maintenance issues. ideally, i would like to be able to get this to work by using the plug-in architecture but it doesn't seem like the requisite hooks are in place. please correct me if i'm wrong.

thanks for your help,

mark
Hi mbhoward,

I am also trying to achieve this and i have the rrdsrv setup and working. I will appreciate very much if you can share how you got this section done
- modified data source to include remote_rrd checkbox which indicates whether rrd should be fetched locally or remotely via rrdsrv
- modified rrdtool_execute (rrd.php) so that it sends rrdtool command to appropriate host if remote_rrd checkbox is checked
Secondly can anyone also point me to any post that has this done please.

Thanks and will appreciate help very much.

Post Reply